We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is 'wot' it's all about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Negus

Le Negus
52 rue de Montreuil, 75011 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #467 of 13,309 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Bercy / Nation
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is 'wot' it's all about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our third trip to this delightful reprieve from French food--and don't me wrong, I love French food. But once in a while, it's nice to have a change. If you've read Cutting for Stone, then you remember how the Ethopian characters in the book longed for some 'wot'. And now I understand why. Delicious food, tender meats and vegetables with unique seasonings and tastes ranging from mild to spicy. Each time we've dined we've gotten one of the meat tastings and one of the vegetable. It comes combined served in a large shared pan lined with Ethiopian bread--a delicious kind of spongy sort of naan like substance--which serves both as a delicious sponge for all the sauces and also as the table's utensils as one tears a piece of bread and wraps it around the food before delivering it to the mouth. Oh, didn't I mention everything is eaten with your hands! Except for dessert when a fork appears for ripe mango or chocolate cake. Which makes this a special experience on another level. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Small, homely, intimate taste of Ethiopia in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Brought the olds here for their first experience of Ethiopian food. Superb injera to share, Ethiopian beer and a great atmosphere. Not too spicy, though I think we got the beginner's version, and you could probably ask for a bit more chilli if required. We had fresh mango and cinnamon for desert, and traditionally served Ethiopian coffee. The venue is a blink-and-you'll-miss-it adapted living room covered in pictures and artefacts from Ethiopia. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good food but pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

My first Ethiopian restaurant, therefore I cannot compare with other restaurants.
The owner is friendly and helpful with the menu.
The décor is just OK.
The food is good, specially the beer stew and the sauce for the chicken but it all very expensive for what it is: 17€ per person for a big plate and a few injera. 4€ for a cup of tea.
A mix bag of feelings for that restaurant :-(

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eat Succulent Ethiopian Food While the Owner Explains his Country’s History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This beautifully decorated restaurant is a hidden gem. A good way to explore Ethiopian cuisine is to go with the Ye Feseg which is a combination of four tiny dishes (fromage blanc, spicy beef & chicken, an egg and veggies on a crepe). If you have any questions, the owner will eagerly explain in detail the specifics of each dish.

Around 10 pm, the owner does a speech providing an overview of the food and history of Ethiopia – so you get both food and culture!

Prices
Hors d’oeuvres: 5-6 euros; Main dishes: 11-17 euro ; Wine : 20 euros onwards

Address & Phone
52, rue de Montreuil 75011 PARIS
Tel: 01 43 48 91 52

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Negus also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Negus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Negus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.