We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful affordable botique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fred Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fred Hotel to your Saves list
Fred Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful affordable botique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our family (including two teen-agers) loved our experience here. It is a "real" Paris neighborhood with plenty of Parisians going about their daily lives....not at all overrun by tourists. Staff was courteous and attentive, and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Plenty of affordable restaurants nearby, and a 10-20 minute metro ride from the main attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear David R,

We thank you very much for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy that your stay at Fred Hotel was one of a kind.

Our staff will be thrilled to know your satisfaction and we’ll make sure they’ll receive your compliments.

Hope to see you soon at Fred Hotel,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    188
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
78
213
23
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

its just really good really.
Boutique hotel I think is the official line - but in all honesty they do their own thing and they do it very well.
Do not expect huge rooms - if you are going on holiday to spend time in a hotel don't choose this one - try a cruise instead maybe, or just stay at home.

The Quartier is not mega touristy - which for us gives a more calming influence on a holiday if you want to immerse yourself in the whole experience. Maybe a few tramps in the local area but a much higher caliber of tramp than other places who also quietly keep themselves to themselves. No issues with walking around at night.
Back to the hotel; & Staff could not be faulted for helpfulness and attentiveness. Room was very clean (yes small - we got that bit), and we certainly were not bothered by any guest noise from adjacent rooms during our stay.
There is an argument the breakfasts are a bit of a rip-off - but in all fairness it is all you can eat & there is a good selection to choose from. We definitely spent more per person for far inferior food grabbing a bite to eat away from the hotel on a couple of mornings.

Downsides: it is a bit tight in the restaurant when busy.
There were a handful of minor maintenance issues in the room - broken towel rail, wobbly tap, but nothing that affected our stay. When we mentioned these items they were noted with polite sincerity & assurances that they would be dealt with. No looking down the nose or smarmy remarks.

Value for money cannot be faulted. its not the Ritz but then your not paying Ritz prices. Beds comfy and offer a good nights sleep - might need to ask for an extra pillow or two depending on your preference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Wigarse,

What a pleasure to read that your expectations were met at the Fred Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to post this very detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We’ll for sure transmit all your comments to our staff, who is always trying to please the best way possible to our guests.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit in Paris,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

First, I would say read the review by 'TheRossman' (a couple of reviews down) - it is spot on. This is a lovely hotel and I would stay here again but if you like your bedroom to be spacious, I would look elsewhere - particularly in regard to the shower - I am 5ft 7in tall, medium build (ho!ho!) and it was cosy in there. The major plus point for me is the staff. My wife had her handbag stolen one evening and after having no luck at the police station we arrived back at the hotel feeling rather dispirited. The gentleman at the front desk was kindness personified and I can't thank him enough. One further suggestion - if you are having breakfast at the hotel, treat it as if you are at home. The breakfast staff flit in and out so you may be left to your own devices somewhat. This is not a criticism just an observation. Considering this is Paris, the continental breakfast (if you want a cooked breakfast look elsewhere) was good value at 12 euros.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Christopher C,

We appreciate for taking the time to publish your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great stay with us despite the big cities inconveniences.

Our staff will be delighted to hear your satisfaction with their service and we’ll transmit to them your lovely compliments.

Looking forward to see you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week, a family of three people. The room was clean tidy but quite small. Breakfast was excellent but be warned at 8.30 onwards there were a lot of people so sometimes we had to come back later on. The staff were very friendly and even though the location was in the 14th arroindessment the metro was 5 mins away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Julie W

We appreciate the time you took to post your experience at Fred Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

Our staff will be glad to hear your satisfaction with their service and their input.

We hope to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. It was a little out of the way but Metro was very close and simple to use. We had a very nice modern room with a pull out sleeper for our 20 yr. daughter. Very comfy beds and the shower was great. It could use some hooks or storage in the bathroom, but otherwise no complaints. The staff was very accommodating and we loved the quietness of the community it was in. Would stay here again if we make it back to Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Angie238,

Thank you for taking the time to publish this review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you had such a great stay at Fred Hotel while visiting Paris.

We won’t hesitate to transmit your satisfaction to our staff.

Hoping to see you at Fred Hotel,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this nice and quiet hotel in close vicinity of the centre of Paris. Located very close to the Metro in an area where there are plenty of nice restaurants, café's on a smaller side road, it is a nice and affordable place to spend few nights.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with AC (which was needed during late July beginning of August in Paris).
We can easily recommend this place as a starting point if you're interested in exploring the lovely city of Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear mchs69,

We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing time in Paris while staying with us. We really appreciate for taking the time to publish your experience on TripAdvisor.

We’ll make sure to transmit your lovely comments to the staff that’ll be glad to hear they achieved once again their goal on customer service.

Hoping to see you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife decided to stay here after doing extensive research and I wasn't let down. The rooms were small, but due to their design, you wanted for nothing. The beds were extremely comfortable (I did want to bring the mattress home). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and also enjoyed teaching my 6 yr old daughter bits of French. The hotel is situated extremely close to two metro stations and you can be in central Paris in 20 mins. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear andyhall303,

We thank you for taking the time post a review on TripAdvisor. We’re glad that you had such a great stay with us.

The staff will be thrilled to hear all your compliments and that they made your experience in Paris one to remember.

We hope to greet you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fred Hotel

Address: 11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Paris
#149 Family Hotel in Paris
#285 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fred Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fred Hotel is a warm and intimate 3-star boutique hotel with elegant and contemporary style. Fred Hotel is located in the heart of the 14th arrondissement, a neighbourhood which has kept its lively, welcoming stores and village-like atmosphere, close to Gare Montparnasse and Porte de Versailles. The cosy feel of Fred Hotel starts at the lobby with its Jean Prouve and Charles § Ray Eames furniture, its huge contemporary fireplace and its bookshelf generously filled with works of art and novels. Our multilingual team will personally welcome you, taking utmost care to anticipate your needs and ensure you have a very pleasant stay. Public transport (metro line 13) leads you directly to the heart of Paris to visit the main tourist sites or for your business appointments. The 36 rooms, including 2 designed to accommodate guests with reduced mobility, are equipped with custom furnishings, quality materials and high-tech devices including a flat screen television, reversible air conditioning, free WIFI access and a safe with power outlet. Original lithographs give a personal and unique touch to each room! A charming terrace offers a peaceful haven to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fred Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.