We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal, convenient and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Suez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Suez to your Saves list
Hotel de Suez
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Boulevard Saint-Michel | 5ème, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #496 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ideal, convenient and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived at Charles de Gaulle on 4th September to a heatwave (27c). Train from the airport to Luxembourg was an easy direct journey, short downhill walk found the entrance to Hotel de Suez. Our first view was not auspicious, small doorway, narrow passageway to tiny reception area. Our reception began the improvement, friendly with helpful advice.
Our room was on the 5th floor, we were shown the lift, yes it as small as others have said. (We had experienced a similar one in Santiago de Compostella so were undaunted, if cramped). The room was really clean and comfortable with plenty of room, flat screen tv, separate bathroom and also separate was the toilet! Altogether it was good.
The staff were all friendly and helpful with lots of local knowledge and general advice, the breakfast was good and reasonably priced - roll, croissant, butter, jams and coffee at prices below the local cafes. We did not use the option to eat in our room at no extra cost.
The location is excellent, walking distance of all left-bank sites, restaurants and bars, we walked comfortably to Notre Dame and beyond.
We were travelling on to London on Eurostar and took the number 85 bus from the stop outside the door directly to Gare du Nord, really convenient with light luggage, no stairs, no problems.
This is a friendly, very clean and comfortable hotel which we will be pleased to use again on future visits - if you haven't booked it first.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back which was quiet but only roofs and walls to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    229
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
84
172
48
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montevideo, uruguay
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel location its excellent, with everything you want very close, but most of all everything you'll need : bus stop at the door ( use public transport in paris, easy and convenient) , a Monop ( small market with groceries, coffee, etc) restaurants, etc. Metro & RER.

We stayed at a triple room and was incredible comfortable, a real double bed and a single bed for our kid, all of them with comfy mattress and pillows. The room was huge not only for Paris standards, nice windows that assures plenty of air and light; the street view of rue champolion wasn't a great view but its ok . The only downside it that could be a little noisy because of a restaurant in the street, if its hot and you have windows open.
As we were traveling with our kid, we prefer to organize our own breakfast and the option to have a fridge in the room was very useful ( just 3 eur per day extra) so we have our stock of yogurt and fresh fruit for any time of the day.

The room was nicely clean every day, with toiletries and towels replace every day. The room we had was the one in the photos that are already post ( flower curtains and yellowish walls) that's why I didn't add anyone.

The hotel service its the great point , people makes the place excellent, at reception they speak English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, they are all kind and helpful. They have everything very well organized so you can leave your luggage after checking out and leaving Paris.

They also arrange a cab to the airport ( orly) that was very convenient as we were 3 leaving at a peak hour, we pay 35 eur. 10 eur have to bee payed in advance at the hotel The only advice its to keep the ticket you pay at hotel at hand to show it to the taxi driver , so you there wont be confusion about what you have to pay....and take cash to pay exactly what you need, just to avoid any "forced tip".

I highly recommend this place for any kind of travelers, but specially for family with kids. Its a great trouble to find nice hotels with triple rooms at reasonable price , but Hotel de Suez has it all and they are very kind with kids .

Just for kids > the hotel is close to Musee Cluny play ground, just a block away, Lycee politecnique 4 blocks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations! It was in a prime location near a metro station and only a 5 minute walk from Notre Dame! There's a small grocery store right next door for any essentials or an inexpensive meal on the go. The room was spacious and the bathroom was nicely upgraded. The shower had three shower heads and helped ease the achy body after a day of walking around Paris. The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. I enjoyed being able to sleep with the window wide open with a nice breeze coming into the room. The room had an interior window that faced other outside walls so it was mostly protected from street noise but there was some occasional noise from the kitchen below. Nothing I couldn't deal with. The wireless worked well and did reach to the room, but the signal there was a little weak. I can't speak to the breakfast service as we ate outside of the restaurant.

Overall, this was a great hotel in an awesome location! The staff were welcoming and the value for the money was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

By now, we know we don't get much in Paris for the $$. We've come to accept that. But, my stay in this hotel was very accomodating. The location is VERY good, so close to all the sites. The booking of the room was quick and easy. The proprietors were very friendly and spoke excellent English. The room was clean enough, bed comfortable and VERY quiet. So, for the things that truly matter to me... it is fine. For those who are maybe a little pickier, or expect more, the rooms might be a little bit too old, and just a tad drab and might need a little more detailed attention. Lack of A/C might bother some. In short, I traveled alone this time... I'm a guy... if my wife were with me... uh, she might be a little disappointed. I should also mention, that this hotel is less than half the price I paid in June for a similar hotel exactly 1 block away. I will return to this hotel my next visit to Paris for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked online & we worried a little about the hotel until we arrived - we shouldn't have hotel is ideal for seeing Paris, 5mins from Notre dam, 5 mins from the Luxembourg gardens, 2mins away from the metro for the airport. It's in the latin quarter which is safe vibrant & well served for eating establishments (all nations sit in or take away)

We were given a room on the 5th floor which had a small balcony and stunning views, the lift is a little small but that would be my one and only negative comment on this hotel, the rooms was cute with free WiFi & breakfast for only 6.95 euros.

Would recommend both this hotel and the area it's self

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Small hotel on the Boulevard St Michel. Right in the center of Paris on a nicely busy street. 5 minutes walk to the Seine. Metrostations just round the corner.
Clean room with small, but good bathroom (shower). Good bed.
Basic French breakfast is served in the room at reasonable price (6,95EUR).
Just one downside (as we discovered with 35 degrees celcius outside): there is no airconditioning. Not a problem in Paris for 50 out of 52 weeks a year, but be warned.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on the Boulevard as you can enjoy the view and sound of Paris. Some find it noisy, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Located very near to the Metro/RER station. McD, Starbucks and some nice shops located in the immediate vicinity! Room was average, found it to be a little cramped, much like the lift but it was still manageable. Staff service was ok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Suez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Suez

Address: 31 Boulevard Saint-Michel | 5ème, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#340 Business Hotel in Paris
#469 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Suez 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AvailPro, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Suez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Suez Hotel
De Suez Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Suez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.