We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel out of the tourist areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ideal Hotel design

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ideal Hotel design to your Saves list
Ideal Hotel design
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 boulevard Jourdan | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,024 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel out of the tourist areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

The Ideal Hotel is located right on top of the Metro d'orleans, which is about 15 minutes to Notre Dame and 30 minutes to Gare du Nord. The rooms are small & showers are tiny but how much time do you spend in the room? The breakfast is €12 per person - don't get it, as there is a pastry shop at the front door (apparently not open on the weekends) but there is another one just around the corner.

Our room fronted the Boulevard Jourdan (very noisy) but the windows are completely soundproofed. All in all, a very good option if you want a more neighbourhood location.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    166
    127
    52
    33
See reviews for
71
191
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we preferred to save on the cost of sleeping and spend on the joys of Paris. However, it turned out to be really excellent. The staff were extremely nice and competent. The room had everything and was comfortable. The hotel is right in front of a metro station for line no. 4 that serves central Paris so it was very convenient. I would recommend it to everyone not looking for luxury.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Pros:
Port De Orleans subway stop is located outside the hotel. Public transport is very accessible.

Cons:
Cleanliness: Bathroom has mold. Rooms are not clean.
Ar conditioning: Rooms have no AC which means you have to open the window and that will make your room dirty and very noisy.
Comfort and Amenities: No AC and poor amenities.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This hotel looks nicer on the pictures than it does in real life.

The metro station next to the hotel is called Porte d'orleans which is one of the last stops and is on the periphery line where Paris meets the suburbs. Had a hard time finding a single supermarket or a pharmacy so make sure to get what you need ahead of time.

The hotel walls are made of paper which we realised when whoever was next door was banging on our wall loudly at 11pm because we were watching the TV news at normal volume levels. Unbelievable.

The Wi-Fi in this hotel is awful. In three days it did not once work properly and kept throwing us out both in the bedroom and in the lobby area especially. When questioned about this, we were told we would need to go up to the third or fourth floor maybe to get reception. However, we tried this and it did not work either. Wi-Fi is a little tricky to find generally in places that you go, so if you were to decide to stay at this place, make sure you do not rely on the Wi-Fi as you may find yourself spending an hour and a half to access a single page.

All in all it was ok, nothing special. Relies on colour a lot to make it look interesting. Other than that it is pretty bland. The rooms are ok-ish and unlike examples seen online.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi at all to go about your business online with bookings etc, make sure you request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I visited this hotel for a long weekend with my partner and we chose it for the great price. It was right in front of a train station which took you direct to Eiffel tower and other attractions and also the Eurostar platform (which was great for us) for a small price. The rooms were bijou but what do you expect for the low price in the heart of Paris!! The staff were polite and helpful (they let us borrow their iphone charger as we forgot ours) and there was a couple of amazing boulangeries where we got fresh croissants n pastries for breakfast daily as this was not included. It is great if your like a good deal and are used to travelling in Europe, small but clean and practical, worth a short stay.

Room Tip: on a busy road but higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We stayed at the Ideal Hotel Design in August 10 to 16 with my family and I would go back to this Hotel again if I was on a budget, not if could afford something else!
We were happy with the cleanliness and space we had in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

this hotel does NOT offer anything that you might expect .A 2 star no tell motel will at least provide shampoo and a coffee maker , not this place . I was provided with a mini bar stocked with juice, pop , and water @ 5 euro / item ,these I returned to the desk . I was able to get 6 tall can beer and 3 water at the market down the street for 4.80 euro total . ( quite a price difference)
There is no air conditioning and the traffic noise makes sleep with the window open somewhat impractical . The elevator claims to hold 3 , but only if you are real good friends and definitely not with luggage . The so called breakfast buffet was boiled eggs , toast jam and coffee for 12 euro, we went to the restraint next door for real food .

Room Tip: can't be done here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ideal Hotel design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Hotel design

Address: 108 boulevard Jourdan | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#152 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ideal Hotel design 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entree ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ideal Hotel design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ideal Hotel design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.