We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mistral to your Saves list
Hotel Mistral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24, rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #353 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Not good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

They mixed our reservation and we had to spend the first night in a room without a bathroom although we had made a reservation for a room with a shower. They didn't try to make it up for us (I would have appreciated a discount after such mistake).

The hotel is old and worn. Mold in the bathroom. First room smelled like cigaret. Double beds were only about 140 cm wide and there was a plastic cover right under the sheet which made the bed very uncomfortable to sleep on (it was a hot weather outside). My husband found it more comfortable to sleep on the floor.

The hotel is cleaned well but it doesn't really help much if the carpet is 30(?) years old. Don't believe the pictures, most of the rooms are not nearly as nice.

Never going back to this place (even if it means we have to pay double the price for a better hotel).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
32
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I'd booked an Economy Twin Room for 3 nights, and I unfortunately found Hotel Mistral's Economy accommodation to be very disappointing. My main issue was with the "shared bathroom", which would be considered substandard for even a youth hostel. The shared wc and the shared shower are on separate floors. The shower room on the 5th floor is tiny (just one stall) and consistently messy and mildewy (and there's no toilet). The wc (just one toilet) on the 4th floor is also cramped, used as storage for ladders and other things. Most annoyingly though, was that there was no washbasin in the WC. You have to go back to your room to wash your hands, which strikes me as being pretty unhygienic when it comes to sharing a bathroom. In general, I found moving between 2 floors and 3 separate rooms just to get ready in the morning to be irritating. And this is coming from someone who's more than used to dormitory and hostel bathrooms. Aside from the shared bathroom negatives, I found the room and facilities weren't as nice or large as the pictures depicted them to be, and the customer service was somewhat mediocre. I wouldn't recommend Hotel Mistral's Economy rooms to other travelers. Hopefully their ensuite accommodations are better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed here for four nights, with no complaints. Had a basic twin room, with shower and toilet shared. Both the shower and bathroom were kept very well supplied and clean.
The location was excellent with good public transportation nearby. Had gotten there via Eurostar and took the 38 bus, and walked to hotel. Took about 15 minutes.
Took the CDG bus from the train station, which was only a 5-7 minute walk, but do allow plenty of time. I was there for an 8am bus, that didn't leave until almost 8:25am. Didn't get off at Terminal 1 until 10 am.

No hot pot in room, and only a vending machine for coffee.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Looking for a cheap place to stay en route to Orly Airport a priority was transport. This Hotel is a reasonable walk from Denfert Rochereau which has Orlybus, Metro and RER links if yor bag has wheels.
Downside was that there was no lift and the cheaper rooms have no toilet or shower. (Dread to think what the handbasin gets used for.
Plus side was that it was clean and well decorated and there is 24hr desk service.

Room Tip: On a lower floor if you have heavy luggage, pay a few bob extra if you need a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

People are friendly, welcoming and ready to help. Room and bathroom were tidy. We had a room for 2 people with a shower inside and we loved it. It was well lighted with few big windows. Not too much noisy, great little garden. Location though is not the top one, Monparnasse is a mess...

Defenitely would advise it to my friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having as usual, left things till the last moment I was very pleasantly surprised to find this hotel with rooms available over valentines day and as we wanted a room with shower /toilet facilities in the room we had to go with the fifth floor option….. and as a 58yro with recent back problems I wasn’t sure of what I was letting myself in for, as it says in the info that there is no lift on the premises, but our intention was not to spend the few days get away in the hotel going up and down the stairs but to be able to get out and explore Paris by walking and this hotel fulfilled all criteria. the staff were all very friendly and helpful and when they realised we were English reverted to speaking in English as our French is hopeless. the hotel was close enough for walking to the famous Eiffel tower, the Louvre , the invalids, and more had we had the time so used the hop on hop off river taxi to explore Notre dame, even then time was against us. The room was more than adequate, clean and fresh, comfortable double bed and the toilet /shower room was nice and clean the shower was good, powerful and hot. This was my first visit to Paris and hope to go back soon and will most certainly try to rebook this hotel

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs as there's emergency vehicles through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This budget hotel had everything we wanted. We had booked a double room with shared shower and bathroom outside the room. Our room was clean with huge windows and a sectioned off wash basin area. It was a tad small for Canadian standards but for a room in Paris not to small at all. The reception was very nice and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and convenient. Some of the front desk didn't speak very good english, (we are in a French Country so obviously understandable), but the ones that didn't speak very good english did everything they could to understand our questions and give us answers. The garden and kitchen area were lovely and the front reception had a book exchange. Everything was exactly as depicted on the website which was a relief. Everything was within a five minute walking distance from the hotel that you would need: cafes, restaurants, metro stop, etc

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and our floor had one of the bathrooms and shower rooms. If you do not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Address: 24, rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#147 Business Hotel in Paris
#156 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#168 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mistral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.