We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pratic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pratic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pratic Hotel
9 Rue Dormesson, 75004 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,468 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Value, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here twice in May /June 2012, at first as a single including a tiny but immaculate shower/loo. There is no lift but someone took my bag up to the 5th floor. Service was very friendly and breakfast more than adequate. After 2 days I was moved to the 1st floor. I returned a month later with a friend and had a big room and big shower room on the 6th floor. Once again someone took up the bags. It was great looking over the cute little square below. This hotel is so reasonable and so convenient near the St Paul Metro and not far from Bastille that I would have no hesitation in staying here again. The square has a number of great restaurants and you don't have to eat with traffic rushing past a few metres away which is so often the case in Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room when you make your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    69
    49
    24
    16
See reviews for
14
53
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Our booking averaged EUR100/night for a two night stay booked through a discount website. At this price I don't think you'd find a hotel in a better location.

The hotel is just a stone's throw from St Paul metro on line 1 and within easy walking distance of La Bastille.

If you want a base from which to explore Paris, you will survive, but if you like your creature comforts, or have trouble with stairs then stay away.

Our room was terribly cramped, on the 4th floor (no lift) the bathroom and toilet partioned from the main part of the room allowing little privacy and the 'double' bed we shared was tiny.

Staff were professional but not very welcoming.

I would stay here again but this hotel was definitely more a 'hostel' with none of the pleasure of staying in a hotel so lower your expectations before you go to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Pratic is in a great location in the Marais district. However the hotel itself leaves much to be desired. As others have said, the lack of elevator, small bathrooms etc. are a problem, given the price they charge. Our room had cheap laminate flooring, which will no doubt need to be ripped out in another couple of years, causing more renovation headaches for guests. It's too bad, this hotel has lots of potential, but I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed the second time in the hotel. It's situated in a great part of the city and you can not ask for more for this price especially if your up all day and walk around.
The room and the bathroom are small. If you are overweight it might not be the best hotel to stay - even you would loose some calories walking up to the rooms:-) there is no elevator and if your on 6th floor it's quite a challenge after a nice Bordeau.
Take the rooms with a view - since the street is very calm. The beds are in good shape and it is quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pratic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratic Hotel

Address: 9 Rue Dormesson, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,468 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Pratic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pratic Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.