We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What We Needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viator

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Viator to your Saves list
Hotel Viator
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #771 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exactly What We Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

In the middle of our visit to France, passing through Paris on our way from Brittany to Provence, we needed a place to stay near Gare de Lyon so we could catch our early train to Avignon. And we wanted to keep the price reasonable. The Viator was perfect for our needs. It's not fancy, but it was very functional and very comfortable. The woman at the front desk was super friendly and very helpful, helping us find a local laundromat (where we met some very nice Australians) so we could wash our dirty socks, etc..., and also giving us an excellent dinner recommendation (Chinese!).

Bottom line: If you're looking for a budget-responsible place to stay near Gare de Lyon, the Viator is a great value.

Room Tip: We booked one of the corner rooms, which is at the end of the building with wide-angle views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
La Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stay one night in transit to Avignon. The location was very convenient for us, because it was one block away from the Gare de Lyon, where our train departs. The neigbourhood was nice, not too noisy. The crew was friendly, the room spacious, nicely decorated in old style. The breakfast, served in a small place, was standard for a three-star hotel. The relationship prize-quality seemed excelent.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodolfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location near the Gare de Lyon, and easy to get from here to any of the sites of Paris. The rooms are a nice size for Paris (where all hotel rooms are small), and the bed is really comfortable. The hotel is a stylish old Parisian hotel that has lots of charm and character. Very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank saltwaterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My girl and I stayed here four nights and it was perfect. We wanted a place that was reasonably priced, clean, quiet, close proximity to the train station and close to walkable discoverable neighborhoods. This hotel nailed every single one of requests. The people at the front desk were amazing and helpful. There is a woman who works the desk that is a saint. She even let us print our train tickets and was very paitent with us. My favorite part was the giant windows in our room that I would open up every morning and invite Paris into my world!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5ChristopherD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel Viator after a long journey and a difficult confusion over an online booking that had left my wife, a friend and I with no room for two nights. Having arrived at the Gare de Lyon - approximately 100 metres away - we walked into the Hotel Viator and were welcomed with open arms by a friendly receptionist and this was to set the tone for an excellent two days. Excellent positioning of the hotel, which is very clean, and very helpful staff with superb advice for how to make the best of our long weekend there. Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOREANDRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing wrong with this place, ideal walking distance to Gare De Lyon train Station (within 5 min) pleasant room with with a lovely breakfast. Shop opposite for drinks ect, about a 20 min walk though, to catch the BatuBus which takes you to all the main sights along the River Seine, (also highly recommended)

Room Tip: the Bar a few doors up is very expensive for the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberlyjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
374 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Hotel Viator is a very good option for those arriving to Paris at the Gare de Lyon. It’s just a short walk from the front of the station and is conveniently located on an intersection with plenty of enarby restaurants and brasseries. When you first step in, the lobby isn’t very impressive—in fact, it seems a little seedy. But, the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were larger, cleaner, and more comfortable that we expected. The air conditioning worked well, and the room was amazingly quiet given its location. They’ve obviously invested in some new windows and insulation because we slept quite well without interruption—important since we were just stopping in for the night after a two-week tour of France and were departing early the next morning for the airport.
The staff arranged reasonable taxi service to CDG, too, and were helpful in every way. All spoke excellent English, too. The bathroom in our room (104) looked recently redone and it, too, was spacious and clean. The 12me isn’t exactly the tourist hub of Paris, but given the proximity to the Gare de Lyon, easy access to the airport (taxi or Air France bus from GdL), and reasonable price, we’d definitely recommend the Hotel Viator again!

Room Tip: We were only on the second floor (premiere etage) on the street corner and the room was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#970 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#525 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Palym
Hotel Palym
#712 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#359 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#520 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viator

Address: 1 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #771 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Viator 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viator Paris Welcome to the Hotel Viator Paris The hotel Viator Paris, in the 12th district of Paris, is located just a few steps from << Gare de Lyon>> and just a few minutes walk from "Bastille" square, an ideal location, wether for a business trip or a leisure stay. The hotel Viator Paris, welcomes you in a beautiful Haussmann building whose architecture with stone facades and balconies missed the second and the fifth floor, his style contributes to the image of Paris. The hotel Viator Paris, offers you a spacious lobby open to the living room, elegant and bright, where you can enjoy a relaxing time. Nestled in a comfortable chair, you will have the opportunity to view our newspapers, available in several languages, just as you can enjoy a business center space where a computer is available, with Wi-Fi free in the entire hotel. You will be seduced by the charm of typically Parisian hotel with attentive staff at your convenience, will offer the opportunity to spend an unforgettable stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Viator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viator Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing