We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabriel Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gabriel Paris to your Saves list
Hotel Gabriel Paris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 rue du Grand Prieure, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gabriel Paris Marais) (République)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€119 (EUR)
Ranked #414 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Sevenoaks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Staff are extremely helpful, room the best we have stayed in in Paris..
Even more wonderful is the restaurant The Pharmacie a few steps away with the most amazing food, lovely ambiance, and not expensive.
Would I revisit.. Absolutely both the hotel and restaurant are fabulous!

Room Tip: Sorry but the don't have a pool.. Can't undo the tick boxes! Even so we had a very lovely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel G, Responsable réception at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for recommending us and for your good comments.

We are happy to read that you loved our rooms and we will look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours

Sara SILVA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    160
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
30
222
55
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

...by the boutique label attached to this place. You will get a pretty basic level of service here, including sporadic refills of the amenities, no-frills breakfast menu, and a persistent 'no' to pretty much any kind of request to the front desk. Would have given it a three star rating were it not for the double charge they've managed to successfully apply to my credit card.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel G, Responsable réception at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions and for writing a comment after your stay at Hotel Gabriel Paris.

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience, especially as our staff is always eager to assist our guests with their various requests.

We suggest that you contact us directly to book your next stay and to be able to enjoy the real Gabriel Experience.

Kind regards,

Julien Bouston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When bookng this hotel I could not wait to stay, it was easy to find and was in a very quiet side street, upon check in we found out we had been upgraded to an executive suite which was very impressive, it was small but for a city it was all you could wish for, very comfortable clean with everything you would need, the brekfast is delicious and set you up for the rest of the day, the one thing i cannot praise enough was the staff who were so friendly and helpful. its so close to a metro which goes to all the main sites and there are so many cafes close by, i recommend indiana cafe and tavern karlsbrau (their mojito's are evil). i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliengabriel, Responsable réception at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for all the nice things you wrote about us and for recommending Hotel Gabriel Paris !

We always do our utmost to make the stays of our guests as enjoyable as possible, and we are always eager to help or offer our assistance.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Julien Bouston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I rarely write reviews but I wanted to share my experience at Hôtel Gabriel Paris Marais from Dec. 27/2012. I stayed there because the hotels I usually stay at were all booked. It is a little out of the way but that turned out to be one of the best things about it. The hotel is quiet, modern and very clean with large rooms. Breakfast included and until 11AM. Within a 2 block area there is a bakery, grocery store (open till 11PM) florist, bread shop, wine shop and a fabulous restaurant, La Pharmacie that was delicious. It is between Metro stops Oberkampf and Republic. Lots of Velib bicycles. It is a nice neighborhood place. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliengabriel, Responsable réception at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good comments and rating.

We are delighted to hear that Hotel Gabriel Paris was a good surprise to you and that you fully enjoyed your experience !

We look forward to welcoming you another time soon.

Kind regards,
Julien Bouston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had been to this hotel last fall. I was expecting something different from photos as I usually face when I select hotels online... But this hotel was looking as amazing as it is presented in the photos. Minimal modern design makes you feel comfortable and relaxed. I did not have anything in restaurant or bar but I liked my stay in hotel. My room was smelling nice, comfy bed and nice lit. The area is in the heart of town so you can get to Republic train station in minutes. The only drawback was that the room was small and hotel was not that big as you usually expect four or five star hotels but to me it was fine...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliengabriel, Responsable réception at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to share your impressions after your stayed at Hotel Gabriel Paris.

We were delighted to welcome you and thank you for your good rating !

As we offer diffrerent room categories and sizes, please feel free to contact us to have the most accurate advice about which room would best suit your needs for your next booking.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon !

Kind regards,
Julien Bouston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

So let's be clear about this hotel. The experience you have will depend on your expectations. If you haven't paid a lot of money for the room, you just need a place to sleep, you don't care about being far from the action then this is a pretty good deal. If you think you've found a chic, design hotel that's just waiting to be discovered, i believe you'll be happier elsewhere.

First, forget the Marais in the name. This is nowhere near the Marais. It's at least a 15 minute walk. Second, make sure you ask someone what size the room is, because they can be almost illegally small. Mine was so small that i had attacks of vertigo and claustrophobia - neither have ever happened to me - and was about to pay 259 euro (on top of what ihad paid) to go to the hotel across the street when they decided to give me the handicap room on the main floor practically in the dining room (for a supplement). I was able to transfer my stuff after waiting for 15 minutes for the elevator fron the first floor. The housekeeper kept going up and down from different floors and shrugging her shoulders at me. Also please note if you are handicapped this room has no hairdryer, no hangers, no alarm clock, and one shower will flood the room for the rest of your stay. The bathrooms in all of ghe rooms have a flat shower tile so water leaks out into the bathroom and you end up having to 

Is the hotel all new? Yes. Is it clean? Yes. Does it have a good design aesthetic? Yes. Is breakfast included? Yes. Are the rooms cheap? I hope so, otherwise not worth it. Are these rooms accurately portrayed on the site? Not so much. If you're looking for a relaxing hotel in Paris for your vacation, I would suggest you go elsewhere. If you're looking for a good budget solution and your alternative was a hostel, this is a good choice. 

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliengabriel, Responsable réception at Hotel Gabriel Paris, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to write a comment after staying with us.

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Hotel Gabriel Paris.

The details about our rooms – including their sizes - are available on our website and the websites of our distribution partners alike. However, as we understood your disappointment, we did our best to offer another room. Since we were fully booked during your stay, we could only offer the room on the main floor with an extra cost because it’s in another category than the room you had booked. You decided to move and pay this extra cost after you saw the room.

We are also sorry to hear that the lift was not available at the moment you needed it. Please note that Reception is available 24/7. Our team is always eager to assist our guests with their requests. Had you contacted us about it, we would have been delighted to arrange immediate assistance with your luggage.

Finally and should you reconsider your position, we will be delighted to welcome you again soon so that you will be able to enjoy a real Gabriel experience.

Kind regards,
Julien Bouston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Yes this hotel is styled or stylish if you want and honestly I liked it but I didn't love it, it was too "clinic" for me.
What I loved was the neighbourhood full of cafes and restaurants and shops, it was close to the subway (in Paris this is easy) and the staff was polite and helpful.
The breakfast was nice, all organic, but I'm not crazy about organic food.
I didn't choose the hotel, my husband did and we had a great stay, the hotel is quite good but it's not my style.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gabriel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriel Paris

Address: 25 rue du Grand Prieure, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gabriel Paris Marais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 23rd March, 2009, this new design hotel with a detox concept, near Place de la République, hotel with AC, lcd,shower. All rooms are white for a zen experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gabriel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabriel Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.