We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette

Save Saved
You added Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Rue La Fayette, 75010 Paris, France (Entrepôt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,011 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable room and in a good location. The bed was extremely comfortable with tea & coffee making facilities. The bathroom was a little on the tired side but otherwise very acceptable. The wifi worked well, something that seems to be a problem in many of the hotels we visited over two weeks travelling in France.
The staff were very pleasant and breakfast was well stocked and varied and satisfied the appetite of a vegetarian extremely well. Had a large array of teas though the coffee was lacking.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    59
    35
    16
    5
See reviews for
18
41
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
550 reviews 550 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
986 helpful votes 986 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I am a regular traveller to Paris by Eurostar and often stay at the Terminus Nord Mercure bang opposite the Gare du Nord Station. This time that hotel wanted €300 per night but the LaFayette Mercure "just" €200 so I decided to give it a try for two nights on 2 and 3 July.

Overall, it was ok. The area round the Station is not the prettiest and as you turn left to walk the 200 metres to this hotel, it is even less pretty. But I did not feel unsafe.

The hotel is around 50 rooms I would guess (7 on my floor and 7 floors marked in the lifts). It is sandwiched between two roads and is thus quite narrow. The receptionist told me it came into the Accor Group of hotels in November 2012.

I had room 302. It was compact, with much occupied by a large bed. That was comfortable. Window opened onto the main street. So some noise at night with the window open. Shower with partial green glass door. I liked the shower but the lack of full privacy might worry some couples.

The toilet was in a separate cubicle with sliding door.

I did not have breakfast but with the Gare du Nord so close there are lots of alternatives for breakfast eating.

I saw others using WIFI in the small reception area but I could not get the connection to hold in my room.

Overall standard was around 3 star.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the secondary road as ought to be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosier
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is situated close to RER Magenta / Gare du nord station. (Within walking distance) the area is not very nice and looks unsafe at night. However, the hotel is nice, buffet breakfast with organic items. Rooms "privilege" Are nice, though small as the bathroom. In room wifi free and free non alcoholic beverages are provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is very close to Gare du Nord and del'Est with national and international trains as well as metro lines stopping there. If you arrive at CDG airport and use the RER traing to town, Gare du Nord will be on this line. Only about 5 more mins with RER to Les Halles, 20 mins for walking to Sacre Coer. We chose this place, as it was much less expensive than the Mercure Gare Du Nord Terminus, which is opposite the station Gare Du Nord at a much higher price point.
Booking went ok through HRS. I called in a few days prior to have my reservation confirmed, which has been answered very friendly. Also on arrival there was a very friendly welcome and quick check-in, which is not always customary in France nor in Paris. The hotel is not large. I had a room to the main street on third floor. Of course this is noisy during the day with the street and also the arrival and departure of trains at Gare del'Est station opposite the street. However at night when closing the windows, it was relatively quiet and good for a comfortable sleep.
Unless other reviewers I didn't feel unsafe in the streets at night or a "Ghetto" style. This is a very typical Paris neighborhood and relatively safe. Of course it is not Munich nor Hamburg.
One evening I took a hike to Sacre Coer in about 20 minutes or so and kept walking until I reached the famous Moulin Rouge after another 20 mins or so.
Compared to other places in Paris, the room was not too small at all. It was well appointed, nicely renovated. The only thing was the shower was missing a curtain or door, so some water spilled on the bathroom floor. You'd better take a short shower only.
Breakfast in the ground floor of the hotel was quite good, not too busy, had a large selection of items (muesli, boiled and scrambled eggs, healthy food, pastries, rolls) and a nice atmoshpere. At 14 € not quite cheap, but OK for what you get, and a good breakfast is a solid start for a long day at an exhibition. Other members of our team got much less breakfast at the station.

Room Tip: General tip for all Paris hotels - highest floor to avoid the street noise. Room to the back street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I needed a place to stay in Paris before catching Eurostar back to London and this place caught my eye despite the mixed reviews on here. I booked online via the Accor Hotels site and had to opt for the only type of room available, a Privilege room with a double bed.
On the day of arrival I received a phone call from the hotel at lunchtime to confirm my booking and ask for my estimated arrival time. I found this reassuring. I arrived there in the evening and found it easily after a 5 minute walk turning left from Gare du Nord. The man on reception was welcoming, efficient and informative. Within a couple of minutes I was in the lift up to the 7th floor at the top of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable and there were some nice touches: free soft drinks in the fridge, dressing gown and slippers, ipod docking station. There was a big screen TV but no English channels. Well, the tedious, in my opinion, BBC World was listed but no picture appeared. The view over Paris was very pleasant.
Anyway, I had a good night's sleep and the noise level was very low but I was irritated by the noise of the air-conditioning which was on continuously. For me, that was the only bad point about the stay. Maybe it's my English sensibility, but I did find it strange that the sliding door to the bathroom was in clear glass giving good view of the toilet from the bed. As I was on my own, that was not a problem.
Check out time was noon which was convenient for me. The man on reception was very friendly and did the business quickly. So, all in all, a hotel I'd be happy to stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very helpful reception staff, handy for Gare du Nord & l'Est. All happy with rooms - typically small, but well modernised - only disconcerting item in one of the 3 rooms only - bathroom glazed to room, but obscure to wash basin & shower area, and clear to wc! Seemed the wrong way round? Good breakfast with big choice available, but lighter continental can be found opposite Gare du Nord for half the cost

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Firstly..location is ok..close to train station but street outside is basically ghetto style...felt unsafe at night.
Travelling in a group of seven and booked three rooms. Were told when booking that one adult and two kids in a room was ok..it was if you wanted to sleep on the floor...literally...only two single beds and no couch..asked for a pullout bed....a straightup NO

Airconditioning doesnt work..when I asked about it, they shrugged their shoulders..is 27 degrees plus in the room

Room is cramped with no facilities...exdept for the overpriced mini bar

The shower/toilet combination has a glass door..which didnt open or close..no privacy whatsover and no screen on the shower..when we were finishing showering, the toilet had water running off it as did the basin and we had to put our towels on the floor to stop water running out onto the floor and dry down the toilet. Of course after that, we had to walk through water to use any amentities.

No ironing facilities so went to reception to ask for an iron and board..got handed an iron..when asked if they had a board...another NO. Seeing as how all our towels were no either soaked or used to wipe down the toilet...could only iron on the bed which was useless..

Thats the first night..we're still here and have asked to change rooms..we'll see what happens

Room Tip: If given 201....walk out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette

Address: 175 Rue La Fayette, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,011 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette hotel is ideally located close to the subway and the Gare du Nord station, where you can take the Thalys, Eurostar or TGV train to northern Europe. The hotel has been completely refurbished. Facilities include: 48rooms including 1 suite with terrace, a breakfast room and bar lounge, as well as 2 meeting rooms. The department stores and Montmartre are just a 15 minute walk along the Rue La Fayette ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.