We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent memorial!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)

Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)
17, rue Geoffroy-l'Asnier, 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
+33 (0)1 42 77 44 72
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District
Ranked #17 of 798 Attractions in Paris
Type: History Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent memorial!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We didn't begin our day in Paris knowing we would find this amazing memorial. I'm so glad we did!! Prior to entering the memorial you see the wall of names and quickly realize the impact the Holocaust had in France. It is a very quiet experience where one can examine the past and the future. I highly recommend a visit. It is a short walk from Notre Dame crossing the river.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    62
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“Lest We Forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our visit started with the only security Xray search we had experienced since the airport. I can understand why. Antisemitism is alive and well in the twenty-first century. Sad, but true.

Once inside, you see the large cylindrical drum that has the names of all the concentration camps where Jewish victims of the Holocaust perished. Also near it, is a wall with the names of those who risked their lives to save Jews - The Righteous Among Nations. The most moving part of the shrine complex is the stone wall engraved with the names of 76 000 Jews - 11000 of them children - who were deported from France to the death camps amounting to 25% of the Jewish population of France. An eternal flame burns in the darkened room - a crypt - to the unknown martyr of the Holocaust.

The display area is extremely well planned and implemented in terms of educating visitors. Display boxes with artifacts and documents are attached to booklets providing information in numerous languages. So, too, are several languages represented on wall displays of photographs and scenes, people and incidents - all graphic and moving, as they should be. One little girl, not more than ten years old, is shown in a picture wearing a purple dress with a Star of David patch. The dress is in a box, displayed reverently. A wall of photographs, going on forever, lines the exit hall from the exhibit. The only information that was solely in French was the video, located in sections throughout. There may even have been translation headphones for the video. I am unsure.

This is a thoughtful, artistic informative memorial. I am so glad I went. I will remember.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lost for words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

What am amazing experience and that's even before you visit the actual collection.

I was taken aback reading all the names listed, the crypt made me very emotional (I have no idea why) and the collection was very informative.

A must visit for all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Powerful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Shoah Memorial is a minimalist experience, but it speaks volumes and is quite powerful. Please take your time and honor those that were lost.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very well-done tribute that’s worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a very moving memorial that presents a balanced view of France’s participation in World War II. The permanent exhibit documents both the Vichy government’s collaboration with the Nazis and honors the Righteous Among the Nations, those non-Jews who risked their lives to save others.
A very disturbing reminder that anti-semitism is alive and well is the tight security inside and out of this building. Also troubling to me was the apparent apathy of the current population. I asked several police officers on the nearby streets how to find this admittedly difficult location and they didn’t have a clue. Never heard of it.
The memorial is definitely worth an hour or so of your time in Paris for its sobering look at French history. Admission is free and it’s open late on Thursdays.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial) also viewed

 

Been to Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.