We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight visit to Paris” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fred Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fred Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fred Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #167 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight visit to Paris”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Quaint hotel in a non-touristy area of Paris. I would recommend only if you are coming for a weekend or if you are travellng solo. We booked a classic room and it is very small. I understand this is Paris and you should expect small rooms but this was really small. We have stayed in some really small rooms in New York and this was by far the smallest room we have stayed in. That being said it is very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable and the rain shower was nice (although you could only move in it enough to shampoo).

The location was ok, but needed a bit of time and at least 1 change of trains to get into the main area of Paris. The neighborhood seemed safe and had some good restaurants in the vicinity. Service was ok, everyone seemed friendly.

Again, I would only recommend if you are traveling solo, only spending a day or two, you pack light or you really love the person you are traveling with.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    113
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
129
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June 2013 and had a wonderful time. The neighborhood is much more residential and quiet, especially if you are looking for a less touristy area. We did not try breakfast, but it looked convenient. The staff were all great and our room was spacious compared to other hotels I have been to in Paris. Free wifi was convenient and our shower was nice and hot with plenty of room to move around and wash. The staff were friendly and easy to communicate with and we had a beautiful time. Metro stops are close by and very convenient.

Room Tip: Less touristy and feels like an "authentic" Parisian neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Brittany P,

We are so happy you had such a wonderful stay with us during your visit in Paris. We thank you for posting and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It’s very important to us that our guests feel comfortable while staying with us. We’ll make sure our staff receives your positives compliments.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Fred is a small, boutique hotel on a very quiet side-street in the Montparnasse area. It's off the regular tourist-beaten paths so shops and restaurants cater to locals. But getting to different Paris sights is a cinch thanks to the excellent Metro system and a conveniently placed station (Pernety) about 2.5 blocks away.
The hotel is decorated in clean, modern lines, the beds are comfortable (more pillows would have been appreciated), and the bathrooms are nicely sized. We had rooms on the top floor and the low beams were occasionlly hazardous to taller or less mindful inhabitants, but the skylights served as a natural alarm clock. A great European (cereal, croissant, dried and fresh fruits, ham and salami, boiled eggs, fruit juice and of course excellent coffee) serve yourself breakfast is available in a small dining room till 10:30 each morning for 12 € / head. There is a receptionist present all day and night and all except one tried to be very helpful. We enjoyed out stay and can heartily endorse the hotel to those who want a reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, quiet and convenient hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear MEKW1,

We appreciate for taking the time to share your experience in our establishment on TripAdvisor. We’re glad that you had a very good stay and that you were satisfied with our services, location and decoration.

We’ll make sure to transmit your appreciation to our staff, which is happy to meet your demands.

Hoping to greet you again in Fred Hotel,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fred Hotel is conveniently located, close to the metro station. The rooms are small, but very well designed and perfect for travelers who only come back to the room for the night. The breakfast was surprisingly good and the staff very helpful and kind. The staff manning the reception were very cordial and helped with useful suggestions for places to visit nearby. I would definitely recommend Fred Hotel to my friends and would like to stay there on my future visits to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Prashanth C,

We are extremely happy that your stay with us was a perfect one and that you appreciated the location and our property. We thank you for taking the time to post your satisfaction on TripAdvisor.

Our staff will be glad to hear all these lovely compliments because they work every day to please our guests.

We hope to welcome you in your next stay in Paris,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights in June and although the reviews were all good we were surprised even more by how good this hotel is. The staff were all lovely and friendly the hotel was in a really nice part of Montparnase and the hotel was first class having been completely revamped in the last year. The superior room was plenty big enough and was practically brand new and decorated to a very high standard as was the bathroom which had slate tiles and expensive fittings. It was quiet, very well fitted out throughout and we congratulated ourselves on having made a really good choice. Well done Hotel Fred, you deserve 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear jimbrighton,

We are thrilled that you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your trip in Paris and that we exceeded your expectations. We thank you for taking the time to post and share this review on TripAdvisor.

We’ll transmit all your lovely comments to our staff, which will be glad to hear that they made your stay even better.

We hope to welcome you another time,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth. WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Such a lovely hotel, with excellent front desk staff, especially Isauna and Banguali who always helped with a smile. Breakfast was excellent value, highly recommended. Free Wifi. Good access to public transport was a bonus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear GabriellaPerth_WA,

We are thrilled that you had such an amazing time in Paris while staying with us. We appreciate the time you took to publish and share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Our staff will be happy to hear that they have helped you ejnoy your vacations! We'll make sure they receive the message.

Hoping to see you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel itself is great, the staff seem lovely, the services such as free wifi and printing come in handy, the rooms are small but comfortable, the walls are thin and you can hear pretty much everything, I stayed for 5 nights and got to know the area well, and to be honest it's not great, the nearby metro is ok but you're better off walking 10 min to alesia station so you don't have to change lines 3 times to get anywhere decent. And considering the Mrs and I went to Disneyland 3 times we should have stayed near a direct line, because from the hotel it's about 10min walk and 1hr trains. The local food is ok, the stand out Is the supermarkets and the bakeries. But all in all its good for a budget trip and certainly would go again If I wanted that small budget.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fred Hotel

Also Known As:
Fred Hotel Paris
Address: 11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Paris
#62 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fred Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Montparnasse station and the Porte de Versailles, Fred Hotel is located on avenue Villemain, a quiet street in the Plaisance district at the heart of the fourteenth arrondissement which retains its vibrant commercial quarter and villageatmosphere.The hotel offers guests a unique blend of modernity, charm, quirkiness and a relaxed environment.The cosy, welcoming atmosphere is apparent as soon as guests arrive in reception, an attractive space whith an immense contemporary-style fireplace, which also serves as a lounge and breakfast room equipped with a long, banqueting table. The furniture is designed by Prouvé, Eames and the lamps by Design by O.The 36 rooms, including two for persons who are mobility-impaired, have been impeccably interior designed, with specially-commissioned furniture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Fred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.