We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont ever stay at this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viator

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Viator to your Saves list
Hotel Viator
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1,091 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Dont ever stay at this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Other than the close location to Gare De Lyon Station, I discourage any one who would ever think of staying at this hotel. The receptionists are rude and unhelpful and could hardly speak a word of English.l. I requested one of the lady receptionist for assistance to help me call for airport transfer from hotel as I had trouble calling through my phone. The receptionist told me rudely in English "call yourself!" I was really abhorred by their cold and rude attitude. There was no offer to assist me. I was left in despair without any means of arranging for my airport transfer. In the end, I had to book online for my hotel transfer.I cant imagine that this is coming from a hotel staff of a hotel. Even a 2 star hotel can offer better service.
The room that I stayed in was very small with a so called double bed smaller than a queen size. The shower screen in my bathroom was broken and the table lamp was not working. I have requested for change of room but was told indifferently by the staff that they are fully booked.T Yet, I could hardly see a shadow of guest around. The shower screen remain broken and light bulbs of table lamp remain unchanged even the next day. The stay really spoilt my trip in Paris. There are many other hotels near Gare De Lyon that offers much better service such as the Novotel. So forget about this hotel. The rude and fed up staffs really put one off. Wi fi was not working too. the whole place really sucks.

Room Tip: Dont even attemp to book a room here or you will regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    59
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
55
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Had an early train journey from Gare de Lyon and wanted something close.

Very happy with my choice - room was comfortable and clean - close to bars and restaurants

The guy on reception went above and beyond to help when I'd forgotten my plug converter and so couldn't charge my phone. Even brought up his own charger for me to use.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I would like to say that my trip was excellent and that the hotel was fantastic, taking care of all the details of the stay, but that was not the case. I was robbed inside the hotel. I let 470 euros and 40 brl inside the hotel room and they took it all. I went to the police and made my complaint, I gave it to the hotel, however, after waiting two weeks, no answer was given to me. After these two weeks, I made another trip to Paris and stayed in another hotel where nothing happened.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The hotel seemed slightly old fashioned, but it was clean and nice. Also I liked the location, which is very close to the Gare de Lyon station. However, I had very unpleasant experience in this hotel, as one of my things was stolen from the room. I informed the staff, but they were ignorant about the issue. They didn't even apologize.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I've stayed at this hotel many times. It's good value, clean, convenient and friendly. Great for the Gare de Lyon, the air France shuttle bus, and an easy walk to the Opera and Place de la Bastille. Rooms are well furnished and the end of corridor rooms spacious. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Booked with Booking.com we stayed for one night on our way to Milan and paid €120 euro excluding breakfast.This was €100 less than the rack rate advertised behind reception. Breakfast was an additional €10 each and comprised of croissant, pastries, bread, yoghurts, cereal etc.
The hotel is perfectly placed for the train station, being within only a few minutes walk from Paris Gare du Lyon.
There are many bars and restaurants within the vicinity of the hotel and station.
There is a small lounge seating area in the hotel Reception area with vending machines for hot and cold liquid refreshment.
The rooms were clean, comfortable with adequate storage for a short stay. With complimentary tea but no coffee.
The bathroom, again very clean with excellent shower.
Wifi was inclusive of the room rate and sufficiently fast for Skype and video.
Our room was on the first floor and surprisingly quiet considering our proximity to the station.
Overall, our experience was very positive and would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Use Booking.com get a deal don't just turn up and pay the going rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located (short walk from Gare de Lyon), and had everything I needed for my short stay in Paris. The room was quite small, but that's not a problem when you are walking the whole day. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the shower was perfect. There is no minibar but a well assorted machine downstairs (only drinks). I guess the best part was breakfast: when I asked for café au lait what I got was a hearty French breakfast complete with baguette, pain au chocolat and croissant (I sat by the window and ate looking at the rain pouring down on Paris.... a wonderful experience!). Staff was friendly, and, last but not least, wifi worked 100% of the time.
I would certainly come back!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viator

Address: 1 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,091 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Viator 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viator Paris Welcome to the Hotel Viator Paris The hotel Viator Paris, in the 12th district of Paris, is located just a few steps from << Gare de Lyon>> and just a few minutes walk from "Bastille" square, an ideal location, wether for a business trip or a leisure stay. The hotel Viator Paris, welcomes you in a beautiful Haussmann building whose architecture with stone facades and balconies missed the second and the fifth floor, his style contributes to the image of Paris. The hotel Viator Paris, offers you a spacious lobby open to the living room, elegant and bright, where you can enjoy a relaxing time. Nestled in a comfortable chair, you will have the opportunity to view our newspapers, available in several languages, just as you can enjoy a business center space where a computer is available, with Wi-Fi free in the entire hotel. You will be seduced by the charm of typically Parisian hotel with attentive staff at your convenience, will offer the opportunity to spend an unforgettable stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Viator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viator Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.