We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Paris at the Fred Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fred Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fred Hotel to your Saves list
Fred Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Chatham, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Paris at the Fred Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just spent the weekend in Paris after a business trip in Bolougne. The Fred Hotel was a fantastic value for me. The room (Superior) was modern and clean, with an absolutely fantastic overhead "rain" shower. The staff was friendly and attentive and quick to lend a hand or to recommend a Paris restaurant or other destination. A/C was cranking which gave me a nice respite from lightly air-conditioned Paris when I needed it. The location is a little out-of-the-way in the 14th Arrondissement but a quick Metro trip from the Plaisance metro station (3 minute walk from Hotel Fred) has you in the center of Paris within 20 minutes. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Paris.

Room Tip: I've seen complaints from others on Trip Advisor that chose Classic rooms (due to a cramped bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear PhiTauBill,

We appreciate for taking the time to post and share this lovely review on Tripadvisor. We're glad that you had a great weekend with us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and the service. Please note that we'll transmit your review to the rest of our team.

Hoping to greet you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    166
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
75
188
19
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fred hotel is Nice, modern, quiet hotel In Paris. Great staff., the only problem, In my opinion, was the Air conditioning, I Wanted the Air conditioning to cool down my room, but tolher guests Wanted to warm their room, and the hotel can only choose either to cool down or to warm the rooms, the Air conditioner is not indidual, that was by far the only problem In the hotel. It is close to metro, You have restaurants near by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear flavioedreira,

We appreciate for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you had a lovely stay with us.

Our team will be glad to here that once again we have achieve the goal of making the stay of our guests a great one.

Hoping to greet you in the future,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice place although a bit out o the way from most things. It was clean although shower was a bit of a nightmare where it had no door and sprayed water all over the toilet. Air conditioning didn't work so had to leave the window open all night which in the morning was very noisy to have left open. Staff were very friendly. Overall not too bad for a budget, clean stay in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Bverstak,

We appreciate the time you took to post a review about our establishement. We are happy you had a nice stay with us during your visit in Paris.

We thank you a lot about your observations about the bathroom and the Air Conditionning. Please note that this issues have been addressed to our technical staff. Unfortunately our Air Conditionning system is centralized.

Hoping to welcome you again,

Kind regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Can't say anything bad. It a was a clean comfortable room. staff was attentive and helpful. Small rooms, but not by European standards. A bit out of the way. Metro is close by. but to get to the heart of Paris. you have to switch lines. about a 45 min metro ride to all the sites. Found some great neighborhood bistros and delicious pastries in the Montparnasse area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear sfltony,

We thank you for taking the time to express you experience with us in Fred Hotel. We're glad that you were satisfy with our establishment and with our services.

We understand that we are in a more residential area than in the real tourist center but we are happy you still could found nice restaurants around the neighborhood.

Hoping we'll greet you again,

Kind regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Fred hotel for 3 days in May. This small hotel is located in a very quiet neighborhood in the 14th arrondissement, near the Plaisance metro station. Our room on the top floor was nicely decorated and well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. We were expecting to have to pay a lot to stay in Paris but were very pleased with the rate we got (145 Euros per night). We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear SedonaMead,

We appreciate for taking the time to express your satisfaction in our establishment. We're thrilled you could have such a wonderful time in Paris.

We'll transmit your lovely comments to our staff, that works every day to make your stay better.

We hope to see you again,

Kind regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This small boutique hotel is modern in decor. Very comfortable and clean.
We were upgraded at no cost when we arrived later in the afternoon.

Great location, you can experience the great shops around: cheese shop, bakery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Manon D,

We thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience in our establishement. We're glad you were satisfied with the product and the surroundings.

We hope to see you again at Fred Hotel,

Kind regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I recently travelled from Moscow to Paris and stayed at the Fred Hotel. The accommodation was fantastic, it was located on a quiet street in the 14eme arrondissement 5 mins walk from the nearest metro. The staff were wonderful, they couldn't have been more helpful, they would even go out and buy extra croissants for us for our breakfast even though we were the last ones down for breakfast! Clean laundry, beautifully decorated room, lovely shower, friendly staff, we would definitely return to this hotel in the future. If you don't mind walking, we could walk to the centre of Paris within 40 minutes leisurely stroll!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sean R,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us in Paris. We appreciate the time you took to let us know your satisfaction.

We would kindly transmit your pleasant stay to our staff, who works everday to make every stay unforgettable.

Hoping we'll have the pleasure to see you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fred Hotel

Address: 11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#178 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#228 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fred Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Montparnasse station and the Porte de Versailles, Fred Hotel is located on avenue Villemain, a quiet street in the Plaisance district at the heart of the fourteenth arrondissement which retains its vibrant commercial quarter and villageatmosphere.The hotel offers guests a unique blend of modernity, charm, quirkiness and a relaxed environment.The cosy, welcoming atmosphere is apparent as soon as guests arrive in reception, an attractive space whith an immense contemporary-style fireplace, which also serves as a lounge and breakfast room equipped with a long, banqueting table. The furniture is designed by Prouve, Eames and the lamps by Design by O.The 36 rooms, including two for persons who are mobility-impaired, have been impeccably interior designed, with specially-commissioned furniture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fred Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.