We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, cheap and handy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel George Sand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel George Sand to your Saves list
Hotel George Sand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 rue des Mathurins, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #490 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
london, UK
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Cute, cheap and handy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm so fed up wasting my company's travel budget on the supposedly 5-star Pullman La Defense with its Travelodge rooms and non-existent service on regular business trips to Paris. This place really hits the spot - less than half the price, a simple but lively street with supermarkets, bars and restaurants right outside, and a 12-minute stroll to the office. The hotel is independently styled, homely, small and cute. My single room was snug and comfy with a good shower. The only issue was the wifi wasn't working well - I guess it struggles to reach to the 3rd floor so I'll ask if a lower room would sort the issue next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
32
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This time I stayed in room 301 - gosh it was small!

The bathroom so tiny you had to back in to reach the loo. Maybe better to just have a shower cubicle instead of a bath in a room the size of a bath!

The walls were painted a beige colour, the curtains looked yellow-ish (previous a smoking room?). The whole interior was just tired and in urgent need of updating. Bedside lamp didn't work. No point complaining when you are only staying one night.

I have to say that last time I stayed here I was in a big room on the 5th floor which was much better.




  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Englishman in Burgundy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel has great potential -- it's right in the heart of Paris and at the time of my trip it was pushing a discount and so, hooked, I booked ! IT WAS A DISASTER !! The moment I entered my room, I found the ambient temperature an extremely uncomfortable 40°C plus, with no air conditioning available. The front desk manager told me that the air conditioning is only switched on after a specific fixed date AND YET AIR CONDITIONING IS ADVERTISED ON THEIR WEB SITE. Other items that were SO sub-standard included the hand-basin plug jammed open (mechanism forced) so it could not be used properly; the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work, with attendant smells lingering in the room; the rigid plastic concertina shower-curtain was completely missing; neither the radio nor the TV worked at all; the kettle is a safety hazard in that, as it no longer switches off automatically, it could easily boil dry and cause a fire; and the towels are so old, hard and rough that it was like trying to dry oneself with sandpaper !

But it was not until retiring to bed at 23:30 hrs that I was to discover the very WORST aspect of my stay, when overpoweringly thick cigarette smoke pervaded my room via the ventilation grill, coming either from some of the other guests rooms or indeed possibly even from the management team’s quarters. I noticed that there are NO signs of any kind to indicate no smoking within the hotel premises.

As instructed by the front desk manager, I wrote a letter of complaint to the owners. They have chosen not to reply, but I am not surprised, frankly, because their whole approach smacks of pure greed -- take what they can out of the business, but at all costs avoid putting anything back into it. THEIR STANDARDS ARE EXTREMELY POOR AND THEIR WEBSITE'S BLATANTLY MISLEADING DESCRIPTION OF THE HOTEL'S FACILITIES IS INEXCUSABLE.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor or above are less susceptible to tremors from the Metro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Walked pass this hotel many times whilst staying in Paris. Stayed in the hotel last weekend. What a fantastic find ! We had a really nice room on the 5th floor, well above the street noise and Metro rumble. The room was very well appointed, very comfortable and with a wonderful bathroom. Everything in the room worked and there was a decent sized mini-bar with everything you could need. The staff were very professional, friendly and willing to assist in booking restaurants, suggesting places to visit etc.. I know the breakfasts are good continental style fare but for me I prefer the Illy coffee shop around the corner. I would highly recommend this hotel for both leisure and corporate guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you get a room on the 5th floor - the bathrooms are quite big and the rooms are well-sized.

There was a heater in the room which was nice on a cold February night.

Breakfast was average but typical French.

Price was ok - and location is actually very good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow Maries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just back from 4nights at this hotel in room 304. Yes you can feel a very slight rumble from the metro but only because it is so quiet at the back of hotel. At the moment they are giving the next building a facelift so some temporary noise. It is a very nice hotel , clean and with modern facilities. Very helpful staff. Near restaurants shops and places of interest. We bought things for breakfast and ate in the room( very useful Monoprix near Le Printemps in side road). Just a word of warning for visitors with a fuller figure: the lift is very small and our bathroom was cramped. Otherwise I would recommend this small Parisian hotel if you want to be in the centre of the capital.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up. At the back of hotel
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel charges a good price relative to other equivalent Paris hotels. The decoration of the hotel is nice and it gives the hotel a unique character. The furniture and fixtures in rooms appear new.

But beware that the rooms on the first floors suffer terribly from noise coming from the metro below. If you manage to secure a room on upper floors, this hotel is a nice choice.

It is also very accessible from anywhere in Paris!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel George Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George Sand

Address: 26 rue des Mathurins, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel George Sand 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel George Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel George Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.