We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Diana
Save
You added Hotel Diana to your Saves list
73 Rue Saint-Jacques | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My dad and I stayed for a week in this budget hotel. You can walk everywhere from here and the room is clean, upgraded bathrooms, great breakfast for 8 Euros. The staff was all friendly and wonderful to chat with. The owner Theresa was really nice and spoke to my dad and was always friendly and accomodating.
You are a few minutes away from Notre Dame and we even walked to the Louvre and all over the Marais area. There are many locations to get meals at, and walk to Rue Moufetard where there are also food markets. The closest subway stop is the Sorbonne stop.
I highly recommend this hotel for the value, cleanliness and location and friendly staff. The prices everywhere are much more, and you are only there to sleep and shower.
The room was quiet # 15 and you had a few steps to walk to the room.
So enjoy yourself in wonderful Paris!

Room Tip: I had the small room for 2 away from the elevator. It was quiet since we did not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    121
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
31
165
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beersheba, Israel
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After looking for many many hotels in Paris and on the outskirts, I decided to give this hotel a try, since someone I know recommended it here (on Tripadvisor).
This is a 2 star hotel, and that's what you get - but on the good side of the coin.
The location - splendid. In the Latin quarter, near the Notre-dame (10 minutes by foot), the museum of the middle ages (across the street), the Pantheon, and a few important churches, walking distance from the St. Germain area, tons of restaurants, souvenir shops, and even 3 Comics stores around... Nearest subway is about 7 minutes walking with the suitcases.
I thought 110 Euros per night were expensive (relatively to other hotels I've been to in Europe and the US), until I saw the prices of hotels around this area - double and triple as much.
The rooms were always clean, but very small, the way they are in Europe. The bed was a little short for me (1.92 cm) so my feet hanged a little. The room also had a broken window (cracks, not totally gone), and the water gave us a little trouble (as mentioned). I had some trouble sleeping since the hotel is near the Sorbon, and at nights I was woken up by sirens ( there were sirens around there all day long, they couldn't explain me why). To be honest, we were told before we arrived that it can happen.
Breakfast was 8 Euros, pretty basic but satisfactory none the less - pastries, coffee, orange juice, cereals and fruit salad. If you plan a busy day, better save time and order the breakfast (one day in advance), since we found out most restaurants are still closed around 9am.
The room also had a flat screen TV. We never turned it on, as we were too tired, but it looked kinda new.
So, even after the shortcomings I mentioned, I warmly recommend this hotel - location (location, location) friendly staff, clean, cheap breakfast, and relatively cheap.

Room Tip: Room 43 had a broken glass door (on the street side) and an alternating temperature of bath water (n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed in a single room (room 42) for 2 nights in March. Room was small but well equipped with a desk, chair, wardrobe space to hang clothes, safe, suitcase stand, large window which could be opened and TV. Bathroom was recently renovated and very modern and clean. Staff were polite and friendly with very old English. Booking was straightforward. I emailed an enquiry and received a response within 24 hours and then was required to send a confirmation email one week prior to my arrival. Free Wi-fi and luggage storage available. Handy to Notre-Dame metro which is on the line from Charles De Gaulle (ticket cost 9.50 €). Vibrant Latin quarter shops, restaurants, bars and cafes right on your doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

my wife and i stayed at hotel diana for 5 days. it is literally a 5-6 minute walk from the notre dame metro stop (a straight shot on the metro from de gaulle airport, without having to change lines) and right next to the sorbonne. the rooms are very well maintained, large in size as compared to many european hotel rooms, has a nice TV and a nice bathroom. internet works great. we were in room 34, which was secluded at the end of a hallway behind a door that kind of secluded us from the rest of the hotel. staff speak very good english and are incredibly nice and helpful. highly recommend this place without question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my wife. The location is unbeatable for tourist you can walk to many of the popular attractions and the St. Germain neighborhood close by is loaded with a wide variety of cafes and restaurants. The room #14 on the second floor with windows looking out to Rue St. Jacques was on the small side but nicely furnished with a comfortable bed, desk, small tv, couple of chairs and a very clean recently renovated bathroom. The staff were pleasant and available to help with any questions or request. We didn't do the breakfast offered for 8 euros as we wanted to get out an explore different cafes. In summary for the price and location this hotel offers one of the best values in Paris. Any stays longer than a week could get a little hectic with the tight space but for short stays it can't be beat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A small but well-kept hotel staffed by very friendly folks. I've stayed in many hotels in Paris, from two-star to five-star) and this is the best deal by far. Although the rooms are relatively small, they are clean and well kept. The bathroom facilities seem to have been renovated recently. The location is in the very heart of the Left Bank, with conveniently located Metro and RER stations within short walking distance.

I could not find an equivalent hotel in that area for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great place to stay if you are in Paris for a short time. Rooms are small but the location of this place and the great price make it a really good choice. Rooms were clean, very basic. For travellers on a budget who don't intend on spending much time in their hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: 73 Rue Saint-Jacques | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#212 Family Hotel in Paris
#362 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.