We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this amazing little Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Diana
Save
You added Hotel Diana to your Saves list
73 Rue Saint-Jacques | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this amazing little Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week trip to France & Belgium. In Paris, we stayed at the Hotel Diana for 5 nights. Its 2 blocks to the Cluny, less than 10 minute walk to Notre Dame. Fantastic location and hotel. We paid a bit extra for the superior/deluxe room. It was on the top (6th) floor, HUGE bed and huge bathroom with full tub and shower. Our room was recently remodeled, with A/C and a lift and a lovely breakfast including coffee, tea, cereals, yogurts, pastries, french bread ... and the MOST AWESOME croissants (which set the bar for the rest of our trip --- they couldn't be beat).

The Proprietor, Therese, and her staff are amazing. Personable, helpful, go out of their way to accommodate their guests. We arrived during a horrible heat wave... on Sunday August 19 it was 100F. A/C worked but not very well so Therese went out and bought us an electric fan which really helped. On our checkout she gave us a discount for bearing with the terrible heat during our stay (she's planning to install a 2nd A/C unit in that top floor room so it should be better for the next set of travelers). Our room was very quiet and spotlessly clean. Even with one floor (3rd?) undergoing renovations, we never heard any construction noise. King size bed was extremely comfortable and we had extra pillows too.

I cannot praise the Hotel Diana enough. It's truly a fantastic place to stay in a wonderful location. I HIGHLY recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the superior on the top floor (but not during hot weather until they install a 2nd A/C unit!) Am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    129
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
173
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not a pleasant experience overall. The location is good but the rooms are very small & the attitude at the reception was rude ( The rooms will be cleaned but we can't say when with an extremely blank expression!!!!), The air conditioning needs improvement.

Definitely a value for money experience.

Room Tip: It is better to find a better hotel , which may be less centrally located but at least if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were so thrilled about our choice for a hotel in Paris. We really nailed it with this one. The location is absolutely perfect and the rooms are very nicely renovated. I mean, have you ever seen a full shower with tub in Paris?

This is an excellent choice and even more so with the reasonable price. We are a young couple so staying in the Latin Quarter was the perfect option. You are surrounded by great restaurants and nightlife. Plus you have 2 subway lines only a couple blocks away.

The wifi is free and works very well. Breakfast isn't included but you can eat at various cafes down the street for just a few Euros.

You won't regret choosing Hotel Diana!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Highly recommended as a friendly, clean, efficient, good value hotel within walking distance of the central Paris attractions.

I got the RER train direct from CDG Airport to Luxembourg Station and walked from there – although there are closer Metro stations if you didn’t mind changing.

It is also worth having a walk around the Jardins du Luxembourg close to the Station – they are beautifully planted and with a central pond where people were sailing toy boats!

The reception staff were friendly and helpful – providing maps and Wi-Fi instructions. My room was small but fine for me.

Breakfast was a good quality abundant buffet (8 Euros). They seem to check you out when you return to the hotel the night before you leave – so it is more efficient with no morning rush.

I will definitely stay here again when I go to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked based on Tripadvisor reviews and were very happy with our choice. Very clean with brand new bathroom. And with the windows closed, there was very little street noise and the air conditioning unit worked very well and kept us cool in the July heat.
Staff was attentive and friendly. We took the breakfast at 8 Euros each and thought it was a reasonable price - you would have paid at least that at a cafe for the variety of fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt, cereal, croissants and coffee.
Would definitely stay there again as was great location as well.

Room Tip: We were right on front of hotel, but with the windows closed - triple glazing - it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel Diana had all that we required for our stay in Paris: relatively "inexpensive" for Paris, clean room, located about 5 long blocks from Notre Dame, free wifi, AC, close to the busy Latin Quarter, metro, RER. The owner was truly helpful with directions and suggestions. She even walked my husband to a nearby bus stop to insure that he understood how to get to the St. Lazare station. The night clerks were students who enjoyed chatting with us. She gave honest evaluations of restaurants and even her own 8 euro breakfast--saying we could probably find less expensive breakfast spots. Hotel Diana will be our first choice when we return to Paris.

Room Tip: Loved newly renovated room #34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel Diana was excellent. Perfect location, very economical, and kind staff. The hotel is located caddy corner from the Sorbonne, just a block away from the Cluny metro stop and a few blocks from Notre Dame, Le Panteon and Luxembourg Gardens. The price was unbeatable. Our room was clean, with a nice view, and had a comfortable bed. The room is not big, but had ample space to be comfortable. The staff were helpful with everything from booking to restaurant suggestions to orienting ourselves on a map. The wi-fi always worked. Again, an excellent hotel. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: 73 Rue Saint-Jacques | 5 Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#129 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#251 Family Hotel in Paris
#328 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.