We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a lovely location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Amiral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel l'Amiral to your Saves list
Hotel l'Amiral
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 rue de l'Amiral Roussin, 75015 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,256 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“In a lovely location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a good option for those on a budget. Only a short walk to the metro. Beware when buying your metro tickets do not let anyone help you - it s scam. While you can see the effiel tower you are not central.

The room was small but clean however the carpet and throw on the bed had seen better days. The room however was spotless.

If you are looking for a clean budget hotel in a nice residential area you could do worse

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
16
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everything seems old fashioned in this small hotel. My room was dedicated to smokers and had its own balcony with both the Eiffel tower and Montparnasse view :-) The breakfast was France standard. Stuff was friendly and did really good service for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Online booking system is terrible. Hotel charges for stays that are not confirmed. Terrible customer service. No help. Will not reverse charges following their mistake! Should be able to give zero stars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We chose Hotel L'amiral while we had read other's reviews about it. Our main reason to choose was it's location as it is about 30 min walking to the Eiffel which is a relief (however this is not a straightforward & easy rout). The bad thing is that it is a bit hard to find the hotel. We were lucky that Parisian people were really friendly in helping us with finding addresses even with poor english!
The hotel is just basic in my opinion. We got a very small room with a backyard view. It was just after the first day that we found out there were empty rooms with Eiffel view that we could move if we want.
The elevator was very small. Room was not so clean. Bed coverings were old & worn out. The bathroom was big enough, reasonably clean & there was a bath tub.There was no minibar. WiFi connection was fast in the room.
The most annoying thing was the toilet odor since the ventilation system didn't work in the bathroom & we had to leave the window open always.
The staff was friendly & helpful. They prepared us what we asked for. They gave us an iron which we desperately needed! Also we asked for some boiled water & they brought us a full tea service with no extra charge!
Overall, it was OK for 2-3 nights since hotels in Paris are often expensive with poor quality.

Room Tip: "Ask for rooms with Eiffel view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

reception; the stuf were nice but they were not helpful
the manger was rude, the hotel take from my master card the price twice, and i had problem between the bank and the hotel.

the room was old fashion and very small not like i saw it in booking.com.
the Elevator very small and takes ages to go up.

Room Tip: take room in first floor because Elevator is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Location : Very good. Very central. Most eateries are round the corner. The Vaugigard metro station is nearby too.
Ambience, & hotel stay : We were three of us on a budget trip so took up a double room with an extra bed, and cost wise was very effective ! But sadly, what you see in pictures is what you get. Not an inch more not an inch less. So yes, for 3 people, it was quite cramped. With the beds, a table & 3 suitcases we had to literally jump around to navigate the room. BUt then, we werent complaining that much, since we spent the least amount of sleeping hrs in this room.
Ambience was decent overall.
Staff : Were a little grumpy. the ones who understood english were not exactly helpful, and the girl who didnt converse very well in english was utterly sweet. So, you know! we found our way around thanks to pamphlets :)
The life and the staircase are worth mentioning - The lift was extremely tiny. Would hold one person & one suitcase & thats about it. And trust me, if you suffer from a wee bit of claustrophobia, you will probably decease in there! So yeah we managed again...climbing 4 levels through the spiral staircase. Each day at least 4 times up n down for 4 days! :)
Price : Very cost effective for budget travellers!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Amiral is a nice hotel which is just some 2 KMs from the Eiffel. Its also 5 minutes walking distance from vaugirard Metro station. The rooms are small, but well maintained. You will be greeted by friendly staff and who are ready to help you out with any sort of queries you may have.

This hotel has free Wifi, though the reception will be poor as you go high up. So if you prefer to have Wifi, its better to opt for a room in the first three floors. The only problem is with the Hotel is the cramped lift, which is quite archaic and could just hold 3 people at a time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Amiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Amiral

Address: 90 rue de l'Amiral Roussin, 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,256 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Amiral 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town called Vaugirard, near the Eiffel Tower, Montparnasse Station and Porte de Versailles Exhibition Centre, Amiral Hotel offers you its 30 rooms, all en suite. Ideal for business or leisure needs, you will find here a very quiet, relaxing and warm homely atmosphere – when you are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel l'Amiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Amiral Hotel Paris
Hotel l Amiral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Amiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.