We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Prince Eugene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Prince Eugene to your Saves list
Hotel du Prince Eugene
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   247 Boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #100 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The room was small, but I understand this is more or less expected for hotels in Paris so was not expecting a lot of space. It was perfectly good for our stay, and besides, with so much to see in Paris we didn't spend an awful lot of time in our room. The airconditioning was a godsend in the summer heat. The bed was not too hard nor too soft, there were extra pillows in the wardrobe. Although our room faced the main road on the third floor, we weren't disturbed by noise from the outside. The bathroom was bigger than I was expecting, with plenty towels, equipped with hairdryer and soap/ shower gel; it was clean and sleek with a shower but no bath.
We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the breakfast facilities, but there are a number of boulangeries, grocers and cafes close by. There is a little lift, and a safe room where you can leave your luggage after you check out if you have a while before your journey. The staff were really friendly and polite.
Location-wise I was initially worried that it was quite far out from the centre, but the proximity to Nation station is actually brilliant. 4 metro lines and 1 RER line run from the station, so it's probably better connected than many central hotels to get directly to your destination, and no doubt quieter; a metro pass is a good investment.
My only complaint is that the people staying in the next room were not quiet, and I resorted to earplugs on 3 of 4 nights after the volume of their TV woke me up. However, I would say that was more a flaw of inconsiderate guests and not the fault of the hotel.
All in all we were extremely happy with our choice of hotel, and would certainly stay there again should we return to Paris

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeeugene, Propriétaire at Hotel du Prince Eugene, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Aport27,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such this feedback, we appreciate that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Regarding the size of the room, we offer you the possibility of various size (from 11 m2 to 18.50 m2). The next time, you can directly ask at the reception.

As you noticed, it is possible to leave the luggage at the reception without losing one minute before leaving Paris. We will take care of your luggage until you come back from your visit.

It was our pleasure to look after you whilst you stayed with us and I do look forward having you coming back soon. Please let me know of your next visit and I be happy to help with your reservation.

Very best regards

The team of Hotel du Prince Eugène
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    270
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
72
440
25
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed in Eugiene with my partner for 4 nights in July. The rooms are clean, staff really frinedly and helpful, epsecially Julien :) Hotel is located close to the metro station and Nation RER which takes you to Disneyland Paris within 30-40 mins. The area is very quiet and safe. We didn't have breakfast so can't really comment on food but I'm sure it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollegem, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, during our stay we didn't find any flaw in this hotel. A friendly and helpfull staff, good breakfast, rooms of a decent size with climatisation(certainly for Paris), very good cleaning, etc... is what you can expect here. In our opinion, the windows of the room were quite good on keeping most of the noise outside. No problems with the bill and they were happy to keep our luggage in a locked room when we arrived to soon and when we already checked out they also kept it there until that evening. Also, there is a metro station on a 3 minute walk with quite some lines crossing, so it's a good base to plan some trips through Paris.
For us, these were 4 great days to remember and this charming hotel really did it's part in it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was in this hotel in July, accommodation is occasioned by a trip to Disneyland Paris. Location is excellent, very close to the subway station with easy access Nation RER A and the other metro lines. The staff are very friendly, rooms are clean, quiet. I don't eat in this hotel, so do not know how is the food. I recommend this hotel because of price, location, accommodation conditions is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeeugene, Propriétaire at Hotel du Prince Eugene, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear, Kostelbucur

We thank you for taking the time to comment our Hotel du Prince Eugene.

In fact you're right. The location is one of our best point. In 20 minutes, you arrived at Eurodisney through the line RER A at Nation (30 seconds walking from the hotel). It is really easy and practical. Moreover, you can be connected to every point of Paris in 15 minutes maximum with the metro.

Regarding the breakfast, during your next visit in our hotel , you will appreciate our buffet with a selection of french "patisseries" (4 types), delicatessen, Emmental and Edam, Yoghurts (3 types), Fresh fruits juice (3 types), Fresh fruits, Baguette, a selection of marmelade and nutella, muesli, cereals, hot drinks and some new products from october.

From all the team of the Hotel du Prince Eugène, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel and do not hesitate to contact us for any suggestion.

Best regards

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and we found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel has a beautiful contemporary design and appeared to be recently renovated. The majority of the staff spoke English which was also a plus. The room was small but was clean and sufficient for us. The bed was comfortable and there was AC (not typical in Europe). We needed it during our stay since it was almost 100 degrees. We did notice the water temperature in the shower was inconsistent. The other negative was that the parking was not conveniently located by the hotel and was also very expensive. We paid 25 euros per day. It is pretty close to the metro and there are some great restaurants and cafes close by. Subway to all the typical tourist attractions takes about 15-20 minutes. My husband has been in Paris many times prior to this trip and found this to be a great location because it wasn't far from all the places you would want to visit, but it was a relatively quiet and safe feeling area as opposed to the city center where you feel you may be robbed at every corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Prince Eugene for 2 nights on a trip to Paris and Disneyland Paris. The hotel is really nicely presented. We had a twin room and it had two comfortable beds, a modern bathroom, a wall mounted TV and double doors/windows which opened onto the street side which was lovely - it wasn't noisy at all. When we arrived, Julien greeted us on reception and he was very polite, helpful and ensured we knew how to get to our destinations by helping us with maps etc. He couldn't have done more for us.

The hotel is literally, 5 minute walk from Nation train station where you can get the RER and metro from. And the other way, it is 3-4 minute walk to another metro station whereby you can get the metro for 1.70EURO (one-way) and get to Opera which we really liked as a place to shop and eat. There are restaurants on the same street as the hotel but we found they didn't open on the Saturday night (unless it was just the weekend we were there). They were open on Monday for lunch and seemed reasonable.

Breakfast at the Hotel Eugene was good enough for what we paid. There was a selection of pastries, yoghurts, fruit, meat, cheese, bread, cereals and hot drinks. The staff were on hand to get hot drinks and were happy to oblige with any requests we had. The breakfast could be ordered for room service at no cost which was a nice touch. The dining room for breakfast is not huge but it was pleasant, well decorated and we couldn't really fault it for the length of our stay and the money we paid.

Next door to the Hotel is a bakery, butchers and a fromagerie. 30 seconds walk from the hotel is a lovely little cafe/bar with outdoor seating, lovely for an afternoon coffee.

As we were going to Disneyland Paris, we were ideally located to get the RER train from Nation train station (just be aware you need to pay a different rate for the RER trip to Disneyland at the machines, not just a standard metro rail fare). It worked out great because we got back late from Disneyland Paris and it was a short walk back to the hotel. It is located approximately 30 minutes rail journey to Disneyland, but compared to the prices their hotels charge, we much preferred staying here and we could also hop the metro to different parts of Paris.

Overall, for the price we paid, we think the Hotel Eugene is a hit and to be recommended. The staff are really courteous, the rooms nice, clean and well presented. If you think the rooms are small, most hotels in Paris have small rooms so don't expect massive rooms where-ever you stay. Rooms have A/C also.

The hotel is currently 2 star but is going up to 3 stars in September.

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 which seemed high enough to be off the street but not too high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a really nice little hotel; though the room was small like in most Paris hotels the décor and the quality of the finish was not at all like most hotels in Paris -in my experience. Everything is impeccably clean and well made. The room décor was not entirely to my taste but was perfectly acceptable. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom spotless, well equipped, contemporary and most importantly - everything worked. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are cleaned and tidied every day if you so wish. It's as good as a much more expensive hotel in terms of what it offers -albeit in a more compact form. The area is convenient and the métro is nearby. We would happily stay here next time we're in Paris.

We were warned there was a problem with the boiler when we arrived but the inconvenience was minimal. All in all the staff and the hotel helped make our trip a very pleasant one even though the weather was less than ideal. You can't really ask more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Prince Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Prince Eugene

Address: 247 Boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#74 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#88 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#120 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Prince Eugene 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our charming, recently renovated hotel! A short walk from Nation and its train station providing access to numerous metro lines, very close to the Place de la Bastille, the hotel du Prince Eugène enjoys an exceptional location in the heart of the East side of Paris.Fully renovated and sumptuously decorated in a modern baroque style, the hotel's 36 rooms plunge you into a delicate, elegant atmosphere that is an invitation to relax. The refined décor has been subtly combined with modern, practical features guaranteeing you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Prince Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Prince Eugene Hotel
Du Prince Eugene Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Prince Eugene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.