We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BETTER RESTAURANTS IN PARIS !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phillipe Excoffier

Phillipe Excoffier
18 Rue de L'Exposition, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)
01 45 51 78 08
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30%
Phillipe Excoffier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #796 of 12,477 restaurants in Paris
Price range: $36 - $66
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“ONE OF THE BETTER RESTAURANTS IN PARIS !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

You can eat in Paris on practically every street corner, ... but the quality is mostly so bad !!! Tourist traps I call it !
Take the metro and go eat in the restaurant of Philippe EXCOFFIER, nearby the Eiffeltower, and believe me, you will be happy.
He was during 4 years the chef of the American Embassy in Paris.
There is a very nice book about this period but it is sold out ... you can look in it in his restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    61
    20
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, kindness to tourists!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food was spectacular. The service superb. And the tolerance for our American ways was gracious. The prefix menu made it easy. Best of all was the finale, a salted caramel souffle!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere, perfect food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Dinner for two included a foie gras terrine, crisp-skinned roasted quail, cod on a bed of tiny white beans, chocolate tart, and an eggy salted caramel souffle. Sumptuous. Even the Bordeaux sold by the glass was delicious. We felt at home, even among a room full of locals who were known to the staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Quaint - attentive service + fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In the quiet 7e arrondissement. We were seated by the window and were fortunate to have a light breeze on a warm summer evening, pinko breaded shrimps as a starter with roasted red pepper coulis paired with a light white burgundy, followed by a artichoke rating and mini chèvre burgers (amazing!), our main course was sweet breads with Porto sauce and sautéed girolles mushrooms, and grilled sea bass with puréed white "coco" beans, raved about the presentation and flea ours throughout the meal. Our waiter Denis was very attentive and added to the totally enjoyable evening, We got to chat with the chef Phillipe over a digestif at the end of the night. A trip to Paris is not complete unless you are lucky enough to get such a great meal at such a reasonable price (prix fixe 37€} least once during your stay. Only constructive criticism is that the wine list could use some expansion but otherwise, you won't regret your evening in the least.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, N.Y.
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We came upon this establishment because it was just down the street from our hotel. We had stayed at the same hotel and eaten at a restaurant in the vicinity some years ago, and very much enjoyed both, and so were looking to replicate that experience. The hotel (de ''Alma, reviewed elsewhere in TripAdvisor) was acceptable, but in seeking out the restaurant we found that the atmosphere had been changed dramatically. In place of the dark, rustic, Olde Worlde Charm, we found a thoroughly modern eatery. A little disappointed we asked about a table, and were asked if we had a reservation, which we did not. "We can give you a table from now (7 p.m.) only until 9 p.m., when we have a reservation already," was the response. Two hours being a very generous time budget for us, and most Americans, I understand, we accepted, sat, and dined languorously. My wife, sister- and brother-in-law, and I had a wonderful experience. The pampering staff were very attentive, without being intrusive. English, though a second language for most of the staff, was readily spoken, and an English language menu was available, as well as willing explanations of what was what on them. The service was impeccable. The food exceeded the service in quality. Our starters were large, and delicious; our mains were both generous and among the best food I have enjoyed anywhere in fifty years of travel. The sweets were in keeping with the rest - - eclectic, unusual, and delicious. Though it is difficult for me to do it, in light of the thousands of wonderful restaurants in Paris, we returned here two nights later, and tried other menu items (different from anything the four of us had tried the previous visit), and found everything to be every bit as good as our first visit's had been. The only crib I can think of, and in Paris this is really pointless, is the cost: bring the big wallet. I guess this is merely another example of "you get what you pay for." Very Highly Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillipe Excoffier also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Phillipe Excoffier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillipe Excoffier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.