We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baby to your Saves list
Hotel Baby
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Chenier | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,455 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Very Basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Baby for 1 night only on New Years Eve and I think 1 night is enough for this hotel. The staff weren't very helpful and you need a map and compass to find the place. The bathroom was so small, half my body was standing outside the bathroom when I was peeing. Sorry for the image. The lift is so small that only 1 person can fit in it when you have luggage, so being claustrophobic I didn't even bother. The only thing going for this hotel is that it is in central Paris. All in all this hotel is only suitable if you are in a rush and staying in Paris for a 1 or 2 nights tops

Room Tip: If your Claustrophobic do not go in the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    44
    24
    31
See reviews for
21
72
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The rooms were lo little that we had no space for shoes. Stairs so narrow, that even a baggage hardly fits in. Russian protitutes...
Avoid this hotel, just walk around and you find better for better price.
Shame on fake evaluatios here!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We are a family with a young child. We had booked this hotel because of the location and price. Getting to the third floor with luggage was hard given the very small lift.
The room was very small and the bathroom was old with a damaged door.
In the evening when we came back, we realised that the window wouldn't close. In addition to the all-night outside noise, we had the boiler in the room next door evenings and early morning. The TV only worked on the morning when we left.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is cheap and cheerful. It is in an area that may not be desirable to those wanting a high class break but for those only wanting a cheap hotel with polite staff and good transport links this is the place for you. Is also near some good restaurants, one being the nicest Indian restaurant i've ever been to.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The one thing that this hotel has in spades is personality. The staff are always smiling, and friendly and go out of their way to accomidate your needs. The room itself was cheap, clean, and quite spaceous for the price given. There were some eccentricies, like waking up really early because the staff are doing something noisy, the closed off street with "working girls" showing up at the evenings, a power failure wich left us without electricity for two days (although they helped us as much they could and appologized) and the fact that no taxi driver in paris knew exactly where the street was. But i still want to whole heartedly reccomend this to anyone who wants cheap accomodations in a central place near the metro and who want a good positive atmosphere where they are staying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Clean little place. TINY elevator. Fits one person and one bag. To take the elevator you walk up to the second floor. IT goes to 5th floor maximum so, as our room was on the 6th floor so we had to carry our bags twice. Prostitutes did not bother anyone.

From here we walked to Eiffel, Note Dame, Arc de Triumph. Used the metro to get to Versailles.

Room Tip: be ready for tight spaces in bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in July 2011. Some worries beforehand due to the previous reviews but happy to say no problems experienced. Most importantly the Internet price of £45 per double room is exceptional for central Paris! You are essentially paying hostel prices for a well located hotel. Yes the rooms are basic and could do with a lick of paint, but everything worked, was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The surrounding area is in no way seedy as suggested in the previous reviews - plenty of bars, shops and restaurants and almost on top of a tube station. Yes there are some prostitutes around the area but they are much more low key than some reviews suggest and don't in any way bother you.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baby

Address: 1 Rue Chenier | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,455 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baby 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, up-to-date 21 room 2 star hotel in the heart of Paris,offering well-equipped, stylish , heart-warming rooms. just off Rue Saint-Denis, 2 minutes’ walk from Boulevard Sebastopol. Hôtel Baby is in Paris’ 2nd district: downtown, fast-moving and cosmopolitan, the Louvre is less than 15 minutes’ walk away. The Pompidou Centre, the enchanting Palais Royal and the classy Marais quarter are all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.