We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & reasonably strategic location, satisfied!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fred Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fred Hotel to your Saves list
Fred Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean & reasonably strategic location, satisfied!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights here in April & had enjoyed the room & neighborhood thoroughly. Booked through expedia, no probs! Had a superior room & everything in the room worked & the room & bathroom was spotless!there was wifi in the room but the signal was Only strong enough to surf the net at certain corners in the room, thank God we figured that out quickly! Stayed in room 22 which is a second floor & the room has a window that opens out to the street, love the fresh air! Its within 5mins walking distance to metro & paris has really good metro system which helped us to get to all the touristy places during our stay. There is also a self service la lavarie(laundromat) 5mins away, ask reception for direction. No complains, would recommend to others!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear chew o,

We appreciate this lovely review and the time you took to share it with us. It's always a pleasure to hear how our guests spend their stay.

Our staff will be glad to know that they contributed to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Looking forward to greet you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    166
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
75
188
19
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

just got back from Paris and Hotel Fred having stayed there last Thursday to Sunday.It was brilliant,the hotel and very helpful staff could not be faulted and they helped greatly in making our trip one to remember.Half hour walk to Eiffel Tower,metro 2 minutes away to be in city centre in 10minutes.Would go back to this hotel without hesitation and be confident of a great time.Be prepared to walk for miles around Paris as there is so much to see but its all worthwhile.Journey from CDG to Fred not difficult but did take an hour or so

Room Tip: our room was on the 2nd floor facing the street.Could be a little noisy early in the morning but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear david g,

We are extremely happy to hear that you would never forget your stay in Paris. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate your compliments and we'll gladly share it with the rest of the staff.

Looking forward to your next stay,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A well maintained, clean and friendly hotel. Situated close to 2 stations on the same line of Metro and therefore convenient to access the whole of Paris.

Our standard double room was "cosy" and had everything you would have needed. Whenever we engaged with the hotels staff, they were in all ways very helpful and supportive.

Ideally suited for people that are visiting/sight seeing and also for business folk.

Plenty of shops nearby that include some wonderful pattiseries and one of the best restaurants in Paris, Bistrotters....which is not more than 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Martyn G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you liked the area and the hotel.

We will inform our staff that their availability to help, is very appreciated.

Looking forward to greet you again,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This cozy, almost boutique style hotel in Paris is a very good 3 star hotel. Its price is a bit more expensive than other 3 star hotels in the same area but from a quick private research this one seemed to be the most beautiful one, if you fancy a bit style and personality from your 3 star hotel. I would suggest it to solo and business travellers and young couples.
My room was quite small but all the majority of the hotel rooms in Paris are small. It had though a nice terrace which was a lovely suprise! the black, red, grey decoration was quite sensual so I got a bit of Paris feeling. It made my stay nicer.
The room was noisy but again the majority of the hotels in Paris are noisy since the buildings are quite old (you hear the doors closing etc) so I won't even place this into my criteria.
Stuff and the rest as usual. Neutral. nothing amazing - nothing negative.
check in and check out process was easy and quick.
Location good if you will stay mostly in this side of Parils.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear zewa,

We appreciate you comment about the style and the decoration of the hotel. We're happy that you had a lovely stay with us.

We thank you for the time you took to share your experience with us.

Looking forward to hear from you,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel! My boyfriend and I stayed here Tuesday-Friday. It was our first visit to Paris and so we weren't really sure where the hotel was in comparison to any attractions. It was extremely close, 3/4 mins on the metro that was across the road. The trains and metros are the best way to explore the city. We got the RER train and metro from CDG (couple of changes) to Plaisance- the nearest metro, no problem at all.

The hotel was gorgeous, great price we paid. Lovely boutique style, just perfect for a few days. We didn't have the 12 euro breakfast as there are some amazing patisseries on the main street that we grabbed croissants from every morning on the way to the metro. The rooms are very clean an have everything you need, including a small balcony. The staff were extremely friendly and were always happy to help. It was no problem at all to leave our bags there on the final day as we had a late flight.

We ate at a few restaurants on the main street including a AMAZING Chinese half way up the street on the same side. Also, if you're 25 or under have your driving licence or passport with you when you go to museums as you get in for free without queuing at the main ticket area- massive bonus!

Overall we had a fantastic trip and I loved going back to our lovely hotel at the end of a long day walking around the city. We would return to the same hotel without a doubt!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Alexandjames88,

We are glad your first stay in Paris was a perfect one! It's always great to hear how happy our guests are when staying in our establishment.

We thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. Our hard working staff will be happy to hear all the nice compliments you've said about them, we'll make sure they receive the message.

Looking forward for your next reservation,

Best Regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a place!!! amazing, full of style. Try to book the room on the first floor with the small balcony. People at the hotel have an amazing smile, excellent service. I simply loved the hotel... great to be around, excellent to work... Job well done, highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredhotel, Directeur général at Fred Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Thibetian,

Thank you very much for all your lovely compliments. It is a pleasure to our staff to please their guest and make their stays a wonderful experience.

We appreciate the time you took to publish this review and we certainly are thrilled that you had a great time with us in Paris.

Looking forward to greet you,

Best regards,

Tissa Bamunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in early March - we had originally booked to stay in Le Fabe hotel in the same area but they arranged for us to stay at Fred Hotel instead as there was a problem with the room there... We had stayed at Le Fabe before and the two hotels are very similar (quite possibly related in some way!). It is fairly easy to find, close to Le Plaisance metro stop, down a small side street (look for the Monoprix on the corner of the main road!).

The room was small-ish, which is to be expected in Paris, but excellent use is made of the space and the room has everything you could need, including a very comfy bed. The glass walls of the bathroom (misted glass but still quite transparent!) were a little bit of a problem in terms of privacy and my boyfriend found the sink being in the bedroom to be a bit odd (I didn't have a problem with it), but everything is spotlessly clean and the shower is fantastic.

There was a problem locally with the water, it was shut off completely from 8pm until 6am - obviously not the faule of the hotel and they made sure to tell us of it, even reminding us before we headed out for the evening - but I thought that as they were aware of it they could perhaps have provided bottled water in the rooms for handwashing and teethbrushing - they did gladly provide some when we asked so this is a minor gripe really.

Breakfast was complimentary for us due to the move mentioned above, and was nice - breads, pastries, yogurts, fruit, cold meats and a nifty water bath so you could boil your own eggs, as well as a variety of teas, coffees and juices, all served in the downstairs dining room. I'm not sure it is worth the 12 euro charge, though, as you could probably find similar food at lower prices in one of the cafés nearby, but if you'd rather breakfast in the hotel it is good.

For us this was a great location - it looks far on the metro maps but the metro in Paris is so quick, it took me 20 minutes to get there from the Gare du Nord and it's easy to get anywhere else in the city, added to which there are good restaurants (we went to Bistrotters, a two minute walk away, and would highly recommend it), cafés and little local shops to browse in within easy walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel, it's really good value for money and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had the mid-priced room and there wasn't much room to spare - if you like more space maybe go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fred Hotel

Address: 11, avenue Villemain | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Paris
#117 Family Hotel in Paris
#170 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#226 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fred Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Montparnasse station and the Porte de Versailles, Fred Hotel is located on avenue Villemain, a quiet street in the Plaisance district at the heart of the fourteenth arrondissement which retains its vibrant commercial quarter and villageatmosphere.The hotel offers guests a unique blend of modernity, charm, quirkiness and a relaxed environment.The cosy, welcoming atmosphere is apparent as soon as guests arrive in reception, an attractive space whith an immense contemporary-style fireplace, which also serves as a lounge and breakfast room equipped with a long, banqueting table. The furniture is designed by Prouve, Eames and the lamps by Design by O.The 36 rooms, including two for persons who are mobility-impaired, have been impeccably interior designed, with specially-commissioned furniture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fred Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.