We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect little boutique hotel :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Emile to your Saves list
Hotel Emile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Rue Malher | Marais, 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #771 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Toronto
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A perfect little boutique hotel :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Where do I begin… we stayed at our beloved Hotel Emile during our week-long vacation in Paris, and loved every aspect of it. We had done a lot of research on picking out a central location, yet quiet and trendy. Marais was the answer; safe with amazing little café’s bakeries, parks and museums dotting the area. We figured out that other more popular locations such as the Latin Quarter, St Germaine and Mont Martre were too touristy and busy while we were exploring the city. Hotel Emile has the added bonus of being right across from St Paul metro station. We got a five-day metro pass and got around Paris effortlessly (the best public transport system I have come across n all my travels). The hotel is also flanked by two restaurants… the café on the left had a heated outdoor seating area where we had our relaxing nightcap after a tiresome day exploring the city.
As for our rooms… we were well aware of the fact that Parisian hotels had tiny rooms, and this is the case for the room we were given. However, these rooms are very efficiently designed, utilizing every nook and cranny. I, being a girly girl, had lot of stuff, not to mention all our gadgets! We unpacked our suitcases and put everything away on the only available shelf which seemed really small, but was perfect for all our things. The toilet was a separate room; however, the shower was just a glass partition. This might pose a problem if you are not a couple. It worked really well for us. If you need a hairdryer or other gadgets that are usually provided at other hotels, you need to request for one, as the rooms are not equipped with them. All the fixtures used were state-of-the art, and the room was tastefully decorated. We had a nice view off our balcony which we enjoyed.
The only elevator at the hotel was alarmingly small. We were scared the first couple of times but then we got used to it. If you are claustrophobic, the only other option is a very narrow staircase or you could ask for a room in one of the lower levels. The staff at the reception area was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast (included) consisted of orange juice, coffee or tea, baguettes, croissants, butter and an array of jams! Delicious!! We would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Paris. We will return on our next trip

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, ask for a room on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
9
75
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had an amazing stay in Hotel Emile. The rooms are well designed for couples, very quiet and extremely comfortable. Obviously as it is in the centre of Paris the hotel is compact (especially the staircase!) but it was well worth it. The breakfast is delicious and the staff are friendly. Such a central location and especially good value for money for this area. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior double room and requested a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is in a really great area, especially for boutique shopping and people watching coffee stops. The decor is modern and everything is clean and new. I found it pleasant for a short business trip and would stay again mainly because of the location. The breakfast choice may be limited but the quality of the coffee, juice and croissant offered complimentary, is much better than usual in a Paris hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The location of this charming hotel is wonderful, just a few minutes from a Metro stop and close to all the wonders of the Marais. The rooms are small Parisian style but very smartly designed and brand new. The complimentary breakfast was a surprise and a plus. The placement of the shower and toilet may be uncomfortable for some but definitely functional as the rest of the room is. If you don't plan to spend too much time in the room, it will work for you. No basic services but for the price and location it is well worth it
Will definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very clean and beautiful rooms that are, as they always are in Paris, quite small but definitely not tiny. Spacious and light. Staff was very friendly. The lifts and stairs are really tiny and you have to walk up one staircase to get to the lift. The showers leak easily over to the room as the bathroom floor is flat and open to the bedroom. The area, marais, is really good. You get around easily by metro or taxi as there is a taxi stop across the street from the hotel. There is a lot of good restaurants near-by too and rue de rivoli and all its shops are just a short walk away. The breakfast is typically french and really good! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is very basic on services but is great for the price. It's location is great for seeing sights, shopping and there are lots of bars and restaurants close. Only gripe was issues with the hot water in the shower. When I showered being on the top floor sometimes the pressure was affected and I would be standing with dripping wet with no water coming out to finish my shower for sometimes minutes. Not very pleasant. All in all though a very adequate hotel for the price in a very convenient location.

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet but beware the water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Hotel Emile has recently undergone a total renovation and the results are stunning. While the rooms are very small ( but how much time are you really spending hanging out in a hotel room in Paris?) they are so beautifully designed that they feel much larger. Great Euro- contempo style in the decor, they really knocked it out of the park with the design here. Double glazed windows to keep out the street noise and a terrific location make this an excellent choice if you are looking to stay on the Right Bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor- the views are terrific and since it is a very busy area, the higher floors wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien A, Propriétaire at Hotel Emile, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Mas94,

Thank you for sharing your great stay at Hotel Emile. It's always a pleasure for us to make you enjoy Paris. See you soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Emile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emile

Address: 2, Rue Malher | Marais, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#594 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emile 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Emile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevigne Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.