We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ideal Hotel design

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ideal Hotel design to your Saves list
Ideal Hotel design
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 boulevard Jourdan | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #954 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is located near a busy intersection by an entrance to a main metro line however is lacking a drop off area. The street is very busy so if you are driving you can not stop and check in but must drive around until you can find a spot to park which was very inconvenient. I would not return here but it is a good option for travelers without a vehicle.

Good:
- friendly staff
- next to public transportation
- close to grocery stores and restaurants
- interesting design and decorations

To Improve:
- require a drop off area for cars
- elevator, there is only one and it is tiny and slow
- air conditioning, we were there on a cool weekend but it has to be a nightmare to stay without a/c on a hot day or night

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    202
    146
    60
    34
See reviews for
84
229
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although diverse comments about this hotel; good or bad. I found it totally to my satisfaction.
Its location is exactly at the exit of the metro M4 station, this line connects various place of attraction with ease. You are also connected to various M and RER lines via various stations, if you get used to the train system, nowhere could be an obstacle to you. Location is perfect.
We found our room is spacious in Paris standard; one double bed and 1 single for three adults.Its clean and efficient; if they could provide an electric kettle to boil water could be perfect. Only comment is with the shower cube the ground is very slippery. We need to put a towel on it to avoid slip over.
The srevice at reception is good and efficient. I booked a taxi for the airport, the car arrived on time to pick us up it is a Mercedes Benz 9 seat van. Very comfortable for three of us with huge luggage it costs us 70 euro; I am not sure if it is expensive.
Next to hotel is a pastry shop that you can buy crossiants.... and within 20 meters there is a supermarket whuch you can have all your daily neccessities.
The area is pretty safe.

Opposite the hotel is a post office, my daughter can send postcards to her freinds very conveniently.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pretty average and expensive but excellent location. Rooms ok , clean but thats about it... Asking basic requests like "do you have iron " sends staff into a flat spin -apparently there is only one in the hotel ? Ok for a couple of nights if you are in this area but Im sure there are better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

As most of the other reviews have said the best thing about this hotel is the location. We arrived by Eurostar and it was only 30 minutes from Gare du Nore to the hotel without having to change. Metro entrance is right outside the door. We had booked two rooms and although my sister's room was very quiet on the second floor ours on the first floor did suffer from early rising noisy guests talking loudly, slamming doors and noise from the lobby drifting up the stairs. The wooden floor in the bedroom above didn't help. Also our room was directly opposite the baggage store and from early morning it seemed to involve a lot of wheeled bags and banging against walls etc. Wish I had read the review below and moved to a higher floor. Otherwise it was very good value with clean rooms and bathrooms. Friendly helpful staff with good English and very patient with my attempts to practise my French. Fantastic patisserie next door. Loads of restaurants in the area and two super markets nearby. Appears to be a desent residential area and only 15-20 minutes to most of the tourists attractions. Would highly recommend and would stay again. Not in room 106 though!

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor in a room facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Location. This hotel is right in front of Port D'Orleans station on the No.4 line as well as T3 Tram. Also the RER train is two stops away via the T3. Trés convenient!

Bilingual service. We were greeted by helpful staff that despite our early showing was able to check us in earlier than the posted time.

There have been attempts to restore the hotel, but it's age still shows through the contemporary painted walls. The rooms and washrooms are adequate and clean but are by no means Parisian-chic. We rested well, able to tackle Paris the next day. Rooms include WiFi. The free buffet continental breakfast was also a plus. Its saving grace is its location and because rooms start at just over 50 euros, presents itself as good value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are a smail but that's also part the french charm and not as 'design' as they would appear on the pictures. Bathroom was out of date but clean as was the room so no complaints there. Price is really not too expensive for Paris if you get a good rate. The key amenity of this hotel is the location right next to the metro entrance in 15 minutes you are in the heart of Paris. Good hotel for young people/couples who want to enjoy Paris at a reasonable price , excellent for it's location right next to the metro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed there for almost 2 weeks. Happy with the room, the service and the breakfast.
Very helpful in the reception desk, especially Pierre. He gave me lots of advises and suggested idea for overcoming problems.
Surely will be happy to get there next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#523 of 1,793 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Montparnasse
Virgina Hotel
Virgina Hotel
#592 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Montparnasse
le 55 montparnasse Hotel
le 55 montparnasse Hotel
#848 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ideal Hotel- Emile Zola
#1,175 of 1,793 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Terminus Orleans
#394 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Montparnasse
Parc Hotel Paris
Parc Hotel Paris
#1,154 of 1,793 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Hotel design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Hotel design

Address: 108 boulevard Jourdan | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#127 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ideal Hotel design 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entree ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Ideal Hotel design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ideal Hotel design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.