We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cecil Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cecil Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cecil Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 rue Beaunier | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,246 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Le Mans, Pays de la Loire, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It was OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed just one night, so maybe I'm not very objective. Very good and clean room, extraordinary silence from the street (windows were on the railway branch, but haven't seen any train). Room on the 3rd floor. But sound isolation inside the hotel is VERY poor - you can hear just every single sound from the other rooms. In the night it was no sounds after midnight (or I didn't hear because of tiredness).
The bed and the bathroom were clean, no problem with furniture. Don't know where the photos of the poor rooms were taken. So I recommend this hotel to spend the night, not to really live there, especially at that price. Metro station "Alésia" in proximity (about 5 min).

Room Tip: Take the rooms with the windows to the rails - no street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
18
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

For our budget it was great. Close to metro friendly English speaking staff. Skipped breakfast which was pricey at €9. Rooms are small functional and pretty clean. Great for Paris on a budget.

Good Cheap food down the road and easy connection to CDG

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

I stayed one night. This was the most dirty hotel I ever stayed in, and they commanded an unbelievable high rate (100 EUR/night!), even though November is out of season.

The floor had stains on it. The walls had stains on them. The remote control of the TV set was filthy. There was no soap in the water tub. The bathroom was dark and unpleasant. You can hear every noise made by other guests on the same floor. Rooms are tiny and not isolated at all. I felt robbed.

Internet connection barely worked. No VOIP calls were possible.

Staff was highly impolite. When I was leaving the hotel early morning, the reception guy was sleeping on a couch covered with a blanket. When he heard me, he had not even stood up - just mumbled that I should leave the key on the counter, and continued to sleep!

Will never ever possibly come back there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights over the Christmas holiday. We are American's living in London and we traveled to Paris with our 4 children. We booked 2 of the "triple rooms".

Good: Hotel was clean. Staff were nice.

Bad: Beds were very hard and short. Although, we are getting used to the European size of the beds and extra small rooms, we still don't like sleeping on mattresses that feel like concrete. Walls were thin - we could hear our neighbors and I am sure they could hear us. The room was hot - apparently the furnace was broken and they had been unable to find someone to repair it. So, we had to sleep with the window open - which made ALL the noise from the NOISY street come through our window.

Couldn't really complain to any of the staff as they spoke no english. The owner spoke english but we only say him the very first night. Would not stay here again.

  • Liked — cost
  • Disliked — beds and noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

Please be sure not to mix this with the other Cecil Hotel!

This is the one on Rue Beaunier... Near Porte d'Orleans (Very close to metro line 4 - end of the line) - 2 minutes maximum on foot to Hotel.

If you traveled by Eurostar, as we did, Gare du Nord is also on line 4 very convenient.

The location couldn't be better... quiet, safe, "family friendly" area, near shops, cafe's, restaurants, and a wonderful huge park - parc Montsouris.

With the excellent, arguably, the worlds most efficient metro right there, traveling to "the attractions" is very easy.

The Hotel staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, on arrival they quickly sorted out the mess created by our booking with "lastminute.com" and provided us exactly what we needed. (Avoid lastminute.com their "special" rate was more than the Hotel would have charged if we had booked directly)

The rooms whilst a little small - although typical for Paris- were clean and tidy. The beds comfortable and the rooms attractively decorated.

The room rate was neither cheap nor expensive - just right! I am surprised that they only have a two star rating!

I really can't think of anything that could have been better... we will definitely return, if they have availability, next time we are in Paris!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

This hotel is in the 14th arrondissement of Paris, which is some distance from the big tourist attractions. An advantage if you want to avoid the crowds and high prices of the city's centre.

It is close to a Metro underground station (Porte d'Orleans) and major bus routes.

When we stayed, the hotel was pretty clean and had friendly staff. It is close to plenty of bistros, boulangeries, shops, etc.

The rooms, as in many of Paris's hotels, are very small. Unusually for France, it is a non-smoking throughout.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil Hotel

Address: 47 rue Beaunier | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,246 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cecil Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Cecil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecil Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.