We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mistral to your Saves list
Hotel Mistral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24, rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #310 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I think the price is too high. the room is not worthy. there is no air conditioner in the room, so it is hot. we have to share the bath room, but it is not clean. Also, they don't have lift, so if you have big luggage, maybe this hotel is not good choice for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    76
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
40
17
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hotel Mistral was lovely and quaint. I loved the old school feel about it and how every nationality seemed to be represented in the lobby area and everybody, especially the staff was so courteous and nice. Beforehand, we researched via Tripadvisor and found that the nearest toilets and showers were located in the first or fourth floor. So we before checking in, we emailed the establishment if we could have a double room with a shared bathroom on either floors. They assigned us a room on the fourth floor.

To those with heavy luggage like us, beware, the small staircase is a long and winding journey to the top. When we finally got to our room, we were satisfied to see that it was beautifully decorated (if you're into the old school romantic homey feel) with two french windows with a view of the garden and the family house next door (kinda feels stalkerish but you get used to it)

Breakfast was an extra charge of 9 Euro per person. In Paris, that is such a bargain where a single croissant could cost you one to four euro depending on the brand and quality. Here, we had unlimited choice of bread, croissant, jams, spread, juice, yogurt, milk, cereal and cheeses. Freshly brewed coffee and chocolate was available in a high tech coffee machine. We made every euro count by stuffing ourselves with jam, Nutella and croissants.

What's more, since we did not have transportation to take us to the international airport, which was an hour away, the hotel staff offered to find us a shuttel service or private car hire at a bargain price. They came through for us with a private car hire at a really modest price. I don't remember the exact amount but I did remember thanking the owner profusely for his 9and his staff's) assistance. Definitely a good place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

They mixed our reservation and we had to spend the first night in a room without a bathroom although we had made a reservation for a room with a shower. They didn't try to make it up for us (I would have appreciated a discount after such mistake).

The hotel is old and worn. Mold in the bathroom. First room smelled like cigaret. Double beds were only about 140 cm wide and there was a plastic cover right under the sheet which made the bed very uncomfortable to sleep on (it was a hot weather outside). My husband found it more comfortable to sleep on the floor.

The hotel is cleaned well but it doesn't really help much if the carpet is 30(?) years old. Don't believe the pictures, most of the rooms are not nearly as nice.

Never going back to this place (even if it means we have to pay double the price for a better hotel).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I'd booked an Economy Twin Room for 3 nights, and I unfortunately found Hotel Mistral's Economy accommodation to be very disappointing. My main issue was with the "shared bathroom", which would be considered substandard for even a youth hostel. The shared wc and the shared shower are on separate floors. The shower room on the 5th floor is tiny (just one stall) and consistently messy and mildewy (and there's no toilet). The wc (just one toilet) on the 4th floor is also cramped, used as storage for ladders and other things. Most annoyingly though, was that there was no washbasin in the WC. You have to go back to your room to wash your hands, which strikes me as being pretty unhygienic when it comes to sharing a bathroom. In general, I found moving between 2 floors and 3 separate rooms just to get ready in the morning to be irritating. And this is coming from someone who's more than used to dormitory and hostel bathrooms. Aside from the shared bathroom negatives, I found the room and facilities weren't as nice or large as the pictures depicted them to be, and the customer service was somewhat mediocre. I wouldn't recommend Hotel Mistral's Economy rooms to other travelers. Hopefully their ensuite accommodations are better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed here for four nights, with no complaints. Had a basic twin room, with shower and toilet shared. Both the shower and bathroom were kept very well supplied and clean.
The location was excellent with good public transportation nearby. Had gotten there via Eurostar and took the 38 bus, and walked to hotel. Took about 15 minutes.
Took the CDG bus from the train station, which was only a 5-7 minute walk, but do allow plenty of time. I was there for an 8am bus, that didn't leave until almost 8:25am. Didn't get off at Terminal 1 until 10 am.

No hot pot in room, and only a vending machine for coffee.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Looking for a cheap place to stay en route to Orly Airport a priority was transport. This Hotel is a reasonable walk from Denfert Rochereau which has Orlybus, Metro and RER links if yor bag has wheels.
Downside was that there was no lift and the cheaper rooms have no toilet or shower. (Dread to think what the handbasin gets used for.
Plus side was that it was clean and well decorated and there is 24hr desk service.

Room Tip: On a lower floor if you have heavy luggage, pay a few bob extra if you need a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

People are friendly, welcoming and ready to help. Room and bathroom were tidy. We had a room for 2 people with a shower inside and we loved it. It was well lighted with few big windows. Not too much noisy, great little garden. Location though is not the top one, Monparnasse is a mess...

Defenitely would advise it to my friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Address: 24, rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Paris
#151 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#180 Family Hotel in Paris
#532 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mistral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.