We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts Bastille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Arts Bastille to your Saves list
Hotel des Arts Bastille
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue Godefroy Cavaignac | angle 87 rue de Charonne, 75011 Paris, France (République)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,245 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Riga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Romes were not large, though the price was good. Everything was clean and tidy. Reception was good - the hotel is open all night long. Till the center of the Paris no more than 3 or4 metro stations. Good restaurants / cafes nearby (200 meters or so). Actual the place is quite good - one can easily walk to the city center (approximately 1 hour walk) to see and feel the Paris.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    87
    76
    39
    24
See reviews for
21
136
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I saw a few reviews for this hotel that were not positive. This may be due to the expectations of some travelers. We expected a small, clean hotel room with en suite bath and working wifi in a decent neighborhood. This is exactly what we got.

The neighborhood is "residential" according to a lot of the websites. This is sort of misleading. Yes, a lot of people live there...it's not like la defense or areas around the louvre. But it is a real Paris neighborhood. Most of the time, you are the only american in sight. This is an area that real Parisians live and work in.

Enough people speak english to get past the smattering of french I know, so it's easy to get around. Subway is about a block and a half from the hotel, a very easy 4 minute walk. Lots of restaurants and cafe's, pastiseries, REAL grocery stores, etc. The desk clerks at the hotel all spoke english and we had no problems. The room is not huge, but it's quite serviceable and was clean. No A/C as far as I could tell, but this wasn't a problem the time of year we were there. We were on the top floor and the wifi worked fine. Bathroom was small but we had no issues with this either. Neighborhood was safe, with things to do, places to eat, etc. Laundry about a block away if that far.

We really liked staying here. It was a real Paris neighborhood, not a tourist area. This was a real plus for us. And the price was right as well. The lift was small, and with luggage could only accomodate one of us at a time, but this wasn't a problem. The breakfast was unremarkable, but most Paris breakfasts are. We skipped it and got something at a pastiserie about a block away.

It's not the Hilton, but it's not 300 euros a night either. And we prefer getting out amongst the locals. If you do as well, you'll like this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The hotel is in a gentrified neighborhood with a lot of new trendy shops along rue de Charone. It was well priced for Paris and near to the metro. I found the front desk staff to be very friendly and spoke English well. Easy locale to get around from. Only issue was I was on the 6th floor, but the elevator only goes to the 5th and my equipment is heavy. The walls are pretty thin too (I could hear my neighbor brushing his teeth or singing a madrigal). But great for the price, so I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for floors 1-5 if you have heavy luggage or something unwieldy (no elevator to the 6th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel near the Bastille. The front desk clerk was very helpful when we had questions and it was a great value for the money. If you are in Paris and just want clean, comfortable and safe for a reasonable price, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The twin rooms are more spacious than the double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its low price and bath in the room. The position is really good, close to "metro" and several sights, also the staff was kind and our room was well cleaned every day. But the room was very small (really faaar from the photo on their web) and we could hear every single drop of water when our neighbour was having shower early in the morning :( The bathroom was really tiny so that it was difficult to get out of the shower and with mould on the walls.
The last thing I didn't like was that they inform you about breakfast served in their hall but don't mention that you have to pay extra money for it. I'd asked by mail before booking but I'd got no answer :(
To sum up, you get what you pay for, think of the good position and your own bathroom in room and you might leave out a bit of discomfort ;)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This small hotel in Paris is cosy and colourful. Easy-going staff, open 24h. Rooms are very small but clean. The heating was a little too hot and the air was quite dry. We had to put some wet towels on the heaters to breathe properly while sleeping. I would say it is quite expensive considering it is rated only one star. Breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Me and my friend came for a flying visit to Paris Monday - Wednesday and wanted somewhere cheap, accessible but still fairly nice. Bastille as an area is lovely, really busy, full of life and lots of places to eat and drink - during the day it's a great place to be - however at night, away from the main streets - it's not the best place to be walking round on your own, or with small children. Groups or couples - absolutely fine. We had no trouble, but the place can be a little intimidating if you're not used to big cities.

So, the staff at the hotel were very friendly, one receptionist wanted to come dancing with us (not sure if that's a compliment or just wierd) - they all tended to just smile and nod, with the occasional grunt, but nothing rude about them at all.

My pillowcase had some funny black marks on, looked like they were stains that had not come out in the wash - took them to reception and they were swapped no fuss. Anything we needed they were more than happy to help with all the time.

The room was a decent size, the bed was surprisingly (for the price we paid) very comfy. The rooms have double glazing, but being in a busy city like Paris, you can hear cars outside - something we were completely not fussed about!

This hotel is great if you are any of the following (preferably all!)

- Not expecting 5* service when you pay 2* prices
- Don't mind using the smallest lift in the world or going up lots of spiral stairs
- Don't mind a bit of street noise on a night
- Want somewhere cheap and cheerful

I would strongly reccomend NOT coming to this if you are any of the following

- Have small children
- Not good with stairs or small lifts(!)
- Don't want to walk up 6 flights of stairs with minimum light
- Want a reception with concierge and room service
- Want peace & quiet at night time
- Expect too much for your money!

I've seen some reviews of people absolutely slating this place, fair enough - but we paid £107 for 2 nights here, and for the brilliant location, I think it's superb value for money.

Room Tip: If you can cope with the mini lift or the stairs, ask for floors 5 or 6 like we did, lovely views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Arts Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Bastille

Address: 2 rue Godefroy Cavaignac | angle 87 rue de Charonne, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,245 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Bastille 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Arts Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Bastille Paris
Des Arts Bastille Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Arts Bastille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.