We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Choice!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Paris - Vendome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Paris - Vendome to your Saves list
The Westin Paris - Vendome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #570 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worst Choice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

So the pictures on the website look great...and the rooms nothing like those pictures!! We checked in as gold card member in September in to the Westin. We should have known better through our check in process it self. Despite being gold status members we were given rooms without an upgrade and on a lower floor. When we spoke to the guest relations manager she told us that the Westin was a four star property! We had no idea! the rooms were tiny... we had no place to put our suitcases .. the walls doors were chipped... the elevators were chipped... the corridors were really shady and smelly... we had booked two rooms so one of us vacated one room the same evening and checked into the Park Hyatt.... the next morning at the Westin the power was turned off at 11 am( we were informed at checkout) .. we were lucky to have found two rooms at another hotel!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    790
    358
    195
    107
See reviews for
402
1,006
119
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have to say I chuckle a bit every time I read a query about "which hotel in Paris?" for, as I write this I am sitting in the Royal Suite, with a stunning living room on the 100% corner, overlooking the Louvre, the Tuillerie Gardens and the (now lit-up) Tour Eiffel. For me the question is why consider anything less?

The incredibly professional management and staff at the Westin-Vendome have seen fit to smile upon our family and present us with the 60th birthday upgrade of a lifetime! With an en-suite bedroom on either side of the amazingly grand and stylishly funky-formal living room, we have been able to enjoy cocktails-with-a-view every night before taking advantage of the many spectacular restaurants within walking distance.

This hotel is so much the winner in so many categories: elegance, service, location and value...this is not the first time I've had the pleasure to stay at the Westin Paris, and there is no question but that it will not be the last!

This is a reason to be thankful!

Room Tip: Try to score a room overlooking the Tuillerie Gardens! Check out the Eiffel Tower on the hour at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

no free wifi in the room (only robby) and bit far from the tube. restaurant was ok. stayed deluxe room but wasn't really deluxe cos room was tiny and not a good view. only thing i loved their breakfast. can't believe i paid £800/n!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had read reviews on the Vendome. Had stayed in the other SPG porperties in Paris over the years and wanted to give it a try. As I expected even with Platinum status, I wasn't given an upgrade as the attendant so succinctly stated "we are always at 90% plus occupancy". He was very professional though as we tried to check in early and he did his best to get our room ready by the stated time. After a quick lunch down the street, we came back and it was ready at the stated time!

The room was located on a higher floor with an interior courtyard view which was quiet and peaceful. It was quite cozy compared to the other SPG properties that I had stayed in Paris especailly having been upgraded the last seven times at the other locations. We had some issues with finding suitable places for our luggage as we had been on an extended cruise.
The staff were all very helpful and efficient. Not necessarily all that friendly but did a very good job. The concierge staff were excellent in helping with reservations and also several business issues such as faxing and messaging. Bellhops were superb. Quick and friendly all at the same time.

Room service prices are astronomical for what you get. I know this is Paris but prepare to be shocked in advance. We went down the street and could get the same items for less than one third the cost. Through it all, I would give serious thought to staying here again especially if I am in Paris with other SPG members who have not been to Paris before. That was the case in this stay as the other two couples had not been to Paris before.

Room Tip: Stay away from the top floors as the ceiling heights are very intrusive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Great location, its like a Palace however it was a Hotel from the begining in the early XX century, former Intercontinental now is Westin. If you have the money I recommend you to get one of the Rue Rivoli rooms that have beautiful views to Toulleries Gardens and the left bank even to the Concordia Palace.

A place to dream, if you can sneek into the big salons, you will be amazed. Ives SantLaurent used to set his catwalks shows there in the 70s. Nice garden inside the hall. Sometimes you can find a woman playing the harp, at least years ago when my father used to took me several times there in holidays.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We got a deal so we did not have the most glamorous room. The bed was very comfortable but we didn't really like the big weird furniture in the room. Anyway it was a cheapie so we were not too bothered.

We didn't eat in the hotel but we were in the bar both nights we stayed. It's not really a 4 or 5 star bar in terms of Parisian hotels but it was quite fun people watching. The courtyard is very pretty too.

There were two weddings and a bar mitzvah on while we were there so the hotel was jumping. We could hear the karaoke when we went to bed but it did not go on too late so it was fine.

I think it must be a popular function hotel. Not our first choice by any means but it was a deal and the location is fab. We paid a third of the price of a room at the Crillon or the like and it was decent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Highs: perfect location (close to the Louvre, Jardins des Tuileries, Place Vendome and the Metro), very clean, complimentary water everyday, decent gym, easy to get taxis.
Lows: expensive breakfast for what's on offer, charge for wifi, reported phone line/sink to be fixed...never got fixed during a 3 night stay. Towels got changed everyday even though we hung them to be reused, bathroom fan does not switch off...made a humming noise even with door closed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Paris - Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Paris - Vendome

Address: 3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Paris
#258 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#328 Family Hotel in Paris
#388 Business Hotel in Paris
#419 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Paris - Vendome 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Paris. Overlooking the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower, The Westin Paris is an idyllic retreat in the midst of the invigorating French capital. Savour the flavours of the City of Lights at le First, restaurant boudoir paris, which gives you a taste of the contemporary. Our Spa, a place to relax, revive and experience complete renewal, the first Six Senses in Paris – Six Senses at rue de Castiglione. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Paris - Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Paris - Vendome Hotel Paris
Westin Paris
Paris Westin
Westin Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Paris - Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.