We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sofia to your Saves list
Hotel Sofia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Sofia, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,236 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Unfortunately I would not recommend Hotel Sofia due to the poor service my boyfriend and I received. We had booked the hotel for six nights in early september to be told when we arrived at the hotel that they were not expecting us and had sent many emails to me saying that they could not accommodate us for six nights as the hotel was closing half way through our stay due to refurbishments. However I had not received any emails at all despite Expedia who I booked the hotel through having my correct details. We were offered no alternative hotel or help in finding another place to stay. This meant that on the sunday night of our arrival we ended up wasting our evening running around Montmartre trying to find another place to stay. We had no luck finding another hotel to stay in as due to such short notice many were completely full. However, despite not finding a room at 'Hotel Roma Sacre-Coeur' off Rue Caulaincourt we experienced very good customer service from the gentleman (who hails from Cardiff) on the desk who kindly phoned around other hotels in the area to see if they had any vacancies available and did his best to try and find us somewhere. If we had seen this hotel when booking we would have been more inclined to stay here especially after the good service we received from him. After nearly giving up all hope of finding somewhere to stay we found 'Le Montclair Hostel' on rue Ramey which although wasn't what we expected to end up in was very clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    56
    33
    18
    11
See reviews for
37
43
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I lived with a family in 4 bed studio with kitchen.
The room was new after a reconstruction.
Kitchen appliances and dishes were good.
Room and bathroom were clean.
Staff was helpful and except night services speaking English well.
There were missing only chairs and table in the room.
The hotel is situated in an attractive location near the metro station and grocery store.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Hotel refurbishment almost complete(only staircase left to do) very nicely done. Rooms clean and comfortable with flat screen tv, great bathroom with fresh towels and sachetsof shower gel,only downside was there wasnt much hanging space not a huge problem as only there for 3 days. Courtyard was lovely, our room was on courtyard so it could be a little noisy first thing in the morning. Breakfast room was very nice, breakfast was very simple but good value (5euros) when average price for a coffee was 4 euros and you got orange juice and bread, butter and jam as well. The staff were lovely and very helpful and made our stay there very enjoyable, I would not have a problem recommending this hotel to family and friends. Only minutes away from Sacre Coeur and lots of shops and restaurants. Also two supermarkets. Would recommend Cafe du Commerce which was very friendly and cosy, staff were fab. just round the corner from hotel Sofia. Despite being in a very bustling location the hotel was very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The hotel has been renovated and the lobby looks quite nice now. However, when I arrived and showed my booking.com reservation, it turned out that the hotel was overbooked. They moved me to a different hotel, Sainte-Mairie - which is more like a hostel and looks definitely less nice - from the same owners. This turned out fine for my trip, but I regret that I didn't call the hotel after booking for a confirmation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Quiet little hotel in the heart of Paris. Well located and easy to get to.
It is a cheap hotel, so don't expect much! You get a bed to sleep in and that's pretty much it. (no towels or toiletries...)
Friendly and helpful staff...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

After a fabulous stay in Rouen, we (a group of nine French teachers from India) decided to spend the last leg of our trip, in Paris. I had booked this one-star Hotel in Montmartre, online, called Hotel Sofia, because our shoestring budget didn't permit us to stay at any fancy place. Also there was plenty to see in this area, with the Basilica of Sacre Coeur, barely five minutes away from the hotel and plenty of inexpensive shops, boulangeries and patisseries all around, which took care of our hunger pangs.
I had been favourably impressed by the hotel, even before I saw it, because the proprietoress, Lydia Mayoufi (who runs the hotel along with her brother Billal), seemed to be a very patient sort. I had bombarded her with several e-mails and made countless changes and cancellations in the reservations and she had been more than helpful, promptly replying to all my queries.
When we arrived in Paris, in the pouring rain, and finally reached our hotel, there were the usual moans and groans from the rest of the group, because like Rouen, here also, the Hotel was four storeys high, with a winding staircase and there was no lift. Luckily there was some Hotel staff available, who helped us to lug our luggage upstairs. (I think no-one can beat Indians in carrying heavy luggage around. My room-mate, who wanted to be prepared for any eventuality, had every possible thing in her suitcase, except an ironing board).
For a one-star hotel, the lobby was quite decent and impressive with a little dining room for breakfast as well as a patio. (The breakfast was an additional 4 and a half euros). The rooms were also quite big and airy by Paris standards. Being a family run hotel, the personal touch was there and they very kindly permitted us to cook something in their micro-wave oven. The towels were changed daily and the beds made and overall it was quite a pleasant stay. The street where we were staying (Rue Sofia) was quite peaceful and quiet, though the main road was barely two minutes away and bustling with noise and traffic.
We had been told that the area was a bit shady, but that was nowhere near the hotel, but rather near the Metro station of Barbes Rochechouart, where there was always a bunch of noisy leather-jacketed youngsters. But we didn't have any problem with them. In fact my pocket got picked, in Paris, not in this area but in the upmarket quarter of the Musee de l'armee and the Hotel des Invalides.
All in all, I would recommend this quaint little Hotel to all those who want a clean, inexpensive place to stay, with friendly staff and personalised service and in whose surroundings you can experience first-hand, the noisy street sights and sounds of Paris.

  • Liked — Centrally located in the heart of Montmartre with friendly, personalized service.
  • Disliked — The winding stairs may be a bit difficult for elderly people to negotiate
  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

if you go to Sofia with the expectations of a one star hotel, then you won't be suprised. It was clean and our room had a phone, private bathroom etc but was the bare minimum.

The location is a bit dubious- not the nicest area. I was warned when i left by the staff to hold onto my bag because it would probably be taken (it didn't happen though). Was conveniently located for Moulin Rouge and Montmatre though.

Overall, as previously said, you do get what you pay for. It is a cheap hotel, but is clean with nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Address: 21 rue Sofia, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,236 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sofia 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilled, neat and homely hotel just off Boulevard Barbès in the 18th district of Paris, a brisk 5 minute stroll from Butte de Montmartre and the Sacré Coeur, located in a lively multicultural area, with cosy, simply furnished rooms and youthful laid-back vibe, plus metro and bus services close by. Hotel Sofia is situated 200 metres from the metro station Barbes-Rocheouart (lines 2 & 4), and is approximately 15 minutes on foot from Gare du Nord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.