We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.k. Hotel; Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Devillas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Devillas to your Saves list
Hotel Devillas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Boulevard Saint Marcel | 5th Arr, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #972 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“O.k. Hotel; Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2005

Just stayed in the Hotel DeVillas for three nights from the end of April to the beginning of May 2005. The location is fabulous; it is in the 5th Arr. near Gare D'Austerlitz and Jardin des Plantes and convenient to two Metro lines (line 5 and line 10) and RER line C.

Our room was on the first level facing the street. The room can be a bit noisy since the Metro runs above ground just across the street from the hotel and Boulevard de L'Hopital can be a busy street. To be fair, my friends and I kept our window open most of the time, so perhaps the window blocks out much of the noise. We're pretty heavy sleepers, so the noise didn't bother us at all.

The room is clean (if small, as are most hotel rooms in Paris), and amenities are very basic. Water pressure in the bathroom was decent, and the water temperature was consistent. Staff was pretty friendly and speak English.

The bottom line is that this is rated a two-star hotel, and it is good for a two-star hotel. If you're trying to save money, this hotel is definitely a very good option.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    98
    56
    22
    15
See reviews for
30
114
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2005

...I was disappointed. Like the other reviewer said, it looked much better on the website. I had read a USAToday review about what a little gem this two star hotel was. I guess I got my hopes up too high. Room was rather beat up and dingy, not at all like the crisp, bright rooms on the website. Although I requested a non-smoking, I could smell cigarette smoke every where, and there were cigarette burns on the toilet! Good location, though.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

The website is much better than in real life. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. However, the rooms were small and the bathroom appeared to be in the process of being renovated with a panel on the tub gone. The towels were also slightly discolored on our check in. The wifi was not free. You have to purchase Orange web access first. The surrounding cafes were nice however and gare d'austerlitz was great for accessing the Metro system.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2005

Hotel Devillas is located in the 5th, very close to Gare de Austerlitz, the Seine, walking distance to the Notre Dame and Marche Mouteffard. The hotel staff is friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable. Non-smoking rooms are available, there is an elevator, Wi-fi access and internet access in the lobby.

The hardwood floors and recently re-done bathrooms are a nice touch. You won't find anything fancy, but this is an inexpensive hotel with easy access to the Metro, Air France bus to CDG and a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Devillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devillas

Address: 4 Boulevard Saint Marcel | 5th Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #972 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devillas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Famous Botanic Garden, a typical Parisian hotel (just renovated) welcomes you.Comfort, Quiet, StyleAll the charm of the Left Bank for your trip in ParisNot far from the Quay de la Seine, the Saint Germain Boulevard, the Mouffetard Quarter, the Bastille Opera, right in front of the Pitie Salpetriere Hospital Center, two steps from the Botanic Garden, and the Universities & Latin quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Devillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devillas Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Devillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.