We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monte Carlo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44, Rue Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #474 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Monte Carlo hotel is very clean, cosy and convenient for a weekend of exploring Paris. Very friendly staff. Although our room was rather small, everything we needed was there, and it was very nicely decorated. The only problem was that it was too hot to sleep without an open window, and the road is quite noisy with traffic and many restaurants. We would stay again and pay extra few Euros for a room at the back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    220
    71
    18
    9
See reviews for
42
204
85
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

the staff were all friendly, and had no problem with giving directions or advice about where to go. i've never slept better in a hotel as usally i miss my own bed, but the room was very comfortable. the only thing that wasn't too good was the bath, i'm 5"4" and i couldn't fit into it! my hubby is over six foot so he found it quite difficult to wash! i was expecting meat and chesse for breakfast but it was really plain, but then again it was very cheap, still it wouldn't put me off staying there again as we all loved it! a lovely modern, clean hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The Hotel Monte Carlo is a colourful little gem. It is close to the Opera Garnier and the amazing belle epoque department store Galeries LaFayette (check out the domed stained-glass roof), as well as to interesting 'passages'--glass-roofed arcades filled with tiny shops and bistros. It is also handy to the Metro and is a nice walk up into the heart of Montmartre. The staff of the hotel are very personable and helpful, dispensing maps and advice. They suggested a wonderful little restaurant, Le Pre Cadet, nearby. The bedroom and bathroom were tiny but immaculate, and the decor is imaginative and done with artistic flair. No mass-produced neutral 'hotel style.' We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Although rooms are tight, they are spotless. This is a great value hotel, excelling in customer service and location. Steps from one Metro line; a block from another. Free wireless internet. Many interesting restaurants in this Montmartre area. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Lovely clean hotel, very central to all tourist attractions, bed comfortable warm shower and very helpful staff. Book early and get great prices. Worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

My wife & I spent a relaxing week in Paris, staying at the Hotel Monte Carlo, after a week in Dublin for our daughter's wedding. We picked this hotel because our daughter & her then-boyfriend (now husband) had stayed there & gave it a great recommendation. They weren't wrong - great location, great value, wonderful/helpful staff...we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other travelers & will definitely stay there again on our next excursion abroad.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Following "TripAdvisor" recommendations, we booked this hotel for 5 nights at late September. The first night was a nightmare, the room was linked to the elevator, and the elevator door was the noisiest ever. In addition someone planed the room's doors to slam Each time you open or close one.
If you think that hotel doors should design to keep quiet as possible – think again!

The next morning we asked the guy at the reception if it is possible to chance the room even for an extra pay. He was rude to us & suggested another room for 3 nights only for the price of €180! The official price for double room at this hotel is €123, he told us that the price rise up! We checked the internet that day only to find that there was no change in the hotel prices.
The room was lovely painted & decorated, but with minimum fought about usability. In the bathroom there was no place to hang the towels, while sitting on the toilette was verbally sitting under the sink. The room had some open space to storage clothes, can't call it a closet since no doors were installed, this era was not given light from any source! In order to find something we had to bring the table lamp in front of this "closet". If you think that a hotel room should allow you to storage your clothes & be able to see what you are wearing – think again.

On checking out, the owner was very nice & offer us coffee urging us to tell him how was our stay. The minute we told him the story about the exaggerated price…he start to attacked us as we didn't understand what we have been told & it can't be, you must be wrong…
If you think that the customer is always right – think again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Address: 44, Rue Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre , Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#452 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Carlo in Paris benefits a central location in the 9th area of Paris between The Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Grands Boulevards. The most famous monuments and museums like The Eiffel Tower, Museum of Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris or L'Arc de Triumph are accessible easily by subway. Three subway stops "Le Peletier", "Grands Boulevards" and "Notre Dame de Lorette" are near the hotel and permit to visit all Paris. The nearest museums and monuments are Museum Grévin, L'Opera Garnier, Basilique Sacré-Coeur as well as grands magasins Galeries La Fayette et Printemps for shopping. The area of the hotel is a lively place with lots of antique stores as well as the auction house "Drouot", parisian cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous restaurant "Bouillon Chartier", supermakets and a small traditional market Cadet. The hotel interior was created by the designer Sofi Bollack-Klarwein. The hotel is a cosy place, done with love and taste where the owners welcome the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Paris
Monte Carlo Hotel
Hotel Monte Carlo Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.