We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“used condoms under, broken hair dryer” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Maine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Maine to your Saves list
Hotel du Maine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue Maison Dieu | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,316 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“used condoms under, broken hair dryer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in Apr. It was really awful to see three used condoms under bed at the first night. The hair dryer was broken as well. Someone’s hair is left on the blanket and bed. I doubt if the room has ever been entirely cleaned. I left a notice in the room, hoping the above problems will be fixed. But the three condoms were still under bed the second night!!!! The condoms were finally away from the room on the third day but the hair dryer was broken till the last day. The best part of the hotel should be its location and nice staff only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
8
33
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

...and you don´t plan to spend all day in a hotel room, then this is a good choice. Small but clean room with comfy bed.My only problem was with shower as water pressure was too weak. The best thing about this place is its location, conveniently close to metro station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

i stayed in this hotel during Easter period, the hotel was so better than some other hotels i have paid higher for, room was perfect, clean sheets, clean and private bathroom, excellent wifi and nice staff and to the metro and main rail station, you could easily get to anywhere from it, i got more than i expected. I recommend it any day and will come back again when in paris

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First of all, I had not a good first impression, because of a guy at the reception, he was drunk! A drunk receptionist. Wow! =) Really, i was quite surprised of course, probably it was because of a holidays (i arrived on 3th of January). But anyway, he's a face of the hotel.. Second reason, there wasn't wi-fi at that time. But i cant say it's permanent problem at that place, because i just stayed there for one night.. And you know, the most awful thing was the hairs on all towels and on my bed!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in August of 2012. I had little difficulty with most of the aspects of my stay. I had not opted to pre-purchase breakfast on the 3 mornings that I would be there. On two mornings, I decided to eat breakfast at the hotel, and paid the desk clerks in cash. When I checked out, the clerk (a different one from the two to whom I had paid cash) stated that I had not paid for the breakfasts and insisted that I do so at check-out. I protested that I had paid cash and that there should be some record, or, at least, he could check with the other clerks, but his response was a terse "Non!" Not wanting to miss my flight, I paid for the breakfasts (again.) I later emailed the hotel about this matter, but they insisted that they could not determine that I had paid cash to the clerks and refused to refund the double payment. It would probably be actionable to suggest that the two clerks had pocketed the cash, so I will officially suppose that there was an error in record-keeping, but the hotel's willingness to lose a future customer (and perhaps others based on this review) over a refusal to believe me and an inability to simply check with the clerks leaves me with a very unfavorable impression. I would strongly recommend that you avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

All the members of staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. They were even kind enough to keep one of my bags for two weeks while I did other travelling. The lifts and the rooms were quite small but fine for a trip that was spent mostly out of the hotel doing sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days. This hotel wasn't expensive and all of the staff was kind. I didn't want to clean my room, it was possible. I didn't ask it but I think there is system of lunch and diner in all room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel du Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Maine

Address: 16 Rue Maison Dieu | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,316 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Maine 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel du Maine is an exquisite hotel with new hotel standards, always booking for modernity and comfort. Located in a quiet little street, however in the heart of Paris! Very well distributed, then very closed to Montparnasse station y del metro Gaîté, the hotel du Maine can receive you for your business travels or your holidays. Most of its 31 rooms overlook a courtyard, the modernized lift, the decoration in the “air of time” and the reception 24 hours/24 are some examples of what the hotel du Maine car offer to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Maine Paris
Du Maine Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Maine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.