We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky with lots of quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Petit Moulin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Petit Moulin to your Saves list
Hotel du Petit Moulin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29/31 Rue de Poitou, 75003 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quirky with lots of quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and it was full of interesting touches which you never find in larger hotels. Rooms are large and individually themed and offer all required amenities. It is perfectly located in the Marais, one of the more interesting areas of Paris and the staff were efficient and friendly but unobtrusive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Assistant Manager at Hotel du Petit Moulin, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Alan P,

Thank you for your comment and your stay with us last year. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed it and would be more than happy to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, LK – Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    78
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
181
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Location: This hotel is on a more quite side street yet very centrally located in Le Marais. It's quite enough to get lots of sleep but within a short walking distance of lots of shopping, cafes, and restaurants. This area has gotten quite a bit more touristy the past couple times, but if you are looking for an area much less touristy the Pigalle/Moulin Rouge area but where there are still many English speakers, this might be for you. Bedroom: The bedroom and bathroom are very spacious for a Paris hotel, and if lots of space is very important to you, consider this hotel. I really think it's a stretch to say that the rooms are decorated by Christian LaCroix. Decor: The decor is quirky but mainstream--no luxurious fabrics or details, in fact, the decor looked rather cheap, although this seems to be a selling point of the hotel. The walls could use a fresh coat of paint. The chartreuse shag/frieze carpeting was ugly and looked like it should be replaced, and there was a really ugly piece of brown faux fur used as a decorative piece for the bed. The canvases above the bed and as a shutter were interesting details. The bathroom was also very large and much more private than other hotels. The heated towel rack was nice and the products are Hermes, which are nice, but only consisted of shampoo, body wash, and lotion--no conditioner. The lobby was nicely decorated with lots of orchids and the bar looked nice as well. The service in the hotel at the front desk was excellent, we never tried the food or room service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Assistant Manager at Hotel du Petit Moulin, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Deirdre W,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Petit Moulin.
We took good note of all your remarks and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the size of the rooms, the location and the service provided by our staff.

Thank you once again for your recent stay with us.
Kind Regards, LK - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fantastic hotel, beautiful, quirky design, good sized rooms. Well maintained, attention to detail in every regard. The local area is brilliant and accessible to everything. Hermes body products in the bathrooms!! Lots of little details. Quiet street too.

Room Tip: Each room is different but the size of the rooms are big compared to the average in Paris. Great si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Assistant Manager at Hotel du Petit Moulin, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear MrsAus,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are so happy that your enjoyed the quirky design and all the little details that are making our hotel very special.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards, LK - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

huge rooms, awesome beds, great vibe.
location is about the only hitch, couple of stops
on train & about $4 euro more in taxis but the hotel
makes up for it!
great cafes & shopping just around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Assistant Manager at Hotel du Petit Moulin, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Samantha K,

We would like to thank you for having choosen our hotel and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the vibes and unique decor of our property.

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Kind Regards, LK - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I think this hotel is as close to getting a real Paris experience as you can get without renting your own apartment. I agree with the comments of all the other posters. If you're a shopper, the neighborhood is shopping central if you want more than just the upmarket chain stores. The staff was very helpful, confirming both dinner reservations they made at our request prior to our stay and those we made ourselves online from the States. If you prefer to have your morning coffee in the neighborhood, rather than at the hotel, we had found online, again prior to our stay, that a branch of Poilane, the famous boulangerie, is a block away with their own little ultra modern restaurant next door where you can order a basket of their "best of Paris" bread and some of the best croissants you'll find in Paris, top quality butter and preserves, just pressed orange juice and a gigantic bowl of coffee for 10 euros, service compris. Or, you can go to the Rose Bakery, even closer to the hotel if you ever tire of French bread and want an organic scone served by generation Y hippies. But, back to the hotel. Yes, the rooms are small and you will have to be creative in finding places to store all your clothes if you are traveling for more than a few days. But, the winning staff and unique atmosphere more than makeup for that minor inconvenience. BTW, some of the staff speak English better than others, so that may be why some previous posters have interpreted some staff as not being quite as helpful. This is Paris, not London, and it's not a corporate chain, so we did not expect that everyone would speak perfect English. And finally, there are closer Metro stops than Hotel de Ville. The closest is a five minute walk or less, if you stop yourself from window shopping.

Room Tip: If you like privacy, avoid the ground floor room behind reception. While some posters have said the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Assistant Manager at Hotel du Petit Moulin, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear middleagefoodie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay in our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you had an overall good experience in our property, and that you did enjoyed the room, the location of the hotel and the staff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards, LK - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is all that is expected of it. It is fun, quirky,and well positioned in the Marais area.
We spent 5 days here in room 205. The room was very comfortable with great Hermes products in the bathroom. There was nice cupboard space and the room was well lit. It was down a flight of stairs from the landing on the 2 floor and therefore not a room for anyone with walking difficulties.
It was as described, very different with red wall paper and patterned carpeting, quite busy.
The beds and pillows are very comfortable and the room was clean. There is only a bath and a hand shower. We missed having a shower. Coming from a country where water is scarce, we are used to only showering.
The breakfast is super fresh and delicious. Freshly cut up fruit, cereals, good coffee, and bread and croissants. Just perfect.
All the staff at the desk and the dining room were very friendly and super helpful. The metro is very nearby and there are lots of Jewish sites, holocaust rememberence memorials, a wonderful museum in the area. the position of the hotel is exerlent.
We had'nt been to Paris for 20 years and we had a great time. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Assistant Manager at Hotel du Petit Moulin, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear luckyducky16,

We thank you very much for your nice review and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards, LK - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here a while back but it was a wonderful experience. Great location and just a beautiful little hotel to stay in. Each room is unique. There were 3 of us in a deluxe room and we were perfectly comfortable. Just be sure when you're requesting a cot for a third person to specify its an adult. They assumed we wanted a baby cot which was hilarious when we got there and quickly resolved. I will certainly stay here next time I'm in Paris!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim g, Assistant Manager at Hotel du Petit Moulin, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Erinmh10,

Thank you for your review of your last year stay.
And again sorry for the confusion about the "cot", as by the english standards a "cot" is a little bed for a baby; i am happy to hear that the issue was solved quickly!
Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon again at Hôtel du Petit Moulin,
Kind Regards, LK - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Petit Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Moulin

Address: 29/31 Rue de Poitou, 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#187 Business Hotel in Paris
#270 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Moulin 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Petit Moulin is an authentic residence, decorated throughout by Christian Lacroix. With its location in the Haut Marais district, guests will discover a host of treasures. This renowned 4-star boutique hotel gives guests the chance to discover each luxury room and suite's unique charm and character, each one more surprising than the last. The Hotel du Petit Moulin has 16 rooms and one Junior Suite The rooms and suites at the Hotel du Petit Moulin in Paris, each one decorated in different style, all have their own particular colour scheme and character. They are all decorated in a stylish, modern, bold, yet harmonious, style, where every tiny detail corresponds exactly to each room's unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Petit Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Moulin Paris
Du Petit Moulin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Petit Moulin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.