We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly, nick wants to give it 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fred Hotel to your Saves list
Fred Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
nr Hexham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly, nick wants to give it 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Montparnasse gives you a feeling of being in a real part of Paris. This hotel is excellent value, friendly, very conveniently placed and has some great restaurants nearby. We liked the staff and the fireplace, but we do wonder why you'd want to set the shower so it's not high enough to stand up under. There is a hair drier but it's a bit feeble. Lovely coffee machine in the room. Quiet at night, would definitely come again, but would bring my own hair drier.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotelparis, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Bendangus,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor! It is a great honour to see that a very frequent traveller like you enjoyed Fred Hotel and his services. Thank you as well for complimenting our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for all of them.

I am however concerned by your constructive remarks regarding the height of the hand shower and the quality of the hairdryer. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, they will help us to improve our quality to the level you would expect from our hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Looking forward to that occasion,
Yours sincerely,
Tissa Bamunu
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    189
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
78
214
23
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A great hotel and fantastic value for money.

Everything clean, well located and the staff so friendly - Especially the cheery guy who worked most evening we were there (didn't grab his name) but he was fantastic. Made as laugh so much and couldn't have been more helpful.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear RaraMogs,

What a pleasure to read that you had such a wonderful time in Paris while staying with us during the holidays. We really appreciate you for taking the time to publish this review.

We won’t hesitate to communicate your lovely comments to our staff, which will be thrilled.

Please feel free to navigate on our website to find the best available rates for your next visit!

We look forward to greet you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Good and quiet location, friendly staff, excellent price.
Rooms were renewed and clean.
The shower was inconvenient, and sometimes there wasn't enough hot water.
Sometimes you could hear talk from other room, but basically we weren't bothered.
Breakfast we didn't try, usually we took a metro to Montparnasse where there's lots of nice restaurants and creperies.
Would definitely come again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotelparis, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Haba8,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay at Fred Hotel on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were generally satisfied with our services and the staff and that you want to come back again!

I am however very concerned by your constructive remarks regarding the technical issues in the room. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, they will help us to improve our quality to the level you would expect from our hotel.

Next time we hope that you will enjoy our breakfast. Breakfast is a buffet with fresh and organic products sourced from the best local shops.

We all look forward to welcoming you again
Sincerely,
Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a very good stay at this hotel for a business trip of two nights. Rooms are small, but very clean and neat. Excellent choice, as the business meetings weren't far and this area of Montparnasse is nice. Amazingly quiet, even though in the heart of Paris and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Loveld the fireplace in the little lobby as I am always cold.

Room Tip: All rooms are small - which is typical for Paris, but not recommendable for long stays, especially i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Simone W,

We appreciate for taking the time to publish this lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy you had such a great stay with us.

Our staff is thrilled to hear you were pleased with our services and our amenities. Please don’t hesitate to check our website to have the best available rates.

We hope to welcome you in your next trip to Paris,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for Christmas holiday.

Everything was wonderful!!!!

The staff, the rooms ( both of us have stayed at other places in Paris and we both agreed it was one of the best small boutique hotels we have been to!), the location (quite and safe if you are traveling alone). Our room was big and modern.

Located next to a metro stop and the neighborhood offers many small shops and cafés. The salon in the hotel offers wine and breakfast which one staff member accommodated me before it was ready when I was in need of an early cup of coffee

We had such a wonderful stay I took a bunch of business cards and am displaying on our counter at work! Thank you for making our stay special!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Dumbbunny,

We thank you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. We are thrilled that you had lovely holidays in Paris.

Our staff is glad to know they achieve their goal on making our guests feel special and pleased during their entire stay. Please feel free to check the best deals on our website for your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night. The rooms are small but very comfortable and stylish, boutique style. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Decent breakfast but not that cheap. Free WiFi helps.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotelparis, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Martin H,

It is such a pleasure to start the day with your nice return of your stay with us at Fred Hotel.

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us! It is a great honour to see that a very frequent traveller like you enjoyed our hotel and services. Thank you as well for complimenting our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for all of them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Looking forward to that occasion,
Yours sincerely,
Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and 14 year old daughter recently visited the Fred hotel over Thanksgiving break. The location, room, fantastic staff and yummy breakfast made our stay fantastic. Unfortunately during our trip my husband was robbed by pick pockets on the metro and his passport was lost. The staff at The Fred jumped to action, helping us in any way that they could. I highly recommend this hotel. One final word of caution, if you are taking the metro to get around be sure your passport is left in the hotel safe and retain your metro tickets until you are out of the metro and on the road. It is required if metro police stop you to show your entrance ticket ( we didn't know and threw them away) and were fined. You could be fined 45 Euros per person!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotelparis, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Tina K,

We hope that you had a save flight back. What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services at Fred Hotel and I thank you very much in behalf of the entire team for leaving these comments on Tripadvisor ! We felt so sorry for you and your family that you husband was robbed by pickpockets on the metro during your stay in Paris. It's indeed better to leave your papers in your personal safe box in your room. We were really happy to help you to solve the problem.

The satisfaction of every individual guest is very important to us and we are thrilled that we achieved this goal.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you on a future occasion!
Kind regards from Paris.
Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fred Hotel

Address: 11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Paris
#147 Family Hotel in Paris
#288 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fred Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fred Hotel is a warm and intimate 3-star boutique hotel with elegant and contemporary style. Fred Hotel is located in the heart of the 14th arrondissement, a neighbourhood which has kept its lively, welcoming stores and village-like atmosphere, close to Gare Montparnasse and Porte de Versailles. The cosy feel of Fred Hotel starts at the lobby with its Jean Prouve and Charles § Ray Eames furniture, its huge contemporary fireplace and its bookshelf generously filled with works of art and novels. Our multilingual team will personally welcome you, taking utmost care to anticipate your needs and ensure you have a very pleasant stay. Public transport (metro line 13) leads you directly to the heart of Paris to visit the main tourist sites or for your business appointments. The 36 rooms, including 2 designed to accommodate guests with reduced mobility, are equipped with custom furnishings, quality materials and high-tech devices including a flat screen television, reversible air conditioning, free WIFI access and a safe with power outlet. Original lithographs give a personal and unique touch to each room! A charming terrace offers a peaceful haven to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fred Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.