We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Value for its Class” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Flore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Flore to your Saves list
Hotel de Flore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108, rue Lamarck | Montmartre, 75018 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,023 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Value for its Class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

If like my partner and me you regard a cuty hotel as somewhere safe and comfortable to sleep for a few nights, ideally well situated then the Hotel de Flore fits the bill perfectly.

The staff - reception is manned 24/7 are very pleasant, helpful and speak reasonable English though they were very polite about my French!

The room (number 26) was reasonably spacious with enough storage and separate shower/bath/wc. The bed was comfortable and there were a copuple of effective reading lights - something that many places forget about. The flat screen TV had a couple of English channels but then again only sad people watch TV while in a different country!

The location is what did it for us. Montmartre is still a livedin part of the city with all the bustle and amenities you'd expect from such a community. The hotel is on a fairly steep hill and has several bars/eating place/shops nearby. We particularly enjoyed the creperie just across the street. Watch the one up the hill on the same side directly across from the Metro entrance - they added a couple of items to our bill that we didn't order!

The metro station is less tah 15 mins away from Concorde etc. As others have mentioned there are a lots of stairs but you access the lift by giing to the left n entry. When coming back again go tot he left after the Sortie sign.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay as had a real sense of being in Paris through using the local cafes for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
22
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Staff is very helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room had only one power plug, so we had to buy a power strip at a small hardware store about 1 block from the hotel. Rooms have no air conditioning, but you can get a fan at the same store. Walking distance to metro station Lamarck-Coulaincourt; a bit farther to Guy Moquet station on Avenue de Saint-Ouen, where there are lots of restaurants/stores.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

access to Metro with elevator, walking distance to Montmartre, surrounded by reasonably priced restaurants, very helpful staff, speaks English, Spanish, French and probably more, comfortable room at reasonable price. would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

You should be happy with this if you expect this to be a service apartment, not a hotel / motel.

Hotel is well under 5 minutes walk from Lamack Metro, and there is a lift at this station, which is very important (as most metro stations have many many steps and may god help you if you are disabled). It is located in a side street, residential area, so it is very quiet and peaceful.

Across the road is a self sevice laundry shop, washing machine and dryers are coin operated. This is where you get your washing done, as there is no laundry service in this "hotel". Also a chemist next door, but they are closed for 2 hours to have lunch daily. Walk up the street (slope) and there is a HSBC bank with cash machine. 3 cafes right at the exit of metro.

The whole building looks like a converted studio apartment block, so "lobby" is really just a counter / reception. We stayed for a week, so met a few receptionists, and they are all friendly, helpful, efficient.

Because this is not a hotel, so there is no kitchen, no cafe, no food, and of course, no room service. No laundry either (that's why the laundry shop across the road is important).

We got a room facing the street, but it is not noisy at all, very quiet, even during peak hours. Also a reasonable amount of sun coming in. Room is very small. A double bed, a safe, bed side, desk, a LCD TV hung high up on the wall (to save space), and that's it. The room was so small we could not open our luggage fully. There is also no cups no glass no kettle, so you can't even boil water, just have to buy from the corner store few shops from the hotel. There is no hair dryer in the room, but there is one you can borrow from reception, so don't rely on it. Otherwise, room is neat, clean, and in good repair condition.

Shower and bath is combined, and there is no curtin, so water can go everywhere.

Breakfast is very basic, consisted of croissant, can fruit, milk and ceral, tea coffee orange juice.

Phone call is reasonable, I paid Euro 0.70 for a local call. Wireless Internet is available free as well.

My partner complained that her eyes started to get itchy, and suspect towels were not clean. I did not have this problem.

  • Liked — Easy access
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

The hotel De Flore was very clean and comfortable. Small but quite adequate considering the amount of time spent there. Breakfast was ok, plenty to eat but not a lot of choice. Walking distance from Mont Marte and very close to metro which is fantastic.

  • Liked — beds were very comfortable
  • Disliked — not much!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle England
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

We were re-directed to this hotel from our original choice as they had overbooked, which was not a good start to our trip. If you are elderly this hotel is half was down a hilly street and there are 92 steps up to the street from the Metro, we did not find the lift until the second day of our visit.

The desk clerk was very obliging and helpful throughout our stay.

Our room was at the front, but suprisingly was quiet at night, as was the rest of the hotel. The rooms were clean , the bathroom a bit neat but acceptable and the water was always nice and hot.

There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and we found the breakfast a little expensive. There is a Champion supermarket in the street at the back of the hotel and a small Fran Prix on the corner. We ate out a couple of times, there is a nice bar cafe at the bottom of the hill on the left hand side of Rue Lamark, they do a good lunch for €11 for 2 courses.

We also had a couple of salads from the little Fran Prix..........and a travel kettle was bought for tea and coffee, there is an electrical shop in the street which runs across Rue Lamark just below the hotel.

Access to Scare Coeur is easy, turn left outside the hotel and follw Rue Lamark and it brings you round to the bottom of the step up to the church, which is beautiful, very different to other Churches in Paris and the view is wonderful over the roof tops of Paris.

We did enjoy our stay and would consider staying at the same Hotel, wish they would get more comfortable chairs in the foyer though, its tough sitting if you have to wait to take a late flight and do not want to sit at the airport.

  • Tips/Secrets — Use the lift at the metro!!!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Flore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flore

Address: 108, rue Lamarck | Montmartre, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,023 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Flore 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Flore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flore Paris
De Flore Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Flore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.