We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great find in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais Montmartre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Relais Montmartre to your Saves list
Le Relais Montmartre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Constance, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A Great find in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We had already had a month in Paris in an apartment and only needed a hotel for one night prior to departure. I had looked around at several hotels and thankfully came across Le Relais Montmartre. They were extremely accommodating, we asked them to store our bags for one week whilst we went to Italy which they did gladly. I felt bad about asking since we were only going to stay one night with them. The bags were in our room waiting when we returned to Paris.

The hotel has lots of charm and character, the staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We booked a superior room on which they gave us a very good price - even without us asking. The room was very comfortable, the most comfy bed for the whole trip! Lovely decoration, a bit English B and B style, the room was whisper quiet, it did face the inner courtyard rather than the street, but as the courtyard is big there was plenty of light in the room.

The bathroom was a good size and there was a separate toilet (well at least the toilet was still in the main bathroom but there was a door) which was nice.

The location is terrific, 5 mins from Blanche metro and just off rue Lepic which has loads of cafes and shops.

We looked a couple of other hotels within the same price bracket and there was no comparison Le Relais won hands down.

We would highly recommend this hotel, particularly for a shorter stay, say 1 - 5 nights. You may need a larger hotel for a longer time.

The hotel had that lovely intimate feel, ideal for couples or a romantic weekend, or for a single traveller as the area is very safe.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    176
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
350
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My wife and I spent 4 nights in this hotel, and enjoyed a lot. When we opened the door, Vincent already identified us and the check-in process was complete. The room may not be gorgeous, but just enough, and above all very clean. This hotel is located near to the two subway stations, and surrounded by a lot of cafes and restaurants. The cafe famous for the film "Amelie" is just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My husband and I booked a 5 night stay at Le Relais for our 1st wedding anniversary, based on the reviews on here and we weren't disappointed. Not in the slightest.

Everything about our stay was perfect: the staff at the hotel, especially Vincent who recommended the most AMAZING Italian restaurant a few blocks from the hotel called Al Caratello; our room was beautifully kept - clean, spacious and quiet; the location was perfect and just a stone's throw from all the main attractions either by foot (Sacre Coeur) or a couple of stops on the Metro.

My husband and I couldn't recommend Le Relais more highly. If you need a perfect hotel in a perfect location, then this is it!

Our only negative experience was drinks at Le Chat Noir, a bar a couple of doors down from the Moulin Rouge in Montmartre. When my husband ordered a large (pint) beer and a lemonade the waiter arrived with 2 jugs each holding about 3 pints and a £35 bill!!!! When my husband queestioned the bill and the oversized measurements, the staff claimed to not speak enough English to understand us and so walked away £35 poorer and feeling like we'd been robbed. AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Do not be put off when you climb the steps out of the metro station (Blanche), literally a few minutes walk up Rue Lepic and turning left into Rue Constance, you will find this little gem of a hotel. The trip was a birthday present for my girlfriend, her first time visiting Paris and boy, did just finding this place give me some brownie points let alone the trip!

The hotel is small but a perfect place from which to explore Montmartre and Paris. The staff are courteous, polite and speak excellent English. We had a room on the front, it was not large but it was exceptionally clean and secure and very tastefully decorated. The bed was probably the most comfortable i've slept in and i spend most weeks in and out of different hotels across the continent. Unable to comment on the breakfast as we always went to nearby cafes, a cheaper alternative. Hotel breakfasts in France especially are always expensive regardless of hotel, city or region. Venture out and experience Montmartre!

For the evening, the hotel staff's restaurant's recommendation's are fantastic, try 'Le Basilic' at the top of ' Rue Lepic'. More brownie points!

The district of Montmartre has a real buzz and vibrance about it, lots of cafes and bistro's from which to people watch. My girlfriend wanted to experience the true Paris and we found it here. Forget the slighty seedier 'Boulevard de Clichy' ( Moulin Rouge ) and take a stroll upto 'Rue des Abbesses'. Here you'll find a variety of deli's, boutiques and book shop's which lead you in the direction of 'Sacre Cour'. Head up the step's for an awesome view of Paris and to the church. To the left of 'Sacre Cour' you'll find 'Place Du Tertre'. However touristic, the picturesque cobbled streets which house various street painters, restaurants, cafes and galleries are certainly charming. You may be hassled for a portrait but a polite 'non' is all that's required.

Considering my girlfriend's had the blues since returning home, i think a second trip is very much on the cards and this hotel and neighbourhood will be the first place we book!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

A truly charming little hotel tucked into a small lane amidst the hustle and activity of the Montmartre neighborhood.
Run by a pleasant and calming staff, the hotel is exceptionally quiet and clean, particularly for its neighborhood! Decorated in a style of old-fashioned elegance, including patterned wallpaper and exposed wooden beams. My room had wooden beams on the (low) ceiling and a rather large bed with paisley bedspread that gave the room a cozy feel.
Outside, on the streets of Montmartre, you are mere steps from the world famous Moulin Rouge cabaret, a short climb up the hill to the white basilica of Sacre Coeur and amidst the heady nightlife and restaurants of Clichy, Pigalle, Blanche, etc. I spent my evening nearby with a bottle of wine and a crowd of Parisians being entertained on the steps below Sacre Coeur by troupe of African musicians. All of Paris spread out below under the slow light of sunset.
The neighborhood is one of Paris' best. To be able to stay somewhere so clean, charming and pleasantly-run in the heart of Montmartre is a real pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Nice rooms, excellent service, perfect location. I used to live in the neighbourhood for 10 years. This hotel is providing a quite place to sleep in a very busy part of Paris. Not that expensive compare with the so many average and expensive hotels in Montmartre...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We stayed here on a weekend trip, that was mainly to enjoy the April end-of-the-season oysters at the Wepler restaurant on the nearby Place de Clichy. We secured the last available and probably the noisiest room in entire hotel - with two windows looking out right onto the sidewalk at street level (number 4). The room was beautifully furnished, perfectly clean, and isolated enough (with double doors to the lobby) so that noise was never a problem. Very friendly staff who immediately make you feel welcome.

Fans of the film "Amélie" (le Déstin Fabuleux d'Amélie Poulain) will love this hotel, since it is just around the corner from the Café des Deux Moulins, the rue Lepic and other places featured in the film. A nice address to return to.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Montmartre

Address: 6 rue Constance, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#73 Family Hotel in Paris
#298 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DE CHARME ideal en couple ou en famille au coeur du village le plus pittoresque et romantique de Paris ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Relais Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Montmartre Paris
Le Relais Montmartre Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais Montmartre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.