We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable as you stroll along the Seine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paris Plage

Paris Plage
Seine River - Right Bank, Paris, France (Panthéon)
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 634 Attractions in Paris
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming, Picnicking
Attraction details
Riverview, NB
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable as you stroll along the Seine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had no idea that Paris Plage even existed until we happened upon it while strolling along the Seine. It is time limited (ends mid August I believe) but only in Paris could you find so many happy people relaxing in their chaise lounge or on their blanket, surrounded by sand. I suppose you can bring some food to eat there, or buy some from one of the kiosks. Is it allowed to bring a bottle of wine with you for your picnic? Just some fun to add to your enjoyment if you happen to be in Paris in the summer months.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    20
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
944 reviews 944 reviews
733 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
706 helpful votes 706 helpful votes
“an interesting concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We first caught sight of the Paris Plage along the banks of the Seine in July 2006, when the "beach" was in full swing. What a great idea! Locals relax and enjoy the sun with an almost Mediterranean feel, as the rest of the city continues with the hustle and bustle around them. A fun idea that makes for a few great photo opportunities if you're walking along the banks of the Seine!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A unique experience in the heart of Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

One evening during our vacation in Paris, we decided to take in the Paris Plages (Paris Beach). It was worth the trip. In addition to allowing the kids to play in the sand, there were a number of other activities to participate in. They had sprinklers set up for the children to cool down in, free massage stations and, finally, a wonderful tango contest going on. The whole experience was far better than I expected.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Plage?????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Well, Paris has no sea and probably the citizens who stay home in summer need to somehow relax and suntan under the sun. This, in case you wonder why parisiens put sand and chaise-longues sur la Seine!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Buy a drink or get off, and buy a drink at right place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Horrid man asked me to move even though I bought a drink from the same company just a minute from his station. I moved because all the shaded areas were taken. He said I couldn't drink it here and didn't listen to my insistence that I'd bought I from his mate and was hot. Anyway, I ended up with terrible heat stroke.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris Plage also viewed

 

Been to Paris Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.