We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans to your Saves list
ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-21 Boulevard Romain Rolland | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #938 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wirral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Very close to Orly airport. Within zone 1 of metro which is only a 5 min walk away. Room comfy and adequate. Breakfast ok. Friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    364
    152
    45
    10
See reviews for
156
198
80
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have stayed at many Etap hotels, so I know what to expect. They are basic but adequate so service is important. This one had the worst service we have experienced in a very long time. We booked 2 rooms at the same time thinking that surely we would be together, but the 2 rooms were 4 floors apart. There is no hotel parking and the attendant when we arrived was absolutely put-out when we asked where we could find parking. She was also pained when we asked how to get to the closest metro station - in fact she was simply rude. The rooms were clean. There are no room controls for cooling the temperature and the windows don't open. It is also a little pricy for an Etap - but it is in Paris. Location is not bad; only a few blocks from the metro. Overall however, it was a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I rate this hotel very good based on value. I stayed here with my mother for two nights and found the room to be very clean and quiet. We like firm mattresses thus found the beds very good two. Remember this is a budget hotel so there are no bells and whistles. No closet, blow dryer and you only get one towel per person which are not large bath towels but definitely do the job. The hotel was a short walk from the metro and quite easy to find. The staff were helpful and provided us with any information we needed as well as a city map. We had breakfast at about 4 euros per day and it was sparse but again did the job providing bread, cheese, yogurt, coffee and juice. All in all if you are looking for a good value hotel without anything fancy I would recommend....oh and it is in Zone 1 so quite easy to reach all destinations and quickly by metro however not walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Etap (soon to be re-branded as Ibis Budget) hotel in Porte d'Orleans is a good choice for a budget stay in Paris. Porte d'Orleans is on the southern edge of Paris, with the metro (line 4) end stop about 5-10 minutes walk away. Being the end stop, you'll always find a seat (not usually the case in the metro). The centre of Paris is about 20-30 minutes away. The Porte d'Orleans area is in the 14th arrondisement and the 15th (Montparnasse) area is nearby, so there's a good selection of restaurants within a short distance.

The hotel is simple, but clean and with everything you need. The room is paid for on arrival. The breakfast (a 4.95 euro extra) is very basic, with cafeteria-style service, and is more than adequate, but don't expect anything fancy.

As others have noted, the rooms are small and basic, and best suited to couples or very good friends because there's no privacy at all: the toilet is behind a thin door with no lock (or soundproofing!) and the shower door leaves little to the imagination - so be aware if this is a problem for you. Other than that we would have liked better towels (they were more like teatowels). The bed is simple, firm, and supportive. There's no wardrobe or storage to speak of in the room, but you do have everything you need for a night's sleep. We found the soundproofing perfectly good and were not disturbed by neighbours or traffic at all.

There is parking available in the Novotel (located in the same building) but it's rather expensive at 38 euros/day. The nearby public carpark is 24 euros. Best option is the nearby Mercure hotel carpark which is 17 euros/day. Ask at reception for directions.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors (there are 9) have some views of Paris if you're on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

飯店離Porte de d'Orléans station走路約5分鐘,地鐵站附近有LIDL超市,附近治安良好,房間內可清楚看到Eiffel Tower,可抵押身分證件以借取hair dryer。房間新穎,大致上相當乾淨,但廁所及衛浴非常的小!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is being rebranded as “IBIS-budget”, but I found it superior to several IBIS hotels I’ve used. For the price, it is situated in a good location, which although out of the city centre is easy to reach by Metro - with an easy connection to the RER straight from Gare Du Nord. One tip is to consider taking the RER to the University – and then getting the tram from there – this also had the benefit of there being a lift to the platforms at the RER station.

Note that the check-in time is early (12 noon) which is very useful. Although my room overlooked the Periphique there was no issue with road noise. As a bonus I could see the Eiffel Tower – which was especially useful for the nighttime illumination.

I paid the small price for a breakfast, and found it worth the money – there was rather less than on offer in a typical IBIS, but that was reflected in the reduced cost.

Room Tip: A room on one of the higher floors facing the main road won't have too many issues with noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans

Address: 15-21 Boulevard Romain Rolland | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#23 Green Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Paris Porte d`Orleans Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis budget Paris Porte d'Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.