We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Highly recommended! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Porte Doree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Porte Doree to your Saves list
Hotel de la Porte Doree
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 ave Daumesnil | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #294 of 1,786 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect! Highly recommended! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent one night with my parents & having been to Paris before I was expecting much from this hotel (always been disappointed with places in Paris).....

I was surprised how great this place was! It was perfect & I will definitely stay again next time I'm in Paris!

The gentleman on the reception when we checked in & out was very friendly - lovely guy. As was the gentleman later on in the evening... Friendly face always makes for a better stay.

It was extremely clean. Room & bathroom were a great size! The room was also modern.

Only downside was trying to find parking close by - wouldn't recommend bringing a car, especially if your French isn't great!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
77
142
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who sat us in reception with coffee as our room was not quite ready. It turned out they were adding champagne and cookies as it was our honeymoon which was a lovely touch.

We were in a room right at the top of the hotel with views of the street outside which filled with a traditional French market on a Sunday - well worth a look around.

The hotel has free wifi which you need a code from reception for, perfect for checking out the next day trip. It is literally above a metro station which is good for getting about but you can hear and feel the trains going underneath.

The hotel has a lift but 2 people with bags and it was more than full, we had to reverse out as it is too narrow to turn with a bag.

We only had breakfast one morning as we explored local boulangeries instead.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will go back. I was very pleased with my single room. Having forgot a book I was happy to see the book shelves on the stairs with a selection of english books. I don't believe the room or toilet could have been any cleaner. I hadn't planned on having breakfast in the hotel but decided to at the last moment and enjoyed it a lot.

Green Features: Recycling was given good attention.Old magasines there to be reread. seperate waste. No small bottles of shampoo etc.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is lovely, the staff are all very helpful and sweet. The hotel is perfectly located 5 minutes from a beautiful park, 10 minutes from the newly renovated Parc Zoologique de Paris. 5 minutes from an Aquarium. And literally 30 seconds from the subway (Metro) that is very easy to follow and will take you ANYWHERE in Paris... you'll feel like you have a peaceful retreat and still have all of Paris at your fingertips. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of spending time in Paris. The rates are very reasonable and breakfast is MORE than worth the extra 12 euro.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Delighted with this hotel. The opposite of bland beige modern - this has moulded cornices, panelling, niches with statues, pictures in gilt frames, bookshelves in the stair landings, a box full of magazines to read in the rooms, lovely bathroom products, brass lamps. Just my taste. Room was petite but lovely to be able to open window and let the air in. Very clean throughout, small modern toilet and shower were nicely tiled and quality fittings. Very comfortable double bed. We made tea and coffee. Had nice welcome and interest in our sightseeing from jerome who spoke good english. The lady took pride in the breakfast presentation. Choice was tasteful with homemade muesli, dried figs and apricots, nuts as well as the ordinary cereals. Yoghurts, juices, platters with really delicious hams, organic goats cheeses, camembert, wide range of breads and pastries including gluten-free, and we simmered a boiled egg. Great coffee machine made good cappuccino. Hotel seemed to have a lot of french people at breakfast rather than tourists, a good sign. I enjoyed our stay. There was plenty to do within walking distance and a Metro stop right outside.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely 3 night stay at this charming hotel with my husband & my 8 year old daughter. Lovely comfortable & spacious rooms (hard to find in paris!) great location with metro station right outside hotel, we were going to disneyland & it was a great location to walk to Nation station & get the train which takes 30mins to disneyland gates. The hotel is also walking distance to Gare de lyon station where we got the train to Nice. Lovely bistro's close by & Devine bakery across the road! We would choose this hotel again when visiting Paris.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Delightful hotel , beautifully decorated , charming staff, extremely good customer care both before , during and after our stay.
LOVED the beds - so comfortable, Bathrooms clean and modern, little touches everywhere from the cookie on the dressing table to a complimentary bottle of eau minerale.
Really enjoyed the breakfast . At 12 Euros it may seem as if you can find cheaper elsewhere but it really sets you up for the day - choice of juices, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, bread, boiled eggs , really everything you could possibly wish for and well made coffees from a fresh machine where the beans are ground in front of you -doesn't get fresher than that.
I'd read on here that previous guests had been bothered by the sound of trains from the underground underneath the hotel but I rather loved the soft distant rumble and if you ask they'll accommodate you on the top floor . Lift is tiny - not for claustrophobics but perfectly serviceable.
We dined at the Belle Mere steps away from the hotel and loved it so much we ate there both nights - very jolly staff and the most delicious steak frites.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Porte Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Porte Doree

Address: 273 ave Daumesnil | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paris
#77 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#169 Family Hotel in Paris
#182 Business Hotel in Paris
#311 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Porte Doree 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Porte Doree is located a few metro stops from the city's main tourist centre and is close to the Bois de Vincennes, where you can enjoy a morning run or a lakeside picnic with your children. From the hotel, you can walk to the centre of Paris along the ancient Roman viaduct, transformed into an elevated garden best known as the "coulée verte". Numerous bus and metro lines near the hotel offer quick and easy access to the city's top tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Porte Doree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Porte Doree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Porte Doree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.