We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aviatic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aviatic to your Saves list
Hotel Aviatic
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Brezin | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,473 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not the cleanest, newest, fanciest hotels around. But seriously what more do you need!! The guys on the desk will go out of their way to help you, they assisted us with everything we needed. We stayed there 5 times over the past year and was the best value for money we found. Showers had mould in the corners, bed felt like it was at least 20 years old, old carpet but still, the linen was clean, warm comfortable and safe. Will be back in the future to say hello the guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    55
    29
    44
See reviews for
23
74
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Its a one star hotel.

Stayed on the top floor so with no elevator and narrow stair case, expect a tough time hauling a heavy suitcase up 5 flights of stairs.

Otherwise, the room & bathroom was clean. At that price I didn't expect much: bed for the night. There was a kettle with tea in the room. No coffee.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the wall-mounted TV is too small to see well from the bed.

The WIFI does not work on the top floor. There is no aircon (that wasn't an issue when I was there). Otherwise, even with the window open, it was very quiet at night.

Room Tip: No WIFI reception on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Don't do it, Just pass this place right up. The worst two moderately experienced travelers have ever seen. Early April 2013 we stayed in the corner courtyard room. The stains on the walls and ceiling set the tone here. The entire place stank of mold, so much so that we doubted we could even use the room as a place to lay our heads. The black mold in the bathroom was considerable even though it had been painted over multiple times. The shower was broken and you had to sit on your knees to rinse your hair. The shower door came off in my hands. Forget about asking for an extra blanket on a chilly night - He tried to hand me a dirty one - good think I peeked into the laundry room after him.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogla, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

There are at least two hotels with the same name in Paris - how is it possible? Mine decision was to get a hotel for three nights, near to tube station, on metro line 4, near to Montrouge, not too expensive. And, free Internet, of course. All that I got in Hotel Aviatic, Rue Brezin, Paris. I would make the highest rating because a hotel chosen satisfied the most of my wishes.
But, this hotel could be the worst decision for someone who likes not very small room, toilettes where you can sit and move, soap in the bathroom (!), access to Internet on arrival, not dirty towels, normal check out... etc etc...

Room Tip: Rooms from the courtyard are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in a double room for 2 nights in April. Our room was literally falling apart. Only the tv and tea kettle worked fine. The lock on the front door was broken, the pillows had previous guests' hairs, the shower and toilet ran... On the positive side, the guy at reception (when it was open, which isn't very often) was personable and had the door fixed the same day. The location is perfect for escaping this dive: minutes away from the Metro and the bus/train for Orly/CDG.

Room Tip: If you find one, I'd like to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

if your expectations are: standard "camping site at lake": OK

+: good location, once you have the key: independence
-: damp room, moldy pillows, wall paper coming down, thick mold in shower, TV: useless because standing on shelf in height you cannot see the picture(because flat screen), only french program. Booking number, sure name not usable on computer at entrance (should deliver the key). Need good luck that somebody is there to help you! Reception not opened before 9:15, other times: see note on entrance door (wrong information on homepage about receipticheck in times).

Man kann die Bewertung von 2011: feucht, schimmelig, durchgerittene Matratzen etc. beibehalten. Die Besitzer dürfte eine ungünstige Beurteilung unbeindruckt lassen...
Wer die Erwartung sehr niedrig legt und kein Problem mit Schimmel etc. hat: zentrale Lage des Hotels ist positiv. Wichtig: einchecken zwischen 9:30-12 (zumindest wie ich 2013 dort war). Der Computer kennt keinen Familiennamen oder gar eine Buchungsbestätigungsnummer. Ich musste fast "raufen" um - trotz Bestätigung auf meinem Handy und e-mail Bestätigung - eingelassen zu werden.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THE HOTEL AVIATIC. You know a place is bad when they have the phone number of the local pest control posted on the bedroom wall. We are all students and are therefore used to staying in questionable places (I am not picky and would recommend any of the other six places we stayed), but this just seemed plain dangerous. The one good thing I can say about the hotel is that it has a decent location as it is close to a metro station (although most things are in Paris). However, the two rooms we were assigned had black mould that you could SMELL all down the walls. I was honestly afraid of developing some sort of infection during our one night there. The phone did not work, the beadspreads were torn, and the towels had crusty stains on them as well as being damp (it didn't even seem as if they'd been washed). The shower had two bottles of shampoo in it because one was empty; housekeeping had clearly noticed the empty bottle but failed to remove it! The shower had black mould that was even worse than that on the walls and the toilet barely flushed. The bathroom smelled stongly of urine. I saw housekeeping going though in the late afternoon and noticed that they had left a pile of "clean" and folded bedsheets right on the grungy floor of a hallway! We would not have stayed, despite the fact that they had made us pay upfront before seeing the rooms (we soon discovered why!), if we had not been so worn out. As it was, we slept in our clothes and did not dare to shower. To make it even worse, the hotel is not cheap, even before the national tax is added. The man at the front desk looked sad and apologetic as we checked out in the morning. This place deserves to be condemned by safety inspectors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aviatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviatic

Address: 10, rue Brezin | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,473 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aviatic 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aviatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviatic Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aviatic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.