We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A REAL CAMPANILE!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Paris 12 - Nation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Paris 12 - Nation to your Saves list
Campanile Paris 12 - Nation
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Rue Du Rendez Vous, 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #927 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOT A REAL CAMPANILE!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

THIS HOTEL, recommended by the famous French Campanile chain, whose services we use every time we visit France, incomprehensibly does not match most of the Campanile standards!
In short, this hotel has nothing to do with the others Campaniles in Paris or in the rest of France.
Just imagine: there is no hairdryer in the bathroom (nor any heating!), no air-conditioning in the room (nor no mini-bar), no car-park, no restaurant for the evening. The bathroom is so small and uncomfortable that only one person and no more can fit inside. In the room there is hardly space to move, the bed taking half of the total area. Under these circumstances, 130 €/night for a double room appears to be a bad joke at the end of the staying!
But what is mere provocation is the breakfast: bad coffee, expired pastries, bad orange juice and almost nothing more to eat. The staff is extremely polite and smiling but one could rightfully question if it is ironic after such a poor and suspect –on the sanitary level- breakfast. In conclusion, do not trust the Campanile name exceptionally for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    46
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
23
32
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ended up here though not being properly organized, and i would not recommend anyone stay. Stayed 2 nights. It is fairly basic accommodation and the website photos are fair. Our first Campanile stay and the chain came recommended, this one perhaps not to the same standards as the others.

The main problem was the bedding was damp, most likely due to it not being dried properly and the room had a noticeable dampness smell. Whether 2 issues were linked i don't know.

The property needs to be refurbished.

Just not what was expected. For central Paris the cost was not cheap but equally not expensive, Next time if in doubt about where to stay i will take a hotel in the suburbs and uses the metro to commute.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

rooms are small like hotel of this category in Paris but the staff is very nice.
Very good location for transportation especially RER A.
Nation is a safe area and many restaurants are opened late.
We will come back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This Campanile is old, run down and badly in need of a general renovation. Cant' say any better than "rooms and bathrooms are probably clean but so decrepit they don't look it"!

The rooms are extremely small, there is barely any space to move (and you can easily touch the "ceiling" just by raising your arm!) and no space at all to unpack clothes except, in a corner, a couple of hangers that have known better days —and your stuff that doesn't need hanging or cannot be hung will have to stay inside the luggage!

The bathroom is very cavernous (no making up in there for the ladies!) and terribly small as well (we had room 302), and the shower is of the same sort: no space to move, no space to wash one's body and the ceiling is right above your head too... Don't lift any arm, even barely above your head, or you'll hit it! The darkness in the shower is compounded by the flimsy, dark red curtain that does not do much to block water, but does block whatever light there is very effectively. The towels, though, are OK.

The elevator is not for claustrophobes: I had never been in such a small contraption ever before. We had one very small (airplane cabin-sized) suitcase and one weekend bag, they did fit with me in the cabin but there was no space left for my wife —and none of us is overweight!

Needless to say, we were not inclined to test the breakfast as we have family nearby and know a couple of excellent boulangeries on the way...

The staff was... well, just OK. When we checked in, the guy at the reception wanted to see the VISA card with which I had made the reservation by internet —which I refused to show, just out of principle, but I wonder if this is common practice for Paris hotels... It certainly isn't in the rest of France, and it isn't for the other hotel we usually stay at not far from that Campanile.

In conclusion, this hotel is way below standard Campanile par. We stayed there because we came to visit family so we had to be geographically close and our usual hotel nearby was full. I trusted the Campanile name, but this one is not to be recommended. They need to close it down and overhaul it completely, and make the rooms larger by sacrificing one or two one each floor.

Keep in mind also that the street below is noisy, even with ear plugs, and that the bells of the nearby church will duly wake you up for mass Saturday and Sunday mornings! Get a room on the back if you want a slightly less noisy environment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This hotel was a good choice for a budget stay in Paris for a few nights. Service was friendly and the hotel was in a good location, near to a metro station. There were lots of supermarkets, cafes and restaurants nearby to enjoy.
The room itself was on the top floor and quite big. It was fun getting our suitcases in the tiny lift! The room was very basic and quite cold, so we needed to use the heater provided. The bathroom was basic, but clean. We had everything we needed and it was in a great location to see all the sights of Paris easily. Don't expect luxury however!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This isn't the most glamorous hotel in Paris, but for €89 a night you can't go wrong. The rooms are clean, simple and comfortable, they offer a decent buffet breakfast for €9, free wifi, and the hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location is great as well, several little shops and restaurants around the hotel and less than a 5 min walk to Place de la Nation where there is the metro that has several lines (about 20 min to the centre) and plenty of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

The room I stayed in (109) was a comfortable, clean, small single room with a twin
bed. Since I stayed on the first level, I had to haul my suitcase up a narrow spiral
staircase (no elevator to get to that room), but this wasn't too bad. The bathroom
was spacious and clean though it had a slight odor. The staff were
friendly, knowledgeable and spoke fluent English (which was great when I ran
out of suitable French phrases :-). They helped me call Roissy to find out what
terminal my return flight to the States was leaving from since it was not noted on
my eticket printout. The hotel is located on Rue de Rendezvous, conveniently
close to both the Picpus and the Nation metros, and near some great patisseries,
restaurants and a supermarket. There were several bank machines on
the street and a 24-hour grocers (which was great when I got the munchies
after midnight). There was a TV in the room, though I never actually turned it on.
I thought breakfast was a bit steep at seven Euros, so I bought freshly baked
croissants, etc. down the street and didn't really eat at the hotel. The street was
nice and quiet, and I really enjoyed my stay at the Campanile. Thought it was a
pretty good budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Paris 12 - Nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris 12 - Nation

Address: 54 Rue Du Rendez Vous, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#92 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Paris 12 - Nation 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Campanile Paris 12 - Nation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris Xii - Nation Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Paris 12 - Nation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.