We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Paris - Vendome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Paris - Vendome to your Saves list
The Westin Paris - Vendome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #576 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

You can walk to most of what you want to see in Paris and still get in and out of the city with ease from this hotel. You'll pay for the location and the high quality of the service and rooms (which though well furnished, tend to be on the small side), but if you can afford it and you want a first class experience in Paris, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres L, Director of Rooms at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Michael B,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay.

We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your very positive comments about the location, the furnishings and the service.

We hope to see you back soon for a new refreshing stay in the City of Light!

Be well,

Andres Lopez-Dafonte
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    789
    358
    195
    107
See reviews for
402
1,005
118
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel a couple of times -- mostly because they are Starwood and because of the location, (which we think is absolutely perfect). Honestly, I wasn't really impressed with a lot of things about the hotel and in fact there were a few things I didn't like, (the concierge was not very gracious or helpful, the rooms aren't really up to our standards etc). But I wanted to say that we will probably go back because we want to see Medhi who was so beyond gracious and helpful to us. There was a "snafu" with our booking --- the American Starwood site I booked on said we would have a room with a view of the Eiffel tower, (I chose to pay extra for the premium) but the reservation system in Paris showed no such thing and the "paris" Starwood site showed different levels -- it was quite confusing and honestly a bit stressful but Medhi was so patient and gracious with us and we sorted it all out. He even remembered us from our previous visits and followed up after check-in to see how we were. We appreciate feeling like the staff really care about us and we especially appreciated seeing such a friendly face when so many of the other staff in the hotel were not so open or kind.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres L, Director of Rooms at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Molly F,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay with us.

Thank you also for acknowledging Mehdi from the front desk, he will be happy to read your comments.

I regret on the other hand that you did not find the concierges helpful and the rooms not up to your standards. We strive to deliver the best value for money to every guest, I apologize if you did not have this feeling.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Be well,

Andres Lopez-Dafonte
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Excellent location - possible to walk to many attractions nearby eg the Louvre. All the facilities you would expect of a first class hotel! The Foyer is beautiful with an open eating area. Seats covered in sheep-skins at this time of year. Staff friendly and welcoming. It was busy with a Conference taking place but this did not impact on our visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room with best views over the Tuileries Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Undisclosed Location
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is my sixth consecutive year of regular stays at the Westin Paris. The location is exceptional, in the center of all that makes Paris, Paris. If you get a room on the Rue de Rivoli side you will get amazing views of all of the major landmarks of Paris. If you are on the Rue de Castiglione side, you will be able to see the Place Vendome. If you care about views ask for one of these sides of the hotel as the two other sides will not satisfy you. On the fifth floor of the hotel a number of the exterior rooms have balconies so also consider the floor that you are on and ask questions.

Starting from the presumption that you are in the center of what makes Paris the most visited city in the world, let's talk about what makes the Westin Paris an excellent hotel in which to stay. It is service – service – service. Today, the Westin offers wireless in the rooms and free wireless in the lobby areas. If you are Starwood Platinum your wireless service is free. They also offer platinum members a 20% discount on food in Le First, the restaurant, and in the bar. In both locations, the food is excellent and Monday to Friday they offer a set menu for €30 which includes an entrée and a main dish. They have an amazing interior courtyard that is beautiful in the summer, and recently, through the addition of heat lamps, they now offer service in the cooler months. As I have said in earlier reviews, the rooms are not cookie-cutter. This is an historic hotel and the rooms vary significantly in size. If the size of your room matters, discuss it with your reservations agent, as certainly this hotel has a room to accommodate your preferences whether they be high ceilings or exterior rooms with balconies. Yes, there are the small or "cozy" rooms but, again, the hotel in my experience will always do what they can to accommodate your preference. Five years ago, I wrote about the 'Vida'touch". Vida is a member of the housekeeping staff, that in my view encompasses the spirit of client service at the Westin. Whether it's the way that the bed is made, or how the linens are folded, I know when I come into my room that Vida has left her touch. For the business traveler it is as close to "coming home" as I can imagine. If you care about fitness, the gym is small but certainly adequate and if you want to venture outdoors, it's a great place to start a nice run to Notre Dame or to the Eiffel Tower. On the lower level there is a spa, Six Senses, where they have a wide variety of services. Among my favorites are the Thai and the Oriental massage. If you are looking for ideas to spend your spare time in Paris, the staff at the concierge desk has no shortage of ideas. I am clearly a fan of this hotel, however it is based on six years of consistent delivery of excellent client service. At least in my mind, that is a notable track record. Kudos to the management and staff of the Westin Paris, keep up the good work and I promise I'll keep coming back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just stayed at Westin Paris Vendome for 3 nights using SPG points. Both of us hold Gold status. We arrived around 11:30am and were greeting by Medhi at the front desk. He was friendly and helpful beyond our expectations, having our room ready by noon. Recognizing our Gold status, we were upgraded to the top floor and given free WIFI. He even gave us a voucher for free tea at the bar while we were waiting less than 30 minutes for our room. Great first impression!

The hotel is old and very classic. The location at Place Vendome is ideal, between the Louvre, Champs Elysees, Place de la Concorde and a very large upscale shopping/dining district. The M1(yellow) Metro line has 2 stops within a few blocks of the hotel entrance (Tuileries and Concorde).

The hotel has a bar and restaurant. While we find it generally expensive to eat in Paris, eating at the hotel would have been outrageous by our standards (44EUR PP for a full breakfast). We opted to eat elsewhere our entire stay. I have never really understood why visitors to a foreign city would want to eat in their hotel anyway.

This is solidly a four star hotel, not five. My reason for this is the room. Our upgraded room was still very small with a view of a courtyard. The bed was comfortable enough but not the standard 'heavenly bed' we are accustomed to. Little things like having to ask for extra soap or pillows make it slightly less than luxurious for me. Also, the rooms are WAY overheated in the winter. After turning off the thermostat completely and opening the windows, it still took a day and a half for the room to cool down to a comfortable level.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and none of my criticisms were deal breakers. If you can afford it or have lots of SPG points like we did, you won't regret staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If peace and quiet are important to you, choose a courtyard room over a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location, old rambling Parisian hotel. Rooms and restaurants more modern French. Arrived early and provided 10am check in. Staff wonderful at desk, laundry and cleaning. Room service prompt. A super place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres L, Director of Rooms at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear JudManhattan,

Thank you for your very positive feedback.

We are happy to know that you fully enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that we were able to check you in early in the morning as the room was already available.

Our goal is that our guests spend memorable stays and I'm delighted that we attained our goal this time.

Looking forward to meeting you in person during a future stay,

Be well,

Andres Lopez-Dafonte
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. It is very classical. It's at a great location right across the gardens and wishing walking distance of Champs Élysées. The rooms are a good size and very clean. The restaurant, bar, and garden are all very nice but limited with dishes. Unfortunately there were no vegetarian options. After passing my complaint the staff (f&b director Marc D'Urso) approached me and promised to cater for my needs. Overall it was a good stay and would definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Paris - Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Paris - Vendome

Address: 3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Paris
#259 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#326 Family Hotel in Paris
#397 Business Hotel in Paris
#424 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Paris - Vendome 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Paris. Overlooking the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower, The Westin Paris is an idyllic retreat in the midst of the invigorating French capital. Savour the flavours of the City of Lights at le First, restaurant boudoir paris, which gives you a taste of the contemporary. Our Spa, a place to relax, revive and experience complete renewal, the first Six Senses in Paris – Six Senses at rue de Castiglione. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Paris - Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Paris - Vendome Hotel Paris
Westin Paris
Paris Westin
Westin Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Paris - Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.