We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What We Needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viator

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hotel Viator to your Saves list
Hotel Viator
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #742 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Orange County, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Exactly What We Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

In the middle of our visit to France, passing through Paris on our way from Brittany to Provence, we needed a place to stay near Gare de Lyon so we could catch our early train to Avignon. And we wanted to keep the price reasonable. The Viator was perfect for our needs. It's not fancy, but it was very functional and very comfortable. The woman at the front desk was super friendly and very helpful, helping us find a local laundromat (where we met some very nice Australians) so we could wash our dirty socks, etc..., and also giving us an excellent dinner recommendation (Chinese!).

Bottom line: If you're looking for a budget-responsible place to stay near Gare de Lyon, the Viator is a great value.

Room Tip: We booked one of the corner rooms, which is at the end of the building with wide-angle views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
50
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stay one night in transit to Avignon. The location was very convenient for us, because it was one block away from the Gare de Lyon, where our train departs. The neigbourhood was nice, not too noisy. The crew was friendly, the room spacious, nicely decorated in old style. The breakfast, served in a small place, was standard for a three-star hotel. The relationship prize-quality seemed excelent.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location near the Gare de Lyon, and easy to get from here to any of the sites of Paris. The rooms are a nice size for Paris (where all hotel rooms are small), and the bed is really comfortable. The hotel is a stylish old Parisian hotel that has lots of charm and character. Very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My girl and I stayed here four nights and it was perfect. We wanted a place that was reasonably priced, clean, quiet, close proximity to the train station and close to walkable discoverable neighborhoods. This hotel nailed every single one of requests. The people at the front desk were amazing and helpful. There is a woman who works the desk that is a saint. She even let us print our train tickets and was very paitent with us. My favorite part was the giant windows in our room that I would open up every morning and invite Paris into my world!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel Viator after a long journey and a difficult confusion over an online booking that had left my wife, a friend and I with no room for two nights. Having arrived at the Gare de Lyon - approximately 100 metres away - we walked into the Hotel Viator and were welcomed with open arms by a friendly receptionist and this was to set the tone for an excellent two days. Excellent positioning of the hotel, which is very clean, and very helpful staff with superb advice for how to make the best of our long weekend there. Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nothing wrong with this place, ideal walking distance to Gare De Lyon train Station (within 5 min) pleasant room with with a lovely breakfast. Shop opposite for drinks ect, about a 20 min walk though, to catch the BatuBus which takes you to all the main sights along the River Seine, (also highly recommended)

Room Tip: the Bar a few doors up is very expensive for the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Hotel Viator is a very good option for those arriving to Paris at the Gare de Lyon. It’s just a short walk from the front of the station and is conveniently located on an intersection with plenty of enarby restaurants and brasseries. When you first step in, the lobby isn’t very impressive—in fact, it seems a little seedy. But, the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were larger, cleaner, and more comfortable that we expected. The air conditioning worked well, and the room was amazingly quiet given its location. They’ve obviously invested in some new windows and insulation because we slept quite well without interruption—important since we were just stopping in for the night after a two-week tour of France and were departing early the next morning for the airport.
The staff arranged reasonable taxi service to CDG, too, and were helpful in every way. All spoke excellent English, too. The bathroom in our room (104) looked recently redone and it, too, was spacious and clean. The 12me isn’t exactly the tourist hub of Paris, but given the proximity to the Gare de Lyon, easy access to the airport (taxi or Air France bus from GdL), and reasonable price, we’d definitely recommend the Hotel Viator again!

Room Tip: We were only on the second floor (premiere etage) on the street corner and the room was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viator

Address: 1 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Viator 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Viator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viator Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.