We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Champ de Mars

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Champ de Mars
7, rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in late November. This is a very quiet, cozy retreat to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. Both the owners and staff were very kind and were willing to help with any questions we had. Beds were very comfy. Rooms are cozy, yes, but warm, comfortable, and very clean. The hairdryer hanging on the bathroom wall is interesting..not a whole lot of power, but it worked just fine. Super value for the money, excellent, safe location. Would not think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    250
    45
    19
    24
See reviews for
86
386
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We were there recently for 10 nights. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. In mid-November, the weather was quite chilly but the room temperature was warm and toasty. Owners, Francoise and Stephane, are on site almost all day every day, and run a tight ship. The hotel's public spaces appear well maintained. We were impressed, particularly given the reasonable rate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

This charming hotel was recommended by a family friend and it absolutely hit the mark. For 98 euros the rooms were clean and although small were manageable for 2 people. The location is excellent being just a 10 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower and just steps away from Rue de Clerc. There are many great cafes in the area and the hotel is just a couple of doors down from a grocery store. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only critique I would have is the breakfast. We tried it one morning and it was not worth 8 euros. I wouold recommend the local patissieries or cafes where you get much more for your money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

This little gem was ideal for our six night vacation - a short walk to the Eiffel Tower or Invalides,with a Metro station 5 minutes away and a bevy of food options at all price ranges very close at hand. We bought roses for our room,plus cheeses, bread and inexpensive French wines around the corner at Rue Cler for stay-in evenings. We made good use of the post office and user-friendly laundromat each just a block away.
Our room #12 was quite compact but cheerful with yellow fabrics and it served us well - there is a phone-booth size elevator but we often used the stairs since we were just one flight from the lobby and two flights above the breakfast room.
We took breakfast at the hotel most mornings - at 8 Euros, it was a fine value with a pot of coffee for each of us, excellent fresh croissants with butter and jams, baguettes, Camembert cheese wedge, lemon cake, yoghurt and fruit cocktail all included daily and served as soon as we arrived in the attractive breakfast room. The time saved got us out and about quickly each morning, and we never used the in-room breakfast option.
The owners and other staff were very helpful and pleasant, and made a loaner laptop available for free Wi-Fi in the room, very convenient and a money saver. We enjoyed chatting in bits of French and mostly English with the owner and his wife about our late and greatly-missed dog - their cocker Cannelle (means Cinnamon in French) was often there to great us in the lobby with a tail wag. We loved our stay and would return without hesitation - in fact will add a Paris stop to future trips whether we need to or not!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This might be small two star hotel but it has a heart of gold. It's a family run hotel and all the personnel that do attend to it have pride in what they do to keep it looking spotless and cosy for all those residing in it. All the reception staff speak French and English and they are more then helpful at any time of the day.
We have been to this hotel three times in the past three years and the standard has always been top notch. The place is so central that on our first visit I couldn’t believe our luck. It’s situated between the Eiffel tower and the Les Invalides and a two minute walk from the Ecole Militaire metro station. There are a number or amazing restaurants around the corner from the hotel, all situated in a pedestrianized road. What I also loved was that there was a dry cleaning shop and a supermarket just beside (which is so handy with small kids ). The only two I did't like (as I do need to loose weight) was that there was a lovely, amazingly stocked cheese shop and an outstanding patisserie which caused me to get out of the hotel to try some thing new every day.
You can’t be much more central then that. I also will never forget the fist time we walked into our room, I just drew the curtains apart and just there in front of us, as an added bonus to our luck, we could see the sparkling Eiffel tower.
I think I shouldn't be writhing this review as I do consider the place to be a hidden gem, a place I wish to return to and find a room at every time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I'm told this hotel is always booked, and I can see why. For a double, the rate is only 98 Euros per night for a charming, centrally located hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised with the overall look and feel of the hotel. It's very well maintained, and very clean.
The room was comfy and cozy. I was expecting the room to be very small, but I found it to be very manageble for two people. The shower / bathroom was more spacious than I expected.
If you stay in the Rue Cler neighbourhood, be sure to eat at Cafe du Marche for an inexpensive meal and Le Petit Troquet for a 3-course "splurge". These restaurants are recommended by the hotel staff, and Rick Steve's and they are both well-deserved recommendations.
We enjoyed a very comfortable stay at this hotel for 4-nights. I hope when I return to Paris I will be able to stay in this hotel again.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel. There are far too many places to get a pain au chocolat or some other French pastry in the neighbourhood. This hotel is located to so many great shops, restaurants and bakeries.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewiacke, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

The hotel is located on rue Chap du Mars within easy walking distance of the Eiffel Tower. Ecole Militare was the closest subway and bus stop. We were able to walk to the Louver, Champ Elysses, Arc de Triomphe and d'Orsay. There were lots of cafes, shops, fruit and vegetable stands and a laundry nearby. The room and bathroom were small and charming. We had breakfast there every morning for 8 euro each and felt it was worth it. The hotel is kept very clean. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel
Address: 7, rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#56 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#142 Family Hotel in Paris
#423 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Champ de Mars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Champ de Mars to your Saves list