We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse to your Saves list
Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue du Cotentin, 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park Sleep & Go
Ranked #557 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed but one night here, before catching a train. The room was great, with everything I needed. It was the breakfast that really astounded me. It was a feast, way beyond my expectations. A full continental range, a full English menu and more choices than I could possibly eat. The best breakfast at a hotel that I can recall! It is not easy to find without a map, but located close to the Gare.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel F, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments that have brought a lot's of high energy to our Restaurant and Kitchen teams. They have been able to see that they daily work has a real impact on guest's satisfaction and experience.

It is a key element to bring them motivation to improve all year long.

Now you know our address, so do not hesitate to come back the next time you will be in Paris.

Best regards,


Arnaud Montigny
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    616
    180
    42
    13
See reviews for
524
303
67
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Everything you would expect from a Novotel. Family Room clean, small when fully occupied but functional. Location good, we found a supermarket and many restaurants close by. Good access to Metro (Pasteur), quite a walk to the Eiffel tower for the children (8 and 11) but doable. A good base for exploring an amazing city. Some elements a bit shoddy e.g. paper cups. Really helpful staff at reception and bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This the second time we've stayed here (previous trip was in 2009) and we'd stay again.

The hotel is easy to get to from Paris Gare du Nord (which is accessible from Eurostar or the the airports) and then from there on you don't really need to worry about the Metro as everything is in walking distance if you are prepared to explore the city by foot - if not, the Metro/station is right next door to the hotel. If I remember correctly, if you take Exit 3 from Gare Montparnasse, you come out on Rue du Cotentin.

The Eiffel Tower is c 30 mins walk - Louvre probably more like 40 - 50 mins - or you can walk right along the Seine from the Eiffel Tower to the Louvre. The only sight we got a Metro for was the Sacre Coeur but you could probably walk it. Versailles is also easy to access from here - c 20 - 40 mins by train (depends if you get the train that stops off at all stations!). The great thing is, as the hotel is next to the Tour Montparnasse, you always know how to get back as you just follow the skyscraper.

On both trips the rooms were spacious, clean and felt safe (with safety deposit box) and also had all you need (e.g. air conditioning, tea/coffee, hairdryer, shower gel etc). The room we stayed in recently must have been on a corner as it was massive for a typical European city hotel room! We had a bath and separate shower, and separate toilet.

The bar is good - we haven't tried the restaurant as we prefer to explore the city. We ate at Les Zazous on one night (nice food and good atmosphere) which is on Boulevard Du Montparnasse. You'll find a lot of restaurants on this street - within 10-15 mins of the hotel. We also didn't eat breakfast and found cafes for breakfast.

Overall - would recommend it to friends and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights from 23rd May. The hotel is situated at a 10 minute walking distance from Gare Montparnasse train station, on a quite lane. There is no particular view from the rooms and the room are of just adequate size. The four bedded room gets even smaller and impacts the mobility with in the room. However, going by the rates the room is good value for money.
The breakfast served at the hotel has lot of variety, delicous, and filling. The staff too is courteous and helpful. Can be a good choice for people travelling on short trips. The hotel offers good wifi connectivity to all the guest rooms without any additional charges

The only drawback is that the toilet(WC) is separate from the main bathroom and can be an irritant for a few people who want complete hygine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not too difficult to find from the Montparnasse station but the hotel could do with signs at the station indicating the way to walk. My husband and I had a 7th floor room which was clean and comfortable. Room was fairly big which was nice since we had two large luggages. Will consider staying there again. Wish breakfast was included in the room price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed on this hotel during one week in May 2013. It is a quite standard chain hotel.
Meaning, there is nothing to blow your mind but it does its job quite well.

Comfortable bed, spacious and spotless clean room is what you will find.
Large bathroom with hot tub, nice shower (lots of hot water) and the usual toiletries.
In the room you also have flat screen TV, work desk, frigobar and a kettle.

If you are a smoker, probably know how hard is to find hotels with smoking rooms these days, even in Europe and to my luck, this is the case of this Novotel.

The hotel is close to Gare Montparnasse with several other subway stations nearby. If you are arriving from CDG, a good choice is use the Les Cars AirFrance. One of the lines leave you in this gare, making easy you to find the hotel.

The surroundings are also great. Lots of cafes, restaurants and supermarket nearby. There is also a Galleries Lafayette close, if you are looking for shopping opportunities.

The best of this hotel is their front desk team. Always helpful and in good mood. Cheers for that.

The worst is their WiFi. It is not a problem it be limited to 500kbps, with faster options to ones willing to pay almost 20 euros per day. I can manage fine with 500kbps but the signal is too weak. Not sure if it was because my room was on the far right corner of the building or what but to get signal from the bad was almost impossible. I had to be in the desk, aiming to the door. I was on 630.

If the price is right, I definitely will stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

You can reach the hotel from CDG airport by bus or by RER B (until Chatelet les Halles) and métro 4 (direction Porte d'Orléans Montrouge, stop at station Montparnasse Bienvenue).
The bus takes about 1 hour and 40 minutes and costs about 7 € more than the RER and métro which takes half that time.
The bus has the great advantage that you don't need to use so many stairs as in the metro stations (in Chatelet les Halles and Montparnasse Bienvenue) and you sit down at departure and stand up only at arrival.
I had a room for 3 persons (1 double bed and a single one). The toilet was separated from the bathroom which contained shower, bathtub, sink and hairdryer.
You can have meals in the groundfloor but it's not cheap. Anyway there is plenty of cheap restaurants (especially creperies) all around the hotel.
You can use the internet connection free of charge for a maximum of 20 minutes. So you can check in on line and also print your boarding passes.
WIFI access is free and unlimited.
The staff is kind and can give you all the necessary information for your visit.
The position is fantastic because in a walking distance there are many different metro stations (Montparnasse Bienvenue, Pasteur, Pernety, Gaité). The nearest means of transport is bus 91 going to Gare de Lyon and Bastille. The bus stop is just round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse

Address: 17 rue du Cotentin, 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Paris
#247 Business Hotel in Paris
#252 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#358 Family Hotel in Paris
#552 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Localised at the heart of Paris, the Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse is situated next to the Montparnasse station and close to the Paris Exibition Center Porte de Versailles. You will easily access to the famous tourism points of Paris : Eiffel tower, Notre-Dame de Paris, Saint-Germain-des-Prés... The 199 rooms are modern and air-conditioned. We will also find a restaurant within the hotel which provide tasty french cuisine, a bar/lounge and 4 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Montparnasse
Novotel Montparnasse
Paris Novotel
Novotel Paris Montparnasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Paris Gare Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.