We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an appropriate memorial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)

Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)
17, rue Geoffroy-l'Asnier, 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
+33 (0)1 42 77 44 72
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District
Ranked #21 of 637 Attractions in Paris
Type: History Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“an appropriate memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I visited the Shoah Memorial and found it to be an appropriate memorial to a devastating time in the history of mankind. It was very informative, especially emphasizing the participation of the French govt in the deportation of Jews and later the role of local resistance movements.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    75
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very moving experience, but very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Visiting here was a very moving experience, but at the same very very interesting, lots of photo's and information about World War Two and information that I was never aware off! The writing and information is in English and French! I would visit again as I found it alot to take in, in just one visit! This attraction is free but you can make a contribution and I feel that's it is worth making the contribution! The place was clean and well maintained! The nearest metro station is pont Marie on the pink line and then it's signposted up a small side street! Definetly worth a visit but maybe not for young children as it can be upsetting but interesting!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Time well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My daughter who is 21 and I spent over 2 hours at this memorial. I thought I was we'll acquainted with the holocaust having studied it in high school many years ago but there were so many things I learned.
It was a fantastic education for my daughter as her generation is taught very little about this period in history.
There is quite a lot in English but if you are able to read French then there is so much more to learn with many personal letters and records on display.
This memorial is free to all and I would have happily paid an admission price.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waje
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's a shame they have to have so much security”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a very moving experience and a very informative one as well. It is both a documentation center where historical research goes on and a beautiful museum which can teach the public in an engaging way just how the Holocaust took place and how France herself was affected by it. You do need to go through some serious security just to go in. People who deny the Holocaust need to come to terms with reality, and not try to destroy any evidence that conflicts with their prejudices. For so long as such people exist, though, tight security is called for.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Last week I visited the Memorial de la Shoah for my third or fourth time because I wanted to see the special exhibit, Scenes from the Ghetto. I've been to many Holocaust museums and memorials (Jerusalem, DC, Berlin, Amsterdam, Oświęcim, etc) and I think this one is really well done. You need to visit this museum if you are in Paris.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial) also viewed

 

Been to Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.