We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight squeeze - but clean, comfortable and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
Save
You added Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris to your Saves list
1, place du Parvis | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #530 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Morrison, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tight squeeze - but clean, comfortable and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our room was tight for a family of four (two young children) and nothing special, however it was clean and comfortable. We did not have a window, just skylights, which was somewhat claustrophobic. However, you don't spend a lot of time in your room anyway. The location couldn't be beat for a budget traveler. You walk straight out onto the Notre Dame plaza and are a short walk from The Louvre. Staying in a hospital made for fun memories - gurneys, face masks, scrubs, and a lot of smoking employees (which strikes me funny in a hospital). Maria, the hotel manager, was amazing. She was a wealth of knowledge and was always willing to help. She spoke great English. The room service breakfast is worth it - food is not cheap in Paris. The price was perfect for a comfortable bed with a clean bathroom (that included a bathtub). I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    62
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
49
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location cannot be beat for a quick trip to Paris. The staff was friendly, helpful, and accomodating and the morning breakfast was a perfect way to start the day.
The room itself was not very big but it was clean and our skylight view of Notre Dame was really a nice touch. The bathroom was a good size and also very clean.
My co-worker and I spent three days in Paris and are directionally challenged so we really appreciated that the hotel was next to a famous landmark and we were confident that in any situation we could find our hotel again!! We loved it and would stay there again.
Good location, good price, and interesting night life across the street in the narrow alley ways of St. Michel!!! Bonus.

Room Tip: the even rooms for a skylit view of Notre Dame.....it is a small view but it is visible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

In the fall of 2011, I had the great luck to get reservations at Hospital-Hotel Dieu in Paris. It was a wonderful place to stay. I returned to Paris last month and had chance to stay at Hotel Dieu again. Once again, I cannot say enough good things about the hotel and staff!

If you are looking an unexpensive, clean and safe place to stay, then check out this wonderful "hotel within a hospital" right across from Notre Dame plaza. While we were planning our trip, we had to make so many changes, but the wonderful staff worked with us and were able to reserve rooms for us the days we needed. They gave us suggestions on attractions and how to get to various places.

Thank you again to everyone at Hotel Dieu! You are my favorite place to stay in Paris!
Hotel Dieu is my home away from home when I go to Paris!

Room Tip: I loved hearing the bells from Notre Dame!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location was amazing. I could see Notre Dame from my window. The market is right around the corner, shops are seconds away. You are in the center of Paris. Rooms were a bit small and definitely not luxury. I plan on staying there again. Also, the prices are great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The 'Hospitel' is a great alternative to the usual B & B or small hotel in Paris. The location, in the actual true center of Paris (technically just in front of the Notre Dame) just can't be beat. We were in walking distance to most sites in central Paris and loved that. We had no need to use the metro or taxis during our stay which saved a lot of time & energy. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with flat screen TV and a large skylight. Throughout the day we could hear the church bells ringing from the Notre Dame which was incredible! The hospitel staff delivered our breakfast order to our room at 0715 & waking up to a cafe au lait in bed was a real treat! We had no reservations but fortunately they fit us in for 2 nights but said they were fully booked for weeks after that. They suggested we book well in advance in future. They only have 14 rooms and priority is given to families of patients at Hotel Dieu. Hotel Dieu was originally founded on the same site in 651 and the history of this working hospital is fascinating. It's probably not for everyone but we would definatly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Notre Dame as you'll be able to see the church spires from your skylight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I usually stay in the Opera district but stayed at the Hotel Dieu with family who had stayed here before and loved it. We were a little apprehensive about staying in a working hospital but needn't have worried. We did see the occasional person in a white coat and the odd hospital trolley but apart from this, you wouldn't know you were in a hospital (a very impressive historical building). The hotel is around a 100 metres from the point at which the centre of Paris is measured - in front of Notre Dame!
The staff are great - really friendly and helpful and English speaking, which is a bonus as my grasp of French is somewhat 'shaky'.
The rooms are basic (reminded me of my student accommodation when I was at university) but are comfortable and spotlessly clean and warm. A basic continental breakfast is available and delivered to your room at the time you request.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.
If you do decide to book and would like directions from the main entrance of the hospital to the hotel, read on, otherwise don't bother!

The hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the hospital. If you stand facing Notre Dame, the main entrance to the hospital is to your left - you can't really miss it. Go in through the automatic doors and turn right past the large reception desk. Go through another automatic door and turn left. You will see some steps in front of you. Walk up them (signposted Galerie B). At the top of the steps go through the wooden doors into an impressive corridor. Half way along the corridor you wiil see a sign for the hotel above one of the doors on the right. Go through the double doors and there is a lift on your immediate right. Take the lift to the 6th floor and you step out into the hotel reception.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The other reviews on Tripadvisor are accurate: this is a simple, spartan hotel that enjoys a great location in the center of Paris. And it should be noted that one pays a little more for this great location. Additionally, the staff at the hotel were marvelous. They helped us with reservations and recommendations, taxi calls, and they even printed some internet discount tickets for our bateau trip.

It seems a little odd to be staying in a functioning hospital, but once one gets past that reality, the location provides an easy walk to Notre Dame, St. Chappell, the Latin Quarter, and the Marais neighborhood. The metro is nearby, and taxis are abundant because of the proximity to Notre Dame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Notre Dame side. Also, you can get breakfast served to your room, but we only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris

Address: 1, place du Parvis | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#429 Family Hotel in Paris
#567 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hospitel Hotel Dieu Paris
Hotel Dieu Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.