We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty rooms, nasty staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Alma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Alma to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Alma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32, rue de l'Exposition | 07 Arr., 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,028 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nasty rooms, nasty staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip. We booked our hotel with Venere. Do yourselves a favor and stick with a credible booking site. The hotel was small as expected in Paris but did not expect to see dried up blood on the sheets and mold in the bathroom. Nasty. I told the staff and again what do you expect from Parisians. Rude as can be. They didnt switch my room. They just changed my sheets. I told the staff that I needed transportation to the airport, and at 7AM nothing. The guy at the front desk said it wasn't his problem and to take a cab or the metro. We spent 55 euros on a cab.
I realized that complaining to the hotel staff was pointless, so I decided to call VENER, the booking site. I told them about the problems and they asked for pictures of the room, which I gladly sent them. The email I got back from them, was that there was nothing wrong with the room based on a picture that the hotel sent them. Good job in cleaning up. Idiots.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    81
    63
    25
    21
See reviews for
28
109
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I arrived at approx. 11AM and they were kind enough to let me check-in early (Check-in is at 3pm). The front desk dude that day was alright, he seemed a little bored, but the girl who took his place the following day was a sweetheart. The room was clean and spacious, but the bathroom, specially the shower was tiny. The only complaint I had was the fact that they had no AC or fans. I went in the end of August, during a heatwave, so it's hard to feel comfortable when it's like 80F in the room (also couldn't leave the window open, because there were other apartments in front of the hotel and everyone could see what was happening inside the room). Also didn't like the fact that there was only 1 outlet in the room. Aside from those small setbacks, the hotel was brilliant. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Take an outlet adapter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was ok. It was clean enough, and large enough for a couple with luggage. The shower was in desperate need of repair, and was borderline useless.
There were some ok restaurants in the area, but nothing too much (other than the Eiffel tower) to see. If you're after a lively neighbourhood, perhaps try the Latin quarter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Well placed for visits to all the tourist hotspots. Hotel is clean, bedrooms are just what is required for a quick stay in Paris. We would definatley stay here on our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The main selling point about this hotel is the location. It's very close to the Eiffel Tower and within walking distance of many other Parisian attractions. It also neighbours onto Rue Saint-Dominique which has plenty of restaurants and supermarkets.

Service was decent but the wifi never worked for me. The room itself was nothing special, I don't think it deserves 3 stars. I'm aware that hotels in Paris are generally on the tight side but I thought there was just enough space in de L'Alma but I was expecting it to be a bit bigger. The bathroom was of decent size compared to the room.

Overall I wouldn't rate de L'Alma as 3 stars but knowing the standard of Parisian hotels I think it is probably comparable with it's competitors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Alma

Address: 32, rue de l'Exposition | 07 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,028 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Alma benefits from a perfect location in the heart of the 7th arrondissement, a short walk from the Eiffel Tower, Invalides and the Champs-Elysées ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de l'Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Alma
De l Alma Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.