We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mary's Hotel to your Saves list
Mary's Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (Bastille / Oberkampf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,336 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Had decent stay. Rooms are very small, but clean. Please do not stay with excess luggage as there is no space / storage for luggage. Breakfast is sad . But there are good options around, please research ur food joints around before. We found out good places on the last day of stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    126
    92
    47
    52
See reviews for
75
102
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We needed a cheap, well-located, no-frills place near Le Bataclan and Mary's Hotel was perfect for us. The room we had was tiny, only just bigger than the bed, but it was warm and quiet. The location is excellent, right next to the Oberkampf metro and with a kebab bar, a restaurant, a patisserie and some shops nearby.

The staff were all helpful, but don't expect grand hospitality: this hotel is a room and not much more. Avoid the breakfast, which is really only a croissant for 7.50 EU! Get a pastry and coffee from the nearby patisserie instead.

If you are looking for a place to sleep that is well-located and at a good price for the location, I can highly recommend Mary's. If you demand anything more from a hotel, or don't like very small rooms, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Do not, I repeat DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. First off they tried to scam us into staying at the "other" Mary's Hotel which is worse than this one. Then they would not let us get any phone calls from my son or daughter in law who live in France, the front desk man was quite interested in the fact that my daughter in law is a French citizen. Even though she had called to check on us, they never gave us the message. A mouse jumped out at me from the bed. We spent a wonderful evening in Paris and when we returned to our room about midnight, I could not sleep and when I got up we found bedbugs, not a few...........a swarm! The night deskman insisted they were not bedbugs, I have photos to prove it. We had to leave in the middle of the night and take an early train to my son's wedding in Tours instead of spending the next day in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's not a great hotel, as you might imagine by its prices. But it's still beter than a hostel!

I stayed there with a group of friends, we booked a 4-bed Room and a Triple Room. It's a 1/2 star hotel, with a small but clean private bathroom, TV with plenty of channels, etc etc. The rooms aren't big but are not really small too. They'd clean it daily but my friends complained they weren't cleaning it really well. The building was a bit old but the rooms were warm (sometimes a bit too hot!).

The staff was kind and cool, and they let us warm up some food in a microwave. Good if you're on a budget and want to save for museums and stuff.

Location was perfect, near Republique. There's a metro station right next to the hotel, and many restaurants and shops around.

Good if you're with friends, don't want to spend a lot of money, and if don't like shared bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at Mary's Hotel in September and I found the staff and Management very friendly and professional and I would recommend the hotel to anybody..The Location of hotel is excellent,as you are only ten minutes from Guarde De Norde and Bastille...Also there is an amazing cafe/bar just a stone's throw from the hotel and they serve excellent food at an amazing price...I have no problems about staying at Mary's Hotel in the future,as for an inexpensive place to stay in Paris it is hard to beat....:))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I previously wrote a glowing review of this hotel but deleted it due to the extensive amount of bedbug bites all over my body that appeared a week after staying there. My body has been seriously feasted on, so this hotel must have a serious issue with them.

If you aren't allergic to bedbug's and they don't bother you then by all means stay at this hotel. If, like me, you end up covered in red itchy lumps, do not!

30 + bedbug bites and counting...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here in October for 1 night.
Cheap and cheerful. The room was clean, if not a little pokey. But you get what you pay for. Staff were very accomodating and friendly. They looked after our luggage for us as our room wasn't ready when we arrived. Beware if there are 2 of you staying in a room it definately feels like you are on top of each other, but not bad for 1 night. The rooms are very thin and noise goes on all night, so I would recommend ear plugs!
All in all it was ok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
République
Hotel des Arts Bastille
Hotel des Arts Bastille
#1,213 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#752 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Nemours
Hotel Nemours
#1,572 of 1,791 in Paris
2.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Grand Hotel Voltaire
Grand Hotel Voltaire
#1,530 of 1,791 in Paris
2.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Republique
Hotel Republique
#925 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,476 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Hotel

Address: 15, Rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,336 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mary's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marys Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.