We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Devillas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Devillas to your Saves list
Hotel Devillas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Boulevard Saint Marcel | 5th Arr, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #973 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

A lovely renovated hotel in a great location just on the edge of the 5th. Transport at the doorstep but I prefer to walk Paris and take taxis on the return. Many good restaurants offering a variety of tastes walking distance to the hotel and we had breakfast at any number of cafes. Travelling with a friend sharing a twin room on the 5th floor with a lovely little balcony overlooking the street. The room is a little small and I store my luggage in the bathroom, but it's not bad considering Paris hotels, comfortable and bright, with fantastic bedding. The windows are double glazed so hardly and train and traffic noise. I would definitely stay again, the staff are warm and welcoming and you would be hard pushed to find a comparable hotel closer to the main action for the same value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    97
    55
    21
    15
See reviews for
29
111
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Checked out on on June 10th and lobby was still under renovation. But this was not a problem since the hallways and rooms have already been completed. Room and Bathroom are small but modern and were clean and comfortable. The AC and free WI-FI worked great! Location is pretty good, lots of restaurants around and a grocery store too. Metro is about 1 block away. I would definitely stay here again. Great Bargain! $130

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main St. are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel was fine. It is undergoing renovations so the lobby and stairwells were both under construction which meant that there was some noise and they were not much to look at. I'm sure it will be very nice when completed. The room were fine. Clean, comfortable and a good size for European standards. Ask for a room in the front and you will have a decent size balcony. The hotel is convenient to most of the sites - we were able to walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go (but some sites, like the Eiffel tower were a LONG walk). The metro was very close and convenient. Overall a good and affordable choice. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room int he front to get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed there as part of our honeymoon trip and enjoyed it. The room was all new and very clean, bigger than the usual 3-stars rooms in Paris. It was a superior room though. The bathroom was very also clean and bright and modern, we loved the shower, but the hair-dryer was a bit out of date. And it was pretty small, some people might find it uncomfortable.
The reception area is still in renovation, but must be over soon as we saw they were working really fast.
The hotel is in a quiet area. We were a little surprised to find out the door is locked with a key after 10p.m. I don't know if it is a rule or something, but we found the door locked each night we came back late. Anyway, the gentlemen at the reception desk came to open very fast so it wasn't unconvenient to us.
Hotel Devillas is very close to the metro station and a bus stops right across the street.
Oh, forget to tell that the bed was one of the best we've ever slept in. It had that kind of mattress that doesn't move when one of those who sleep in it moves, so the other one can't be bothered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The location is good, not quite on the doorstep of the Latin Quarter as it describes but it is easy walking distance to the Zoo, Jardin des Plantes and 2 metro stops. The room was very modern, small but to be expected for a City Hotel. The room was clean and wi-fi signal was good. The tv also had 2 British channels which was a bonus. The Indian across the road is very nice.

Although we had read about the maintenence work we did not realise just how much there was going on. There is no Reception at all, they start at 9am on the dot and are very loud so if you come back to re-charge your batteries it's unlikely you could sleep through it. On our last day we waitied 30 mins for a taxi to the airport as it was raining heavily outside, we had to sit on the floor next to the front door as there is no where else to go. Our luggage was kept in the corridor after we checked out and not in a locked room but was slightly worrying with the amount of workmen coming and going.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Hotel Devilla Paris, France May 8-13

Don't be put off by the construction going on in the lobby or the hint of fresh paint. Hotel Devillas is in a very convenient location on the the Left Bank in the 5th district. Saint Marcel is line with small eateries, patisseries and boulangeries. The stay was very pleasant. The cleaning ladies were too. The rooms are fresh and streamlined- not over the top Parisian art decco.  The rooms with a balcony facing the main street are especially nice if you want to hear the sounds of Paris. If you are looking for quiet, this might not be the place for you as there is a hospital less than a block away, so it's not unusual to hear the emergency vehicles all times of the night and day. If none of the above bothers you, then give Hotel Devillas a try. It's no frills, but clean, modern, and affordable. Don't expect American sized accommodations or a grand hotel entrance, well atleast not during the month of May. When all of the lobby and exterior renovations are complete, this will be a very cozy and inviting boutique hotel 100%.  The hotel offers a very simple breakfast that consists if crossaints, fruit, eggs, juice, tea and coffee, toast and an assortment of jams. It's all self serve and they do need to update the microwave oven and toaster...they look a bit dated and cruddy. I would not spend the extra for breakfast. There are places on every corner to eat. The staff were friendly, no complaints there. There were a few minor issues that occurred during our visit, but I don't think it's a regular event. Since the hotel was undergoing renovations, so we were without power in the late night hours and without hot water one night. Overall, it was clean, safe and affordable. Not the place to stay if you are looking for spa treatments, room service, pools and hot tubs. Also not the place to stay if you are not planning to go out and experience Paris. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a terrace. Floor 3 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkyibiza
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked the hotel for a family visit to Paris to celebrate my 50th birthday. The rooms are tiny and have nowhere to store clothes except a small wardrobe with 4 hangers between 2 people, so you will need to live out of your suitcase, if you can find space for it. The location is OK (tube and RER within 5 mins), but the area is very dead in the evening. The hotel is a building site, the management are extremely rude and unhelpful. There is building work going on throughout the public areas, there is builders waste and dust everywhere. Nothing is finished (rooms, restaurant, reception, stairs etc), the stairs are unlit at night and it is almost impossible to get to the lift without covering your clothes in builders dust. The whole place felt like a business that was about to fold and therefore short cuts were being made e.g. the restaurant had crockery and cutlery that looked like it had been collected from a range of charity shops rather than matching sets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Devillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devillas

Address: 4 Boulevard Saint Marcel | 5th Arr, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #973 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devillas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Famous Botanic Garden, a typical Parisian hotel (just renovated) welcomes you.Comfort, Quiet, StyleAll the charm of the Left Bank for your trip in ParisNot far from the Quay de la Seine, the Saint Germain Boulevard, the Mouffetard Quarter, the Bastille Opera, right in front of the Pitie Salpetriere Hospital Center, two steps from the Botanic Garden, and the Universities & Latin quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Devillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devillas Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Devillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.