We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palym

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palym to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palym
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, rue Emile Gilbert | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #640 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Paris was our first stop on our two week adventure and four of us (My mom, sister, a mutual friend and myself) stayed Hotel Palym for two nights. Having four of us in a room was a little tight, but there was still room for luggage and for us to move around. We had a small balcony facing the street and we could see Gare de Lyon and its big clock.
The room was very clean along with the linens and bath towels. Housekeeping was very good and each day would come in a tidy up and bring fresh towels. the shower was great and the water pressure was strong. Upon walking into the lobby the staff greets you in a friendly manner. The staff is also very helpful in giving directions or calling a cab to bring you to the airport. The atmosphere is very relaxed and being on a quiet street is beneficial for a good night sleep and to help decompress from a busy day.
The location of the hotel and its proximity to Gare de Lyon makes getting around the city very easy. There are also plenty of restaurants located around the hotel that offer a variety of choices.
Overall the hotel was very clean, comfortable, and friendly and for the price each night it is very worth it. It is not a five star hotel, but it has everything one would need and it seems to have been renovated recently. We all agreed that we would stay here again the next time we are in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    195
    48
    11
    12
See reviews for
90
133
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent our first night in Paris at Hotel Palym, as we just flew in from the USA and were headed to Avignon, via a train from Gare de Lyon. This hotel is very nice and a convenient location for the Metro, the trains at Gare de Lyon, and for getting to and from Paris from CDG Airpor. The rooms were clean, nicely appointed and quiet. The hotel is on a quiet street. The Wifi is FREE. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very forgiving of my French, which I just learned. This was my first opportunity to speak and hear French. There are good dining choices in the neighborhood, and a street market on Thursdays on Avenue Ledru-Rollin, just a couple of blocks away. We took an evening walk to the Seine River and around the neighborhood and felt very safe. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it if you are looking for a good place to stay at a good value, considering you are in Paris, which is very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Situated two hundred meters from Gare de Lyon the hotel suited us perfectly as we had travelled from Vienna by train to Paris. We found the hotel staff to be friendly & helpful. Our room located on the 5th floor was rather small but clean & comfortable with a small balcony providing a view of the street & Gare de Lyon. There are many restaurants located just a short walk from the hotel & the local metro station is close by.
We stayed 3 days at the hotel. We had breakfast ( separate cost)) at the hotel the first morning which we found overpriced for the quality served, accordingly we found a local cafe for the following two breakfasts.

Room Tip: We found the sole elevator in the building to be very ,very slow so perhaps a room on one of the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our first visit to Paris. This hotel is small however it is located next to a major train station and the area is perfect to get around Paris. Very friendly people. If you need internet, go around the corner to one of the small food shops.

Room Tip: Call ahead. Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Elevator is tiny so you'll have to take the spi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Palym with several friends and thought it had a great location, just steps from the Gare de Lyon, and a quick walk or metro ride to prime locations. The room was clean, beds were comfortable and firm, and there were many cafes nearby where you could get breakfast (cheaper than the hotel). The staff at the front desk were helpful too. The only negative I had was that there is no shower curtain and the shower head is one of the hand held ones so the bathroom can get quite wet, though I guess this is typical of mid-level hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I Stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was very clean and the hotel is ideally situated for onward travel from Gare de Lyon which is just across the road. The receptionist was helpful and spoke very good English which made my life easier

I cannot comment on breakfast as my start was too early to be able to sample it.

The hotel was good value for money and I would definitely recommend it

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hardly a luxury hotel, of course, but I felt that Hotel Palym, where I spent three nights, deserved five stars nonetheless, because it represents exceptionally good value for Paris and its location is ideal, especially for the rail traveler. Five-minute walk to Gare de Lyon and its Metro station. Room very compact, but clean,recently renovated, and quiet (because it faced a courtyard, so no view). Friendly, English-speaking reception, strong wi-fi, and excellent house-keeping. Some have noted the small/slow elevator, but that wasn't a serious problem; and breakfast is worth the additional 8 Euro charge, if only because the nearby cafes charge as much for less. Very glad that Tripadvisor steered me to this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palym

Address: 4, rue Emile Gilbert | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #640 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palym 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, AvailPro, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Palym reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palym Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palym, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;