We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, faded, dirty...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence le St. Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residence le St. Germain to your Saves list
Residence le St. Germain
16, rue Boutebrie, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,085 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awful, faded, dirty...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this for a trip with my family. A big mistake. Let's sum up some flaws: there are rooms at the street side, I am willing to believe these are ok. However, we had a room at the back looking at some very small inner courtyard/shaft (no fire escape possibility there by the way), which allows other rooms to look in, very little fresh air, and for some reason a smell of deep fryer fat - probably from the nearby tourist street. Also very very warm, there were fans placed inside, however with the protection lid gone, not great with kids. Also, this is not a hotel, the reception is only manned part of the day. Beds are decent, but kitchenette and whatever bits and pieces of kitchenwear do not invite to cook. Not very clean, an overall assesment of the appartment. So yes, great location but I would never ever book here again. There are many more options in equally great locations. Awful stay, so if you must, get a street side appartment. Or a hotel.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My daughter (16) and I stayed here for a week in October. Room was small but perfect for what we wanted,after all if you go to Paris you don't stay in your room. 5 mins walk to Notre Dame, supermarket round corner, metro station( Cluny La Sorbonne) within 2 mins plus Notre Dame St Michel metro just down the road, lots of little cafes and Hop on Hop off bus orange route stopped round the corner across the road. Checkin was quick and easy. Zac was very helpful with information on where to go and how to get there. We had to check out early on the Monday and he organised a taxi to the airport for us. The studio itself did have a small bathroom but was adequate. Sofa bed that we shared was ok but they could do with new pillows. No aircon but they did have a fan. Kitchen had microwave, two hotplates, small fridge, cooking utensils etc all that you needed. You did have to buy dishcloths, detergent etc but I expected that. The lift was very small but it got you to your studio and we found it quite amusing. Wifi only worked in lobby but there are comfortable lounges to sit and relax. We absolutely loved it here and when we return to Paris will definately book here again. Thankyou Zac :)

Room Tip: Our room was towards the back so quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Recently stayed at this place in Sept 2014. Extremely poor customer service. **** The front desk is not staffed 24 hours. So if you arrive after 7pm, you must use codes to get in the building and to get keys for your room from a safe. The owner conveniently changed the codes and our room assignment the day before our arrival. (We were already traveling and out of the USA). We stood outside for an hour in the middle of the night until the owner could be reached via phone by a neighboring business. The owner made NO attempt to offer a reduction in price, a bottle of wine, free train tickets, etc until I expressed my dissatisfaction of his/her business practices. Second issue - the owner charged my card after he/she was notified by the online reservation company that I would pay in cash (in Euros). The night of my arrival there was a receipt in the room for a charge to my card. Completely unacceptable. ****
Some other things to note: The elevator/lift can barely hold one person and one piece of luggage. We could not connect to WiFi in the building.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I can't say enough how great this place is. Location is central to all the great parts of old Paris. Just blocks from Notre Dame, in the bohemian St Germain/latin district (great food and art district!). The owner/manager was incredibly helpful. We ended up being somewhat high maintenance guests, with a late arrival, transportation needs, etc. Zakyr was so wonderful. He even called and arranged transportation to the airport for us, on his day off! Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room, request a lower floor room, otherwise you will need to sit in the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel and it was fine for one night but no more. A good size room but dated furniture and the bed was a fold out bed. We had a basic kitchen but didn't use it. The internet was difficult to use ( I have never seen such a long password) but once on it was good.There was no safe in the room so nowhere to store valuables.
Limited reception and we were scared to get locked out.
Overall good basic accommodation - not bad for the price but very basic

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great apartment in the best place of Paris. Close to metro station. Close to all the restaurants in latin quarter. The sofa bed is very comfortable to sleep in. The refrigerator was clean and with no noise. Warm water in the shower. The apartment had a good kitchen. The reception was always helpful. From the apartment you can walk to Notre Dame, Louvre and Hotel de Ville.

The only minus is that they had only only english channel the rest of the channels were in french language.

Room Tip: What I understand the rooms who are for two persons are placed pointing to the inner courtyard. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My true rating for this hotel is a 2.5. Excellent location, but otherwise only suitable for those who are accustomed to hostel-like accommodations. Had the reviews here been more accurate, I would have paid the extra $ for a more comfortable hotel, since I was traveling with my parents, not teenagers.

Room Tip: Just say no unless you're under 30, broke, and traveling with friends in that age group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence le St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence le St. Germain

Address: 16, rue Boutebrie, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,085 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence le St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le St. Germain Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence le St. Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.